We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Excellent tour of the Kennecott mines and the concentration mill.

Super interesting tour of the Kennecott mines with Leah. Very knowledgeable and friendly guide... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
FredericL788
,
Bethesda, Maryland
via mobile
Great Root Glacier experience

Kelsey, you were awesome. Nice paced hike to the glacier. She tempted a few of us to do the blue... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
boilerbc
,
Harrisonburg, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 836 reviews
  
Reviews (836)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveler rating
777
49
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
777
49
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier hike ice climbing root glacier town tour copper mine great tour st elias full day hike backpacking trip small group blue pool hot chocolate glacier water copper mining bush plane unique experience national park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 836 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2020

I have used this guide service four times. Each time has been better than the last. The guides are friendly, knowledgeable, and very fun to be with. If you are lucky enough to visit Wrangell-St. Elias national park, you should certainly use these guys to get the best experience.

Date of experience: September 2020
1  Thank 10cherylk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2020

After +40yrs of guiding in the Wrangells, we like to think of ourselves as experts in the area. And it sounds like you're becoming one too!! Thanks so much for your continued support over the years, and especially this year! We're happy to hear that you look forward to coming back to this magical spot and enjoy sharing your adventures with us!
Let us know if you have any more feedback you'd like to share - we're all ears at info@steliasguides.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2020

We did the high pass odyssey in 6 days. Exceeded every expectation. Harrison was all time. The food was unreal. The sights were truly breathtaking. Harrison kept us safe and sound. Anya the owners handled the logistics and was amazing. 10 out of 10. Also... glad we trained for this one ;)

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Bmjansma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2020

Hi Brandon,
So psyched you guys were able to join us for one of our most epic backpacking trips - the High Pass Odyssey! You guys chose the speedy 6-day version, which is a natural butt-kicking challenge, but with preparation and training, you guys totally crushed it!
Our backpacking guides work off of a proprietary cookbook of practiced and approved meals - so glad you enjoyed Harrison's cooking!
We are happy to help with the logistics surrounding your trip to ensure things run smooth and you're not bogged down with the details - transportation, lodging, other activities, etc. Glad to hear you liked that package we customized for your group!
Once your legs recover, we can start planning your next adventure out here ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2020

St. Elias National Park is spectacular, and this was a fantastic group to lead our exploration of it! From the first point of contact to our departure at the end of the trip, at every step they were friendly, professional, and reassuring that we would not be eaten by bears. They designed a trip that perfectly matched our level of experience and adventure, and we had a blast hiking around the basin, crossing glaciers, and eating incredibly good food in the backcountry! Special shoutout to our guide Michael Hampton, who immediately felt like one of our crew and was a great hang for four days.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank sparker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2020

Hi Sparker14,
Thanks so much for the awesome review! Our multi-day hiking, backpacking, rafting, skiing, and climbing excursions are some of the best ways to see this incredible Park. With over 13.2 million acres of Park land, there is something for everyone here to see.
We work hard to match our guides to our clients to ensure that your trip is truly a trip of a lifetime! And that you don't get eaten by bears :D
So glad you could join us on this incredible adventure and we hope to see you and your friends up here again sometime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2020

Tristan is an amazing guide. He knew the glaciers and mountain like the back of his hand. Completely trusted him with guiding my family and I around during our first time glacier hiking and ice climbing. Highlight was the blue pool jump which my husband did. He got some cuts from the ice but Tristan was ready with his first aid kit. Will definitely do it again!

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank threestripes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2020


Hey there,
Thank you so much for joining Tristan on the glacier the other day! Like all of our guides, he is professional, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Trained in wilderness first response, our guides are prepared to help with any situation.
So cool that your husband went for a blue pool jump - that'll be swim to remember!
If you'd like to share any more feedback, you can reach us at info@steliasguides.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2020

Ice climbing with guide Bryce was one of my highlight experiences in 2 months in Alaska. Thanks so much

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank erikrZ4601DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2020

Wow! Two whole months spent in this great state and climbing the ice of the Root Glacier made the top of the list!! Thanks so much for joining us this summer and if you have any more feedback to share, we're all ears at info@steliasguides.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews