We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting Walk on the Glacier”

St. Elias Alpine Guides
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in McCarthy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Alaska's largest national park with the local experts, based in Wrangell-St. Elias since 1978. We offer half and full-day glacier hikes, ice-climbing, alpine hikes, fly-in hikes and rafting. We also feature wilderness adventures such as trekking, backpacking, rafting, skiing and mountaineering courses & expeditions. Our professional, personable guides love to share their in-depth knowledge of this magnificent wilderness!
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great experience! Our guide, Seth, was knowledgable, friendly and enthusiastic. The half day glacier walk was the biggest highlight of our 14 day visit to AK. Highly recommend the services of St. Elias Alpine Guides.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank DarM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaiaM, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We LOVE hearing that our trips were a highlight! Thanks so much for joining us and come back any time.
Gaia Marrs and the SEAG crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glacier hike"
in 138 reviews
"root glacier"
in 113 reviews
"ice climbing"
in 69 reviews
"town tour"
in 20 reviews
"copper mine"
in 34 reviews
"st elias"
in 29 reviews
"great tour"
in 23 reviews
"full day tour"
in 9 reviews
"power plant"
in 9 reviews
"backpacking trip"
in 13 reviews
"day adventure"
in 7 reviews
"small group"
in 11 reviews
"blue pools"
in 9 reviews
"great job"
in 14 reviews
"glacier water"
in 13 reviews
"half day hike"
in 10 reviews
"bush plane"
in 17 reviews
Filter

515 - 519 of 587 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We did a full day glacier hike and an alpine hike to Erie Bunkhouse. Our guides were superb for both days! Our family of 4 learned so much about glaciers and how they form, move and change. The experience of being on the glacier was incredibly beautiful and just really COOL! Rachel and Melissa were our guides for the glacier and they were enthusiastic, fun and helpful the whole time! The hike to Erie bunkhouse is not for the faint of heart nor for those who are afraid of heights or who have any form of lower body injury. It cannot be done without a guide as the way to get there is obscure to say the least. Our family of 4 went with our guide Dillon, who was awesome. He paved the way for our youngest son, making sure he was safe on some very scary cliff edges. I only went part way on this one as I have knee issues and decided to use my better judgement for a change...and I am glad I did. My husband and older son found this to be an awesome challenge and the views from the top were apparently amazing. St. Elias Guides does a great job training their people and the guides themselves are interesting and fun to be with. They are also trained for emergency medical issues (which we fortunately didn't need!).

Thank mamasmurf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaiaM, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello Mamasmurf,
We really loved your family - thanks so much for joining us! Come back anytime...
Gaia and the SEAG crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The half-day glacier hike was the highlight of our time in Alaska! Everyone we met at St. Elias Alpine Guides -- from making the reservation to getting a ride back to the footbridge at the end of our hike -- was friendly and competent. Between the glacier hike and the mill tour, there was something for everyone (a range of ages, fitness levels and interests in our traveling group). Our guide, Seth, was friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. And the glacier itself, of course, was truly amazing. A can't-miss experience!

Thank LadyLibertine814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaiaM, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello Lady Libertine,
Thanks so much for your review and we are so glad you had a great time with us! Happy travels and come back and see us again sometime.
Gaia and the SEAG crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our tour group spent a couple of days in McCarthy and we got the chance to participate in the activities offered by the St. Elias Alpine Guides. My roomie and me signed up for the ice-climbing day trip, and it was definitely one of the greatest days during our three-week tour! Lucas and his two fellow guides (I'm too bad in remembering names!) made this an unforgettable experience, guiding us safely and knowledgable first to and then on the glacier. The spot for the climbing was breathtaking, the group size was small and everyone had a great time out on the Root glacier. After the climbing, we even had the chance to take a guided hike on the glacier, and on our way back to Kennecott we visited an amazing ice-cave at the edge of the glacier. It was a ten-hour-day, but it passed far too quickly and I will remember it forever! Thank you for this awesome trip!

Thank Susi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaiaM, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello Susi H,
So glad you had a great time climbing, hiking and exploring with Lucas! Come back and see us again sometime!
Happy Travels,
Gaia and the SEAG team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The half-day glacier hike led by St Elias Alpine Guides was one of our favorite experiences in two weeks in Alaska. Our guide, Nick, was well-informed, enthused about his work, and gracious in accommodating the differing fitness levels of our group. The office staff were efficient and friendly. The glacier is spectacular: beautiful, odd, and fascinating. This is a must-do experience! Even our teenager was in awe.

Thank mtnview9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaiaM, Owner at St. Elias Alpine Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello MntView9,
So glad that your whole family had a great time on the glacier with Nick. Come back and see us again soon!
Gaia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elias Alpine Guides also viewed

McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to St. Elias Alpine Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing