We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovin' the vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roadside Potatohead

Roadside Potatohead
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in McCarthy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
tacoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovin' the vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family has eaten there numerous times over the past few years on our way to or from various hiking & camping adventures. All 6 of us LOVE it! Espresso is amazing, salmon burgers with dill sauce are the best I've had anywhere, and the rosemary garlic fries MADE OUR DAY. Three of us 'girls' split the fries, & it was a super fun treat on our way out of town. The service is always friendly & the atmosphere is quintessentially 'Happy Hippy.'

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    30
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a great feed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The reviewers below have described the Potatohead well, but I have to add my thanks for a great lunch. The pulled pork sandwich was delicious! The kids (and we) enjoyed playing with the Mr Potatoheads while we waited for our order.
In Australia, food in a remote location like this would have been ridiculously expensive. Here it was wonderfully reasonable and delicious.
I had to buy a t-shirt!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a small eatery with a limited interesting fast food menu. Certainly tasty food and excellent value. There aren't many places to eat in McCarthy so this is a good option.
Doug and Ulai Kirwin
Thaiand

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTEE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

There weren't too many places to eat in McCarthy. Roadside Potatohead provided a good meal at a good price. We also got to catch up on our Mr. Potatohead skills on the counters. One highlight was the availability of a wide range of hot sauces from mild too smokin!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAPTBUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delicious french fries!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a restaurant in a trailer in McCarthy. The French fries are delicious--large portion enough for 2 and served us as our lunch..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadside Potatohead also viewed

McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve

Been to Roadside Potatohead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing