We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Rafting Day Trip and Flight

What a great experience the family had with Cody and Harrison. Cody was our main guide and Harrison... read more

Reviewed August 31, 2020
threestripes33
,
Short Hills, New Jersey
One Day Raft & Flightseeing

Where else but Alaska can you do whitewater rafting and have a bush plane fly you back?! It was a... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2020
Tara M
Read all 54 reviews
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
53
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
53
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river bush plane great trip day trip copper rafting alaska flight fly
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 54 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Rafting the Copper River with Copper Oar rafting company was a great experience. Lots of fun and challenges. Juniper Rose was my guide and did a great job rowing us down the river, preparing great meals and pointing out interesting facts I wouldn’t have even known to ask about. Scott the head boatman was knowledgeable and also a great guide. We saw Eagles and bears at a safe distance and lots of seals. It was an awesome trip.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Wildriverrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

I injured my knee at the airport on my way to Alaska so I was limited in my activities. My wife had booked us for a rafting trip with Copper Oar and I decided to gimp my way there. Believe me, I'm glad I did it. We rafted over three rivers and most time is was quiet but we did hit some rapids including one that soaked me completely (the highlight of the trip). We had a great rower in Nick Prete. He took us over the toughest of rapids with ease and was very knowledgeable about the rivers, Alaska in general and rowing which he has done all over the river. My brother-in-law Bill, born on April 1, is called Bad Joke Billy and he and Nick had everyone laughing with their "jokes."
We stopped on shore for a great lunch midway through the journey provided by Nick and Sarah. When we were done, the journey provided a ride on a small plane back to where we were staying (Kennicott Glacier Lodge). Pilot Bill took us over the glaciers and we went over our route on the raft. That was exciting, too. Would go it again in a heart beat.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018

Copper Oar helped seriously subsidize our fly-in raft trip for our non-profit Brooklyn to Alaska! Not only did they work with us financially, but they went out of their way to help provide a top-notch wilderness trip for girls from the inner city that could not normally afford this trip. All of the leaders and participants felt safe and had the time of their lives! I can't say enough for Gaia and her crew. AMAZING!!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

This was such a great trip, made extra special with the addition of a resident naturalist who came along with us on the journey. He answered thoroughly every question about each rock, tree, cliff formation, and critter that we asked him about. All the river guides were helpful as well as proficient in their paddling skills. The owner was thoughtful in contacting us ahead of time to see if we could adjust our starting & ending times. The midday meal was delicious. The weather was perfect. The flight back was spectacular. The company on the trip was phenomenal. Everything about the day that was planned for us was pretty much perfect. Money well spent on a trip I'll never forget!

Date of experience: June 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank dithmerea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

I took a one week rafting trip down the copper river with my wife. Copper Oar did a fantastic job and arranged everything from travel to McCarthy, Lodging before and after the trip, wonderful guides and great food. If you want to see Alaska (Glaciers, Mountain Vistas, Bald Eagles, Grizzly Bears) - I highly recommend this float. Plan on doing it again when my daughter is around 10 to 13 years old.

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Krystyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaiaM, Owner at Copper Oar Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Thanks Christian! Great to have you guys and we look forward to your return!
Gaia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews