We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place! Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Currant Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCarthy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Currant Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 18, 2009

My husband I stayed at Currant Ridge Cabins over the 4th of July weekend and had one of the best times ever! The cabins were amazing! They're roomy, clean and comfortable and filled with everything you need. We brought our own food and had everything we needed to prepare every meal. We ate every meal on the deck, drinking coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up in the morning.

We also attended the 4th of July festivities in McCarthy and had a blast! The whole town and visitors were out for the celebration which included a hilarious parade and fun games. And the weather was fantastic! Sunny and 80 plus degrees!

We spent a few days hiking and visiting Kennicott too. We enjoyed our stay so much at Currant Ridge Cabins that I couldn't stop thinking of who we would have to bring with us for our next visit. The owners and family are great people and have built a wonderful place to share with others. You will leave Currant Ridge Cabins feeling like you made new friends and had a great time. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VDZ_Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2009

We live in Valdez and brought friends from Norway to visit Kennecott and McCarthy. Currant Ridge Cabins provided an excellent base of operations for our stay. Everyone concerned enjoyed the accommodations and we look forward to doing it again.

We had the best barbecued fresh oysters that you could ever imagine prepared by Andy. Wrangell-St. Elias National Park, Kennecott Mine National Historic Landmark and McCarthy are worth visiting and a highlight for travelers to Alaska.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InfoAboutAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

These are the best cabins on the road to McCarthy. More than cabins, these are guest houses furnished with modern conveniences not available anywhere in McCarthy. So nice to pull in after the long drive and relax with a glass of wine on the deck while barbecuing dinner. After four wheeling up to the Kennecot mines, the full size bathtub was a welcome feature to soak off the road dust. The hosts were fantastic! Very accommodating and friendly. Very kid friendly, and a memorable place for a weekend or weeklong getaway.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank rernster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Current Ridge - The cabins were spotless, and furnishings very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and obviously take a lot of pride in their cabins and ensuring their guests are comfortable. Even the family dog, Sable, was a wonderful hostess, and checked in on her guests daily. The road into McCarthy was not too bad at all - better than most of the dirt roads we traveled on (ie., Denali Highway). A visit to Kennicott is a must - Take the short walk towards the glacier. Beautiful views. We even saw a mama moose and her two babies along side the footbridge on our way back to our car. And after a long day exploring, how wonderful to come back to such a comfortable "home". A great place to go if you really want to get away from it all!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coast2coast06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Currant Ridge Cabins is a great place to stay if you are looking for all the comforts of home in a very remote place; Wrangell-St. Elias National Park. The cabins are located about 3 miles west of the McCarthy, Alaska along the McCarthy road, which was not as bad to drive as is advertised in many travel resources.

The cabins featured a well equipped full kitchen and nice furniture. Everything was very clean. We loved this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robt61x49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fuzzy493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCarthyMan, Owner at Currant Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reimer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCarthyMan, Owner at Currant Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Currant Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currant Ridge

Address: MIle 56.7 McCarthy Rd, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > McCarthy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in McCarthy
Price Range: $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe private and roomy Alaskan log guest houses sleep 2-4 easily. These are the easiest, largest and most contemporary of the lodging options in the McCarthy area to get to. You can drive right to your guest house so there is no waiting for a shuttle to get to your lodging. We offer full kitchens, private bathrooms with showers and tub, decks with gas grills and large bedrooms with queen beds. There is easy drive-in access and free parking. We do offer free, high speed WIFI at our property for customer use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Currant Ridge McCarthy, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing