We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”

Roadside Potatohead
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in McCarthy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a small eatery with a limited interesting fast food menu. Certainly tasty food and excellent value. There aren't many places to eat in McCarthy so this is a good option.
Doug and Ulai Kirwin
Thaiand

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    32
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SANTEE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

There weren't too many places to eat in McCarthy. Roadside Potatohead provided a good meal at a good price. We also got to catch up on our Mr. Potatohead skills on the counters. One highlight was the availability of a wide range of hot sauces from mild too smokin!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAPTBUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delicious french fries!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a restaurant in a trailer in McCarthy. The French fries are delicious--large portion enough for 2 and served us as our lunch..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good eats in a great little town!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Mostly burgers, sandwiches and believe it or not a nice salad/hummus plate, all of which were cooked right and very tasty. It's basically a trailer with picnic tables so nothing fancy...but this is McCarthy so it fits right in!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great lunch stop in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped at the Roadside Potatohead on a recent trip to Wrangell-St Elias National Park, Alaska. We drove the 50+ miles of the incredible McCarthy road and took the footbridge into the town of McCarthy. Nestled in the woods we found the Roadside Potatohead. Given the remoteness, unreasonable prices or lesser quality food would have been forgivable, but it wasn't the case. I got an outstanding burger and fries. It was made of quality ingredients and was plenty to fill me up. My wife was equally happy with her lunch. The price for our meals and drinks came to about $20-$25. This seemed very reasonable when the logistics of getting supplies to a place like McCarthy is considered. The Potatohead is small and somewhat hidden, but if you are looking for a place to get lunch on the way to Kennecott, it's worth tracking down. You'll find great food and friendly service. Take the time to stop in the tiny McCarthy museum to see some incredible history.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadside Potatohead also viewed

McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 

Been to Roadside Potatohead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing