We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific bed and breakfast experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Terrific bed and breakfast experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

So my wife and I decided to go to Venice during our vacation in Florence and Tuscany. We had a rental car and wanted to find a last minute reasonably priced bed and breakfast close to Venice (rather than staying at a typical overpriced commercial hotel in/around Venice). The Frommer's guide mentioned Villa Ducale as a nice option so we went for it and couldn't be happier with the decision. The rooms were a nice size with classic Italian decor and views of a manicured courtyard/garden. It was so quiet/comfortable in the room that we overslept and missed the scheduled breakfast BUT the staff was so accommodating that they insisted we sit for a nice private breakfast and served us all the homemade pastries and cheeses, cold cuts, etc. A terrific experience overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArpiNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    41
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
34
64
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is a fine 19th century country villa with imposing downstairs areas. We had a large superior room overlooking the garden and drive with windows onto very small balconies. The decor is a bit old fashioned but in keeping with the building style. The bathroom was quite small and the shower cubicle could have been better. We found the bed and pillows very very hard! But the staff were very pleasant and helpful and there was a frequent bus service to Padua, Venice and local towns. There was some traffic noise but with windows and shutters closed it didn't bother us and the airconditioning was efficient and quiet. There was free wifi and although it wouldn't work in our room the connection was very good downstairs. We got the impression that the hotel is more geared up for weddings and functions than individual guests, and the small restaurant lacked atmosphere. We only ate there once. There was a short set menu which seemed good value but we just had one course which was fine. The wine list had just a few rather expensive wines which we found odd. There is a nice garden with seating areas. Overall it was a perfectly good place to stay in the Veneto area and good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room as some are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The experience of staying in an authentic Venetian villa close to the Brenta Canal more than outweighs the small niggles we found. The parking area is just inside the beautiful ironwork gates. The welcome in the reception was warm and the junior suite was beautiful (frescoes and Murano chandeliers), with a large balcony area (over the hotel entrance) which unfortunately for us we couldn't use due to the heavy rain throughout our two-night stay. The room was comfortable and breakfast was plentiful. It would be nice to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for a trip to Venice, a bus stops right outside the hotel and 30 minutes later you are in Venice.

The Hotel staff were friendly and spoke very good english. There was planty of choice for breakfast and the evening meal was good value for money.
We stayed in a superior room which was situated on the grounds of the hotel, which was lovely but there was a lot of traffic noise. This didnt disturb our sleep as the road was quieter over night. Once we were in the main Hotel we couldn't hear the traffic noise .
If you want to visit Venice or any places within that region without breaking the bank, i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyparker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Found this on Trip Advisor and booked for eight of us to stay for a long weekend, 3 nights, in June 2012.We all had very large rooms,each one slightly different(,eg some bathrooms had baths other just a shower box), but all rooms had doors out to balconies overlooking the extensive gardens.
The rooms had a 'shabby-chic' style but were rather charming with air conditioning, mini bars and quite firm bed with good quality linen.
The breakfasts were typically self-service Italian.ie lots of sweet pastries, but with all the cereals and fruit too.There was also at least one hot dish and the staff would make good espresso coffee when asked. Do not try the machine coffee!
As charming as it is we found the distance from the centre of Venice a disadvantage as the buses were inconsistent and a good 45 min ride, sometimes longer. We did have cars but used them just once to drive to the Piazzale Roma and park where if you are able to find the cheap secondary car park you can park by the hour as opposed to a flat fee of 30 euros for any stay up to a day.. It cost us 16 euros for an afternoon and evening stay.We looked at the ferry to Venice from the jetty at nearby Fusina but by the time we would have paid for parking and the expensive ferry ride it got rather expensive, hence the good drive-in option.Suffice to say that the ease of travelling to and from Venice was not quite as we expected.
There is no longer a restaurant at the Villa but an adequate trattoria 5 mins walk away. More restaurants were available in Dolo and Mira, 5-10 mins if driving.
A special word for the staff...they couldn't have been more helpful and friendly as we were a large group of non-Italian speaking Kiwis who enjoy eating and drinking al-fresco! The garden and gazebo area are perfect for such a group.
We stayed in a central hotel on our previous visit to Venice and this trip led the group to a quieter cheaper option which we as a group preferred. But for first-time Venice visitors it is perhaps better to stay in the heart of the City and experience the life and excitement of this unique island.
The environs of the Villa are attractive and we did have a nice dinner in an old water mill over the Brenta Canal at Dolo. For something different we can recommend a visit to the Villa Pisani about 15 mins south along the canal by car.Dating from the early 18th century its architecture and history are fascinating, having been owned by Napoleon 1 in 1807 and hosting Hitler and Mussolini on their first meeting. It has been a national monument since 1882 and when we were there it displayed a superb art exhibition depicting working people from the 18th century onwards.

Room Tip: Ask for a big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We fell in love with this hotel when we saw it on Tripadvisor. The old villa with that old world glamour, the murano chandeliers, the high ceilings and the frescos were all bewitchingly beautiful! The well landscaped garden looked tranquil and inviting despite being winter. Going to Venice was also an easy access and parking was never a problem. The breakfast was nice with a big selection of cereals, fruits, bread, salamis and juices. The receptionist was also very attentive and helpful. This place's awesome and will definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

good choice for overnight by Venice on our trip from Côte d'Azur.
Nice place, beautiful villa, comfortable suite and enjoyable garden park.

When we arrived, there was italian wedding :))
we decided to go once more to Venice. It's only 20 km,
also it's a great possibility to stay near by this romantic city.

sure to come back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanfreire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaducaledolo, Proprietario at Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed the Riviera del Brenta, the Villa and its garden.
Villa Ducale is the ideal location for those who want to relax after visting Venice and Padua as well as celebrating their wedding.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Alberti
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Franceschi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gasparini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Villa Margherita Hotel
1.6 mi away
Albergo alla Campana
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ca Tron
Hotel Ca Tron
#1 of 9 in Dolo
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant

Property: Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant
Address: Riva Martiri della Liberta' 75 | Localita Cesare Musatti, 30031 Dolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Dolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884, by a Venetian nobleman, Count Giulio Rocca, Villa Ducale is situated in a magnificent park along the shores of the Brenta River. A mere 15/20 minutes from romantic Venice and ancient Padua, Villa Ducale offers an ideal starting point for discovering the Veneto countryside. Public buses stop right in front of the Hotel's gate and provide a direct service from Dolo to these two cities of art. Villa Ducale offers 11 rooms with high ceilings, frescoed walls, and warm wooden floors all furnished in pure Venetian style. Every room offers the comfort of a mini-bar, safe deposit box, mtv, direct line telephone, bathtub or shower en suite. All rooms offer views over the ancient park. Villa Ducale offers genuine Venetian cuisine in its restaurant. Free wi-fi for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant Dolo, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing