We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot. A good find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wierre-Effroy
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely spot. A good find.”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We only stayed one night and had 2 rooms - 1 superior and 1 standard. I would say the standard represented good value whereas the superior was a bit on the pricey side. Both rooms were very spacious - the standard was in a converted loft space so ceiling sloped but overall was fine and quite well equipped.

The bar was a bit expensive and I wished I had thought to bring some beer/wine from the supermarket. I am surprised at some of the comments about the restaurant - I eat out a lot and would say the quality was good and the produce good and fresh. Wine was probably on the expensive side. The breakfast buffet was good as well and fairly standard in terms of cost.

Overall a lovely spot, beautiful garden - peaceful but there are a few cockerels to wake you up! I found the staff friendly and attentive.....not entirely fluent in English which might explain some of the other comments. I'd stay again but take some booze for the room if you're that way inclined.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to be away from the cockerels....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmhappy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    33
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
20
88
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Nice hotel in a nice restful location.The hotel is an old renewed farm in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by nature and fields with a beautifull garden. It's not that far away from the sea (15 min ride). The room we stayed in was comfy with a large bed and big enough for the two of us. We both had a good night's sleep, just a small note about the bed: while the bed is very big and comfy, it consists of two mattressess, which we only noticed during the second night, the blanket also consists of two parts (which can be seen as a positive point for some). The bathroom was nice and not too small, with a sink and a bathtub, no shower. There is a showerhead at the bathtub but it's hard to wash yourself standing up, the tube kind of short and there is a sloping ceiling above the bath, other then that, no complaints about the rooms.

The breakfast (between 8 am and 10 am) was very good, it's a "all you can eat" buffet and not that pricey (€ 13 per room).

The second morning I had a small discussion with someone from the staff (I think the owner) about the breakfast: We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The first night when we checked in, they asked us if we wanted a breakfast in the morning, we said yes and went to our room. In the morning we stood up around 9 and went downstairs for the breakfast, we noticed it was a buffet. For the second morning we decided we wanted to have a good sleep and buy some baguette after we checked out and eat it outside at the beach. Around 10 am we recieved a phone call from the reception (the owner) that "our" breakfast was ready and that they were waiting for us. I told him we didn't order any breakfast for the second morning and I told him that they didn't had to prepare a breakfast for us, because it's a buffet. He insisted we had to come downstairs for the breakfast because it would be charged anyway, because we didn't cancel it the evening before. After the breakfast we went upstairs and came by the reception where the owner said we could stay a little longer to wash and pack our stuff (check out is at 11 am). When we checked out he apologized for the misunderstanding and we recieved a small bag with gingerbread (from the buffet) as a gift for the misunderstanding.

It's a nice hotel, nice rooms and nice locations but I didn't like the staff that much, service was kind of poor and it's a little overpriced, but we had a nice stay afterall. I wouldn't recommend it to friends, except if they can afford it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermedelaraterie, Propriétaire at Hotel Ferme de La Raterie, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Google Translation
Bonjour,

suite à votre commentaire, nous vous rappelons que vous aviez réservé votre petit déjeuner à votre arrivée, et que nous préparons en fonction des réservations du petit déjeuner.

En ce qui concerne le tarif, nous avons bien compris que vous avez apprécié notre literie neuve en 180x200 couettée, notre parc fleuri de 1500m² équipé de mobilié neuf, au milieu des 40 hectares de patures, vous garantissant le calme, la salle de bain avec un veritable lavabo en "desvres" pain à la main et une baignoire donc la robinetterie est neuve, et peut être l'écran plat led de marque avec les differentes chaînes payantes thématiques en numérique comme nat géo wild ou canal+cinéma, .... mais si vous ne souhaitez pas payer les 110€ de la chambre de 26m², nous ne pourrons pas vous aider. Surrtout avec l'investissement qui viens d'être réalisé dans notre établissement. Le mobilier de toutes les chambres, y compris la literie, à moins de 3 mois !

Concernant le petit déjeuner, vous trouverer son équivalent pour au moins 15€ dans la plupart des grandes chaines d'hôtel. Nous pouvons vous garantir la meilleure qualité pour tous les produits proposés dont le jus d'orange 100% pur pur jus réfrigéré de la marque à la feuille en "pure premium", les yaourts du numéro 1 en france, les viennoiseries pur beurre aoc de charente, le pain d'épices maison, les céréales de marque américaine, le chocolat chaud concu par un grand chocolatier, le choix en plateau de fromages, les confitures maison, le tout à volonté... , bref 13€ le petit déjeuner n'est absolument pas exagéré surtout face au parc. Si vous aviez travaillé dans ce metier, vous sauriez qu'on ne monte pas un buffet au hasard. Les viennoiseries non consommées ne serons biensur pas resservies le lendemain, le lait chaud non plus, le pain non plus et le reste de café encore moins...

Nous vous rappelons que nous faisons travailler du personnel, que nous avons des charges importantes liées au cadre et que nous ne sommes pas une association, car visiblement le problème est le tarif. Pour la continuité de notre entreprise, nous resterons biensur sur nos positions.

Le pain d'épices que nous vous avons offert ne provient pas du buffet, en réflechissant un peu, vour pourriez imaginer qu'avec le monde que nous avons, nous devons faire beaucoup de pain d'épices pour nos plats et pour ce buffet de petit déjeuner, celui-ci venait de notre stock, non encore entammé.

Nous sommes à l'écoute de tous nos clients, mais nous n'avons pas à subir votre changement de programme, sans nous prévenir que vous ne preniez pas le petit déjeuner le 2eme jour.
Il est dommage que vous ne précisiez pas que nous avons passé du temps à vous informer sur les loisirs de la région, et nous prenons encore le temps de vous répondre ne plein week end de pâques.

Dommage que ces avis soient les premiers pour la plupart des clients, des clients novices, et que ce ne soit que pour critiquer notre travail. C'est plus facile à l'écran qu'à la réception.


François MICHEL
HOTEL FERME DE LA RATERIE
Côte d'Opale - FRANCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2009

The situation is lovely, the rooms warm, comfortable and clean. The food is good and the service excellent. However breakfast is expensive and ordinary and the proprietors seem to regard their drinks tarif and wine list as an excuse to print money.(Most aperitifs 7 euros, bottle of water 6 euros, cidre du ferme 15 euros). If I can have wine at twice the supermarket price I feel that I have a bargain, two and a half to three times and 'Oh well that's life' but when it gets up to four times and more I will usually drink water and that would have been the case here if it wasn't our last night after a nine week trip around Europe.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregrinakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Lovely countryside setting with farm animals everywhere: chickens, rabbits, pigs, cows, etc - kids loved that part. The family are welcoming enough but the restaurant part of this outfit lets everything else down. The service isn't great and the food is extremely basic whilst being very expensive. We were served boiled veg without seasoning and my salad was limp and wilting at the edges. All very 'school dinnerish'. The rooms are comfortable but again, a bit overpriced. My advice would be to stay here by all means but don't used the restaurant !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcausables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wierre-Effroy
0.8 mi away
La Ferme du Vert
La Ferme du Vert
#1 of 2 in Wierre-Effroy
274 reviews
7.6 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
605 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
793 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
594 reviews
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ferme de La Raterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferme de La Raterie

Property: Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
Address: 1744 rue de Belle, 62720 Wierre-Effroy, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wierre-Effroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wierre-Effroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ferme de La Raterie 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 15 minutes from Boulogne-sur-Mer and Calais 25min, the Hotel La Ferme de la Raterie is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure. We are located 40 minutes from Saint Omer (N42), and 20min of the Channel Tunnel and Wissant and 15min from the beach of Wimereux. Our hotel offers 17 rooms, quiet and spacious, soundproofed and equipped with private bathroom with hairdryer, a direct dial telephone, satellite television (Eurosport, BBC, BVN tv). All our rooms are non smoking and are equipped with wifi. For meetings, receptions and other events, we offer you two modular spaces provided for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ferme de La Raterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing