We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We imagined themselves as Venetian Notables”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gasparini
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We imagined themselves as Venetian Notables”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked this hotel for our summer holidays in Venice because a breakfast was promised, reasonable priced and not far from Venice. However, when we arrived to Venice and tried to get to the hotel, all people we asked have sent us directly to Dolo, which is 25 km from Venice. When we arrived to Dolo, and searched for the hotel, we were told that it's about 1 km from Dolo, on the way back to Venice. So as we couldn't find any bus service close by, we went by foot back to the hotel, with our luggage and painful legs.

IT WAS A CHALLENGE! It turned out that it is not 1, but 3 km distance! Because it was evening, bus stops were well hidden, so we just saw flying by buses and no people around to ask.

However when we at last arrived to hotel, we received nice welcome at reception and were relieved to stay in the cool room with tiled floor and conditioner.

Room was excellent, everything in the room gave us an image of old Italian traditional chambers for noble people, with gold drapes and featured headboards and side tables. This was happily combined with modern technology like conditioner, fridge, classy bathroom and all appliances.

However, there were no any tea facilities in the room and wardrobe could be a less squeaky. Moreover, the breakfast included only one croissant with jams, juice and half cup of coffee, and all additions would cost you another £6 p/p. So we just bought muesli and milk in the town shop and enjoyed by our normal breakfast.

Nevertheless, we were charmed by hotel owner, nice and intelligent lady with extended knowledge about where to go and what to do around. She provided us with information on all our requests and was very interesting to chat with her.

Bus service is a bit challenge on this road as you have to have ticket before boarding, but Tobacco shop was closed and no other place to purchase tickets except of Venice (25 km) or Dolo (3 km).

Additionally we were very nervous to miss our stop on the way from Venice in the darkness as there is no sign or information when to get off the bus for the hotel. Drivers were not helpful too.

However in general, after we rented a car and got familiar with the place, the hotel and staff were more than you would expect. We even received room service with full breakfast with no additional charge, thanks to owner.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and used to sleep together with partner, don't choose a twin room as you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    94
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
27
180
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

nice place. Rooms with high ceilings, little bit noisy when receptionist prepare breakfast (room on ground floor). Breakfast just: croissant, coffee, juice. Friendly garden. About 40 minutes to Venice. Bus service every 15 minutes

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bara210311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My boyfriend had booked this trip to Venice as a 21st Birthday Suprise. As perfect as he is, he is a man so i was a little skeptical as to the hotel he had chosen. However, when we arrived it was beautiful. I can not believe it is only a 2 star hotel. In England it would be regarded 5 stars. On arrival the hotel's owner (i think) picked us up from the airport (my boyfriend has arranged this prior but was not a hassle). He drove a big 4x4 without a speck of dirt or dust inside or outside of the car - real high class service. The hotel room was completely as I imagined Italy, the gold headboards, the drapes, the gold and green silk bed throw. There was beautiful beams too. The room was spotless, and the bathroom the same. Every night when we came back from being in Venice centre, the bed was re-made and I could tell there were fresh sheets as I had forgotten to wash my face one night and stupidly left make up on the sheets and it was not there on return. The towels were fresh every day and the floor swept.

We were both skeptical about being outside of Venice in terms of transport, but there is a bus on the opposite side of the hotel and it goes straight into Venice. However you must purchase bus tickets from the Tobacco shop before bording the bus (we learnt this the embarrassing way). The bus from Venice back to the hotel was too very easy to find, and the stop is right outside the hotel - make sure your alert at night incase you miss it in the dark. When we watched people lugging suitcases around the uneven side streets of Venice, we were both glad we hadn't had to deal with that. For we found that you cant get lost in Venice but you cant really find something specific (unless big) easily.

As for Venice, it was on of the most fantastic cities I have been too, for sure it is on top of my list with New York (although for obviously differing reasons). The character that every back street has is unbelievable, every street you turn theres something completely different even though its the same if that makes sense. The food in Venice was to die for, and as a coffee drinker, I now hate English coffee and urn for the velvet taste of italian roasted beans. The vibe in both the day and night of the City is busy but not too busy that you want to escape.
The food is expensive in Venice. However when we asked if there were any places to eat around the hotel, the lady directed us 20meters to the right. It turned out to be the next hotel along, and I have never tasted such wonderful flavours - for a truely reasonable price. We had a 4 course meal for two and a bottle of wine and it came to 60euros. That would probably have been double in the centre of Venice. The waitress and the Lady who obviously owned the place were most welcoming and did everything for our comfort.

Overall I think this Hotel is amazing and completely underrated!! The staff were so helpfull, friendly and inviting. I would go back in a flash. I highly recommend both this hotel and Venice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rebekah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed one night on the way to Venice. Had a quiet room on the second floor at the back of this small hotel. Beautifully restored to reflect the original character of a summer home of Venetians escaping the city. Staff and owners were friendly and helpful - their English was much better than our Italian! Good breakfast and clean bright breakfast room on the second floor. Easy access to Padova, Venice and Venice airport by car or bus. Venice can even be reached by canal. Charming little town with plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants. Could be considered as an alternative to staying in Venice. Great restaurant within 100 m of hotel. Many of the hotel guests dined there as well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter. Pay extra to park in their secure yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here twice this year, first in mid-June and later in late August.
Excellent room, quiet, fabulous breakfast and breakfast room. The staff were a bit stand-off-ish but that may be because we didn't speak any Italian and they may be concerned about their English skills. In 150 days of hotels this year that can be a factor.
Wi-fi is only available in the lobby, which is small but nice. You do have to pay for parking a car on the property but there is plenty of parking across the street. It is located right on a canal that you can take a vaporetta right into Venice, and you can catch a bus as well if you don't want to drive. We were riding a motorcycle so parking and driving weren't issues for us.

Room Tip: Take one of the outside rooms, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed at Villa Gasparini a while ago. Everything was perfect. The room was well decorated and clean, with a bathtub. The location was great, easy to drive to Venice, Verona and other cities. It's also very convenient that they have parking places for the guests. The workers and the owners were always very polite, smiling and helpful. The breakfast was good, my son loved their croissants. I will surely stay there again when visiting Veneto.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaBGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed in the family room which was spacious for the four of us. The owner of the hotel recommend a very nice pizzeria in the town of Dolo. We upgraded the breakfast to the 5 euro per person option. It was money well spent. The hotel staff recommend the boat from Fusina to Venice. It was a fun way to go to Venice. We like the hotel enough to recommend it to our friends in Padova whenever they need a hotel recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ca Tron
Hotel Ca Tron
#1 of 9 in Dolo
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Alberti
0.1 mi away
Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Giustinian
3.1 mi away
Relais Leon D'Oro
Relais Leon D'Oro
#1 of 7 in Mirano
308 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Margherita Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gasparini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gasparini

Property: Hotel Villa Gasparini
Address: Riviera Martiri della Liberta 37 | Dolo - Venice, 30031 Dolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Dolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Gasparini 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Gasparini is located along the Riviera del Brenta, between the historical cities of Padua and Venice, bus stop in front of the hotel and boat stop to St. Mark's at 8 kms far. The hotel was built in the 18th century by the ancestors of the owners, the noble Venetian family of the Gasparinis. The Palazzetto(literally 'little palace'), which used to be a noble summer mansion in the past, was renovated and converted into a hotel in 2006. Renovation works were carried out with the objective of maintaining the true spirit of its glorious past and the charm of its family ambiance. Today the hotel can offer 15 rooms, each of them representing a perfect combination of Venetian classicism and modern comforts: the ideal place to spend some quality time, relax and enjoy Italian art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Gasparini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasparini Hotel Dolo
Hotel Villa Gasparini Dolo, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing