We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo alla Campana
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel for the price.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really a wonderful experience. If you have watched Fawlty Towers and loved it, than this is the place to be! Two brothers that are looking after Albergo alla Campana are almost the same as John Cleese :-)
Rooms are very nice, clean, breakfast is average, and location is great if you have a car and don't want to pay abnormal sums for hotels in Venice. Dolo is a very nice city! Hotel also has a garage.
High recommendations!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ratko_Vranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
35
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I visited here with my wife, baby and parents. The room I got (a 3 person room) was wonderful and had a great view. The owner was very nice to us and helped us in any way possible. Breakfast was wonderful. ACs in both rooms worked fine.

Btw, this hotel is at least 50 minutes away by bus from Venezia (take bus 53 to Padova from Venizia and get off at Dolo Center) and not the 30 minutes as the other posts read. 30 minutes is the possible travel time by car/taxi. The bus stop is just a minute away from the hotel entrance. However, this didn't put us off as it was great value for money and because the rooms and the good breakfast were well worth it. A comparable hotel in Venice would have been at least 2-3 times as expensive if not more.

Room Tip: Take a larger room and request for a room with the main road view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RajarshiRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The title is for you backpackers without a car. I want to throttle the rude and unhelpful tranitalia employees for a few reasons, and specifically when we got to Venice Maestra station we were told that it was economical to go back and forth from Dolo to Venice with passes amounting to 55 euros. What they don't tell you is that the Dolo train station is NOT IN DOLO, but about 5 km away. We are hikers but there was nowhere to hike but busy roads, nor is there bus service to the town. DO NOT TAKE THE TRAIN HERE. TRAIN. NO. TAKE. If we save one person the hassle of doing so, it was worth it.

Beyond that, the previous reviewer who says this is nothing special is dead wrong. Caesar, the head of the hotel's small family who run the place will literally take his shirt off and give it to you if you ask him. So nice and always willing to help you above and beyond the call of duty. He even offered to buy our tickets off us. If that's not special, I don't know what is. Our room was sensational (family room with 2 adjoining rooms with a bathroom in the middle). It was definitely worth the small extra cost, and the breakfast each morning was excellent.

Now, a word about Dolo itself. It's a great little town, and the hotel is immediately across from good eating right on the canal. Bear in mind that it virtually shuts down Saturday and Sunday afternoon. It's got an absolutely fantastic open market on Fridays. Excellent bargains on pretty much anything and everything. HAVING SAID THAT, if your singular goal is to visit Venice but stay here to save money, AND you are backpacking, this is NOT a good idea. Despite other reviewers statements to the contrary, it is NOT a short bus ride into Venice. I'd say the average time is 45 minutes and one time it was 1 hour. Nor is it cheap. We're a family and there are no reductions whatsoever for kids. Thus, a bus ride to and from Venice was 25 euros return trip all together. Consider this when booking, as I would consider time hassle and cost to make it worth an extra 50 euros if you could find a similar place within Venice proper. I would stay again at Albergo Alla Campana in a heartbeat again IF and ONLY IF I had a car, or I was there just for a few days to explore the immediate area and not just Venice. I'd recommend that anyway as I found Venice incredibly overrated and overpriced in general.

In sum, this is a GREAT place to stay with an awesome family who runs it in a nice little town...but not the best option for commuting to Venice on the cheap.

If you like my review and I've helped you out, give me a vote. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooftop one for families with 2 kids. A must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
76 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is really far away from Venice, it is almost 20 to 25 kms. Is in the area of Dolo and you need a car to go to Venice and it is a 30 minutes driving. You can take the bus or the train also but it is really a hassle! The air condition wasn't working and the hotel is on the road so it has so much noise. The breakfast wasn't something special and the owner is a little bit weird. It is a cheap one but i don't think that it worth it, there are much better places near venice or inside venice for some more money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anacondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Could not be happier with this family run hotel, they were happy to answer any questions and help us whenever possible. Breakfast in the mornings was easily the best of any hotel we stayed at in Italy and although i had made in error in thinking this hotel was in Venezia, it was only a half hour bus ride away.
For the amazing and low rate i was more than happy to be a little bit of distance away from Venezia, for what we paid for our stay it would not have covered one night at one of the central Venezia hotels.
Also included was safe and secure parking, which is priceless for the peace of mind when u have a rental car along with their crazy insurance premiums over there!
Nice little room, happy to recommend this place but maybe consider other options if ur going to spending all your time in Venezia as we had to hurry back before midnight when they locked their doors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OzRider16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel staff was very nice & helpful. The breakfast was excellent-cereals, pastries, cakes, fresh fruit & tea/cappuccino.

The room itself was pretty basic, but very clean, quiet, & air conditioned.

Dolo is a very cute little town just a bus ride outside Venice (35 minutes). There's an excellent little restaurant right across the street which we loved. It was a very nice, quiet place to come back to after a long day of exploring Venice.

Transportation to & from the beautiful city of Venice is very easy. The bus stop is right out front. I recommend buying the Venice travel pass (about 30 euro for 3 days; If you're under 21, it's ony 17 euro) if you plan on traveling around Venice. This price includes trips on the bus back to the hotel & all waterbus service.

Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Besssara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed for seven nights in April. We had a large clean room with bathroom. The hotel was very convenient for Venice/Padua. The bus stop was immediately outside the hotel. It was possible to use the bus to make connections via Padua to visit other sights by train such as Verona, Vicenza and Lake Garda. A bonus was the hotel's riverside location in Dolo, a quiet attractive town. Excellent buffet breakfast. The owner, Cesare and family were always very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berniedvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ca Tron
Hotel Ca Tron
#1 of 9 in Dolo
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa a Colori
Casa a Colori
#5 of 9 in Dolo
132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Alberti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Gasparini
1.4 mi away
Alla Villa Fini
Alla Villa Fini
#8 of 9 in Dolo
34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo alla Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo alla Campana

Property: Albergo alla Campana
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 78, 30031 Dolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Dolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Albergo alla Campana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Albergo alla Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Alla Campana Dolo, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing