We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent, welcoming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have just returned from Italy so want to thank my hosts in the Villa Ducale. The staff clearly love their work, and everyone was friendly and helpful.

Laura and Francesca stand out for me, as both speak excellent English, and know the area well.

The restaurant is highly recommended for evening meal. It's not cheap, but the fish is fresh and very well prepared. The bread is excellent. The room you dine in is the same one that we eat breakfast in out of season. I expect for wedding parties the large reception room is used.

The breakfast was very generous. There is hot food, eggs and potatoes; there are very tasty cold meats and cheeses; several types of cereal yoghurt and fruit salad. They had several types of local sweets and cakes in the week I was there. Bread is individually packaged, but that didnt appeal to me. I loved the cake that resembles a doughnut with custard in it. In Rome that is called cornetto alla crema.

The room was large enough for a double bed and furniture on either side. It was beautifully decorated. There were murano glass chandeliers in every room, and my ensuite was in porphyry marble. The bed was comfy and aircon was provided. The mosquito repellant was very welcome.

They thought of everything. I was very pleased with the single rate, particularly as I had a double bed.

The bus service was reliable and frequent, though on the return journey from Venice I found I was standing. It takes 40 minutes on the very appealing riverside which I enjoyed getting to know.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaducaledolo, Proprietario at Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Patricia,
We are glad that you enjoyed in our hotel. Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor and sharing your opinion on Villa Ducale Hotel&Restaurant.
We thank you for being our guest and we hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 165 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great time here. The building and rooms are impressive and the price was very reasonable. The breakfast had a few glitches but overall we were pleased. The very high level of the building itself is great. Big chandeliers, marble bath rooms and nice paintings everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urizil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a wonderful find this place is!
Having spent a week in a villa in Tuscany, we wanted somewhere for a couple of nights so we could visit Venice before going home.
From the friendly check-in (no English spoken but we managed!) to the delightful friendly girl serving breakfast (who spoke great English and was a huge help with our visit to Venice), staying here was a wonderful experience. Our rooms were enormous with palatial bathrooms too and the children felt as if we were staying in a palace from a bygone age! Breakfast was very good quality and the girl on duty in the breakfast room made delicious fresh cappuccinos for us all. She also helped sort out our ferry to Venice and cheap safe parking at the little ferry terminal. The crossing to Venice was quick and easy and very scenic. With the last boat back at about 10.30pm we were able to spend a very full day sightseeing and eating - perfect!
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we really enjoyed our 2 night stay.
There were 11 travelling in our group - 2 families with children, and a grandmother - and we stayed in 4 rooms. We would have no hesitation in staying here again and would highly recommend the Villa Ducale to others. Thank you so much to the lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaducaledolo, Proprietario at Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the Villa, our staff and...cappuccino!!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is a real treasure. A beautiful palace with large rooms for a very good price. From here you can visit Padua, Venice and the palaces at the Brenta. Breakfast is excellent and dinner is also good. The bathroom in our room was a bid small, but that is the only remark we can make. The climate in the room was cool. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaducaledolo, Proprietario at Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Sylvia,
thank you very much for having taken the time to share on Trip Advisor your evaluation.
Thank you for your kind words and for your kind visit.
We hope that you will come back!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel looks good in photos but they don't show the wear and deterioration. The staff was too busy to assist us with anything. Our room was musty and when given an upgrade the toilet backed up into the tub. Not to mention that the hotel is on a very busy road. All in all, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: It is better to stay in Padua or Venice. The Dolo area feels like a big strip mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaducaledolo, Proprietario at Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Mr Robert,
We are very sad to read about your review. Villa Ducale is an ancient building from '800 century that was completely restored in 1993 and every year we do maintenance services for its conservation to keeping the allure of ancient Villa. We are so sorry that you didn't satisfied and find Villa Ducale in decline. Our staff is always helpful with our guests, in fact, the staff showed you the room (a standard double room) but you didn't satisfied so we gave you one of the superior rooms. Our superior room is 17 mq with a lot of services. Probably in that day there was a big event (wedding) being the month of May full of weddings, and for that reason the staff seemed to be in a hurry because they wanted to pleased everybody. Everday we work to satisfy our guests and when we are not able to we are very upset.
For that reason we wish to have another opportnity to host you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

So my wife and I decided to go to Venice during our vacation in Florence and Tuscany. We had a rental car and wanted to find a last minute reasonably priced bed and breakfast close to Venice (rather than staying at a typical overpriced commercial hotel in/around Venice). The Frommer's guide mentioned Villa Ducale as a nice option so we went for it and couldn't be happier with the decision. The rooms were a nice size with classic Italian decor and views of a manicured courtyard/garden. It was so quiet/comfortable in the room that we overslept and missed the scheduled breakfast BUT the staff was so accommodating that they insisted we sit for a nice private breakfast and served us all the homemade pastries and cheeses, cold cuts, etc. A terrific experience overall.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArpiNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is a fine 19th century country villa with imposing downstairs areas. We had a large superior room overlooking the garden and drive with windows onto very small balconies. The decor is a bit old fashioned but in keeping with the building style. The bathroom was quite small and the shower cubicle could have been better. We found the bed and pillows very very hard! But the staff were very pleasant and helpful and there was a frequent bus service to Padua, Venice and local towns. There was some traffic noise but with windows and shutters closed it didn't bother us and the airconditioning was efficient and quiet. There was free wifi and although it wouldn't work in our room the connection was very good downstairs. We got the impression that the hotel is more geared up for weddings and functions than individual guests, and the small restaurant lacked atmosphere. We only ate there once. There was a short set menu which seemed good value but we just had one course which was fine. The wine list had just a few rather expensive wines which we found odd. There is a nice garden with seating areas. Overall it was a perfectly good place to stay in the Veneto area and good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room as some are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Alberti
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gasparini
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ca Tron
Hotel Ca Tron
#1 of 9 in Dolo
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riviera dei Dogi Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Rescossa
Hotel La Rescossa
#2 of 6 in Mira
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Goetzen
Villa Goetzen
#7 of 9 in Dolo
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant

Address: Riva Martiri della Liberta' 75 | Localita Cesare Musatti, 30031 Dolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Dolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Price Range: $76 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884, by a Venetian nobleman, Count Giulio Rocca, Villa Ducale is situated in a magnificent park along the shores of the Brenta River. A mere 15/20 minutes from romantic Venice and ancient Padua, Villa Ducale offers an ideal starting point for discovering the Veneto countryside. Public buses stop right in front of the Hotel's gate and provide a direct service from Dolo to these two cities of art. Villa Ducale offers 11 rooms with high ceilings, frescoed walls, and warm wooden floors all furnished in pure Venetian style. Every room offers the comfort of a mini-bar, safe deposit box, mtv, direct line telephone, bathtub or shower en suite. All rooms offer views over the ancient park. Villa Ducale offers genuine Venetian cuisine in its restaurant. Free wi-fi for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant Dolo, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing