We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice climbing on root glacier”

St. Elias Alpine Guides Day Adventures
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in McCarthy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Alaska's largest national park with the local experts, based in Wrangell-St. Elias since 1978. We offer half and full-day glacier hikes, ice-climbing, alpine hikes, fly-in hikes and rafting. We also feature wilderness adventures such as trekking, backpacking, rafting, skiing and mountaineering courses & expeditions. Our professional, personable guides love to share their in-depth knowledge of this magnificent wilderness!
Steamboat Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ice climbing on root glacier”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spent the day ice climbing and doing a descent into a moulin on root glacier. Gotta do that again!
The guides were great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    40
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Root Glacier Guided Hike”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our guide, Chris was phenomenal. As an experienced ice climber he ensured our safety throughout the route to and on the glacier. We were beyond satisfied with our experience and would recommend it highly. Thumbs up!

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Herb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful glacier walk”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I went on the half day glacier walk. The experience was excellent to be walking on the ice, looking down on the leaves that melted little holes in the ice and seeing into the crevasses and the huge expanse of ice. Be aware that you need to be of reasonable fitness. There was a lovely one and a half mile walk on a track beside the lower end of the glacier where we walked past wild flowers and forest before climbing over moraine, rocks and scree to reach the glacier. We spent time on the glacier and ate lunch there and returned the same way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Industrial Tour”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The tour was comprehensive, with concern for the safety and well-being of participants. We went through the old facility just like the ore from the mine would have gone. Amazing facility, tough workers. It really gave you an appreciation for what workers endured prior to OSHA. Watch your step!

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Bomma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

During my stay I took part in both full day glacial hike and full day ice climbing. The scenery is amazing, even for the experienced traveler. SEAG has a great setup with professional and inspiring guides who are dedicated in giving their guests an inspiring and thrilling experience while remaining safe. It takes time getting to the area, but it is worth it!!!!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank TrondC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elias Alpine Guides Day Adventures also viewed

Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to St. Elias Alpine Guides Day Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing