We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Excellent tour of the Kennecott mines and the concentration mill.

Super interesting tour of the Kennecott mines with Leah. Very knowledgeable and friendly guide... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
FredericL788
,
Bethesda, Maryland
via mobile
Great Root Glacier experience

Kelsey, you were awesome. Nice paced hike to the glacier. She tempted a few of us to do the blue... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
boilerbc
,
Harrisonburg, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 836 reviews
  
Reviews (836)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveler rating
777
49
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
777
49
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier hike ice climbing root glacier town tour copper mine great tour st elias full day hike backpacking trip small group blue pool hot chocolate glacier water copper mining bush plane unique experience national park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 836 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2020

This hike was one of the best hikes we have ever done and we have done many challenging hikes throughout various national parks. The view at the top was an incredible reward for the awesome vertical hiking challenge. The mine was very interesting to learn about and see. We all loved it! Our guide Tim was fantastic with a great sense of humor and always providing interesting information about the mines and surrounding area.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2020

Thank you for the review, we’re so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your Bonanza hike with Tim! This park truly is a special place and that rewarding view at the top sure is hard to beat.
If you have any additional feedback feel free to send it our way - info@steliasguides.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2020 via mobile

What a fabulous day on the Root Glacier. Merritt was super friendly, knowledgeable and fun. He worked hard and never missed a beat teaching these 50- (nearly 60-)somethings the basics of ice climbing. We’d do it again in a heartbeat.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Portland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2020

Thank you for the review, we’re so glad you enjoyed your day ice climbing with Merritt! It’s one of the best ways to see the glacier, and goes to show you’re never too old to learn how to ice climb ;)
If you have any additional feedback feel free to send it our way - info@steliasguides.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2020

Amazing glacier hike today. Bryce was an awesome guide. Great sense of humor but also kept us safe and let us help plan the day - what an adventure?!?!

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Miscleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2020

Thank you for the review, we’re so glad you enjoyed your day! Safety and adventure are our topmost priorities and Bryce does a great job exemplifying those values.
If you have any additional feedback feel free to send it our way - info@steliasguides.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2020

We did the half day glacier hike. It was terrific. The glacier is stunning and we were able to explore lots of it. Our guide Gus was very knowledgeable. It was an amazing day and we were both tired after our 10 plus mile hike!

Date of experience: August 2020
1  Thank DMH_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2020

Thank you for the review, we’re so glad you enjoyed your hike with Gus! You sure covered some ground, what a fantastic way to explore the glacier!
If you have any additional feedback feel free to send it our way - info@steliasguides.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2020 via mobile

Can't plan the weather and boy did it rain ... but our guide, Gus was great. Booked a private all day glacier tour so we could hike and photograph the glaciers at our own pace. Glacier hikes happen rain or shine and even though the weather left something to be desired Gus's positive attitude along with his expertise made our day special.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank N4811EQellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AlpineAnya, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2020

Thank you for the review, we’re so glad you enjoyed your day despite the classic Alaskan rain. Gus’s stoke is hard to match when he’s guiding on the glacier and you’re fortunate to have experienced it!
If you have any additional feedback feel free to send it our way - info@steliasguides.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews