We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class rural farm, minutes from the ports, incredibly peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wierre-Effroy
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a great place - it is less than 15 minutes away from the centre of Boulogne, but you feel you are hundreds of miles away in the country! Incredibly peaceful, beautiful converted farm house and outbuildings, lots of safe parking, newly converted rooms. We travelled in December and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. We enjoyed breakfast (about £9 each) which was a substantial buffet with lots of variety. It felt very family friendly and our 14 month toddler was well looked after.

Room Tip: A lot of the standard rooms are connected -we had rooms 9 and 10 which had their own private entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 132 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We travelled to France for a very short break, mainly to have some nice food and pick up some wine. Probably foolishly we went on Sunday morning and came back on Monday evening. But we didn't have much choice due to work commitments. The Ferme de La Raterie was in a place we knew and it looked fine on the website. We got there at about 4 in torrential rain to find a note on the door saying they were out, the key was in the door to our room and would see us at breakfast the next day. The room and shower were ok, but nothing special for €132. A card said the TV could get BBC1, 2 and 4, but it said no signal when we tried. Because of the weather we had 2 or 3 hours to kill before supper and what I think is unforgivable for that amount of money was there was no way of making a hot drink in the room. The book made great play of how you mustn't have any food or drink in your room and it wouldn't be necessary because everything was available from reception. But not when there is no one in reception!! The bed was very hard so I didn't sleep very well. Breakfast was not included and cost €14 per person. We just wanted coffee and croissant and were not going to pay €28 for the privilege. Overall, an unsatisfactory experience.

Room Tip: We had no service, and we didn't see anything except our room so can't really say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaterhouseTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely little hotel in great surroundings. Food in the restaurant was tasty and nicely presented. Wine list good but on the expensive side. Nice for an overnight stop but nowhere else to eat and restaurant not open Sunday/ Monday evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The restaurant was excellent with a good menu and a nice wine list. The food was fantastic on the first night, maybe less so on the second as we didn't want to eat the same meal twice. The family room was comfortable apart from one night when it was just too hot to sleep. Lovely gardens, especially for drinking a large, cold beer in!

Breakfast was expensive at 14 Euros each - we ended up eating at a cafe in Marquise up the road for 18 Euros for all 4 of us. On a very warm day (30C) the family room was too hot - it is on the top floor of a two-storey building and it just never cooled down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good base for touring around Boulogne and so easy to get to. Nice setting, pretty garden, and lots of space. Restaurant has a small menu of very good quality food. Wine list very good too. Not a cheap get away - a destination as well as a stop-over with some character.
Choose rooms carefully - upstairs rooms accessed by very steep stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scots_in_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We planned an overnight stop at Ferme de Raterie on a Saturday night where we experienced incredibly fine weather, the equivalent of a dry storm where caused huge waves with breakers and a turquoise green sea which was positively Hawaiian. This was after a fantastic lunch in La Marie Galante Restaurant , Audresselles
where we shared a dozen oysters, two great main sea-ford courses and coffee and home-made macaroons, albeit with no alcohol for a incredible E59 – This value was shared by the 50/60 diners who dined whilst we were there some braving the windy but sunny weather on the terrace.

Pressing on to the The Ferme de Raterie in the always attractive countryside surrounding Wierre-Effroy where we were granted a garden room on the ground floor (no 2) in the annex. This was very attractive with a view of a beautiful garden perhaps approaching its best, with lots of seating options to enjoy the pleasant weather and gardens. We sat out with a very cold beer and glass of local rose where it was hard to drag ourselves away for dinner in Ferme de Verte (two minutes drive nearer the village) where because the restaurant was closed we had kindly been booked in to dine as an alternative.

A gorgeous meal of again incredible value, a selection of drinks, with the food coming to approx. E70 for two, delivering a relaxed dining experience with a terrific standard of food, needless to say the two dining rooms were busy, because of the good value delicious food that was being offered.

A great nights sleep followed by the comprehensive breakfast buffet where you could have as much as you liked of a wide ranging selection. We didn’t arrive until 09:30 and breakfast is being wound up by 10:00 although we didn’t depart till 10:20, I think its worth getting up a bit earlier for would be the only advice I would offer.

Despite having eaten more than we would have liked over the two days, it can be compensated for by a few fallow days back home, it was a most enjoyable, tranquil relaxing week-end with the Chunnel also playing its part. Pas de Calais is almost next door and yet is a very beautiful part of France to visit.

Room Tip: Pre-book both hotels are busy but small enough to feel relaxed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodvaluealways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Logis Ferme de La Raterie is only a 20 minute drive from the Eurotunnel and is set in a beautiful rural part of Pas De Calais. Being rural, you'll need a car to get there and visit anything close by. We arrived around 7pm on a Fridayhoping to have dinner, we were informed it was closed. It was one of the reasons we chose it, so felt a bit short changed. That said, we were recommended an excellent alternative 10 minutes drive away.

Our room (17) culd be found up a very steep set of stairs. If you have trouble with stairs or perhaps have a disability, ensure you tell them or you will struggle. The room itself was very nice, being in the converted barn. Exposed beams, nice big bed etc. Our bathroom was a bit weird, and didn't have a shower, it had a bath with a shower head instead.

I'd stay here again, but maybe when its more likely to be busier.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wierre-Effroy
0.8 mi away
La Ferme du Vert
La Ferme du Vert
#1 of 2 in Wierre-Effroy
294 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
771 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
296 reviews
7.5 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
632 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ferme de La Raterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferme de La Raterie

Address: 1744 rue de Belle, 62720 Wierre-Effroy, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wierre-Effroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wierre-Effroy
Price Range: $98 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ferme de La Raterie 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 15 minutes from Boulogne-sur-Mer and Calais 25min, the Hotel La Ferme de la Raterie is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure. We are located 40 minutes from Saint Omer (N42), and 20min of the Channel Tunnel and Wissant and 15min from the beach of Wimereux. Our hotel offers 17 rooms, quiet and spacious, soundproofed and equipped with private bathroom with hairdryer, a direct dial telephone, satellite television (Eurosport, BBC, BVN tv). All our rooms are non smoking and are equipped with wifi. For meetings, receptions and other events, we offer you two modular spaces provided for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ferme de La Raterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing