We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Rafting Day Trip and Flight

What a great experience the family had with Cody and Harrison. Cody was our main guide and Harrison... read more

Reviewed August 31, 2020
threestripes33
,
Short Hills, New Jersey
One Day Raft & Flightseeing

Where else but Alaska can you do whitewater rafting and have a bush plane fly you back?! It was a... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2020
Tara M
Read all 54 reviews
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
53
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
53
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river bush plane great trip day trip copper rafting alaska flight fly
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 54 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2018

Copper Oar helped seriously subsidize our fly-in raft trip for our non-profit Brooklyn to Alaska! Not only did they work with us financially, but they went out of their way to help provide a top-notch wilderness trip for girls from the inner city that could not normally afford this trip. All of the leaders and participants felt safe and had the time of their lives! I can't say enough for Gaia and her crew. AMAZING!!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

This was such a great trip, made extra special with the addition of a resident naturalist who came along with us on the journey. He answered thoroughly every question about each rock, tree, cliff formation, and critter that we asked him about. All the river guides were helpful as well as proficient in their paddling skills. The owner was thoughtful in contacting us ahead of time to see if we could adjust our starting & ending times. The midday meal was delicious. The weather was perfect. The flight back was spectacular. The company on the trip was phenomenal. Everything about the day that was planned for us was pretty much perfect. Money well spent on a trip I'll never forget!

Date of experience: June 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank dithmerea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

I took a one week rafting trip down the copper river with my wife. Copper Oar did a fantastic job and arranged everything from travel to McCarthy, Lodging before and after the trip, wonderful guides and great food. If you want to see Alaska (Glaciers, Mountain Vistas, Bald Eagles, Grizzly Bears) - I highly recommend this float. Plan on doing it again when my daughter is around 10 to 13 years old.

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Krystyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaiaM, Owner at Copper Oar Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Thanks Christian! Great to have you guys and we look forward to your return!
Gaia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

I enjoyed my River Rafting with Copper Oar, it was a good introduction to white water rafting. The guides were friendly and experienced and helped make it a fun day. The lunch provided was very tasty! After the wonderful ride down the river you get picked up by a plane which was so cool, flying over the Alaskan landscape and Kennicott Glacier was amazing. I would recommend this trip!

Date of experience: June 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank 272kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaiaM, Owner at Copper Oar Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hello 272kaz,
Thanks do much for your great review and we're thrilled you enjoyed the day! We may be biased, but we do think it's one of the best single-day adventures in Alaska!
Take care,
Gaia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Breathtaking only begins to describe the vistas. 360 degrees of awesome. Jonny and Robin provided much knowledge and skill. We took hikes and pushed ourselves, it payed off. Seeing Alaska up close is the only way. Spending time away from electronics for a week is sooo great! This trip is great for ALL ages. There was never a doubt about safety, these guides know their river. Camps were pleasant and our guides interacted with everyone. The food was great and there was plenty of it as well. (Oreos next time please) If you only do Alaska once, this is it.....up close and personal

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank dkdfcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaiaM, Owner at Copper Oar Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hello Collinses!
Thanks so much for the great review and for joining us on the Copper! So glad you had a great time (and great weather!). Come back any time!
Take care,
Gaia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews