We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cabin”
Review of Currant Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCarthy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Currant Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We only spent one night here. It is a spacious cabin with a large living/dining/kitchen room; bedroom and large bathroom. It has a lovely deck all around. there is also a barbecue on the deck. (we used our own). We could not eat outside because of the bugs, but had a lovely view from inside too. The cabin is fairly new built in 2007 and it is very comfortable except for a worn couch. We enjoyed our stay and would return. The ride to McCarthy only took one and a half hours--road is much improved since many reports were published.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 149 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

These cabins definitely lived up to expectation. Incredibly spacious. Well equipped. Full bath with showers. Stove. Outdoor grill. Deck with views. What else...oh yeah, the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept on. (Seriously...EVER!!!) They're about 2 miles or so from the footbridge in to McCarthy but it's an easy drive and plenty of parking down near the bridge ($5 at the closest spot and free 1/4 mile back)

The cabins are all powered by a bank of solar panels down by the main house so no noisy generators either. And the abundance of raspberries growing on the grounds were a nice treat! We will absolutely be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent three nights here. The cabins were absolutely delightful, immaculately clean and thoughtfully furnished. It was a pleasure to prepare meals in the well-supplied kitchen. Wonderful location with fabulous views from the cabin. Staying here was definitely a highlight of our trip to Alaska and we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CICreswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

3 miles before McCarthy- several beautiful cabins r nestled into nature. Well invested, big rooms, very nice bathroom and living room, home style, equipped with all kitchen aids, a barbecue set on the balcony... One should not ask for more. A great place to warm and rest after hiking all day. Only one disadvantage (or maybe great advantage)- no Internet (a slow one near office...).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The cabin was spacious and clean. Bathroom well stocked with towels and toiletries. The view used to be spectacular, but they really need to trim/cut down some trees that are getting way to tall. If you want wireless you have to go down to the office and sit on the porch. Not great because there are so many mosquitoes. I really hate when people advertise wifi and then it is limited and not in your room/cabin. Owner was friendly. As with many places in Alaska and Yukon, they work at other jobs and aren't there to greet you and answer questions. We had a great stay in spite of limited wireless. I know that isn't important for some people, but it is for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCarthyMan, Owner at Currant Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Helen,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the reviews as they help us to keep track of what we can do better for all of our customers. We pride ourselves on providing the best lodging in the McCarthy area and I think we compare favorably to any other established business in this part of the state.

I would like to respond to your review on two items that you have mentioned. First, we do live in a beautiful area. We make an effort to see that views are available at each guest house and deck while still maintaining as much privacy as possible. To that end we selectively thin vegetation to provide privacy between the guest houses. Secondly, I am sure that your comment "I really hate when people advertise wifi and then it is limited and not in your room/cabin." is a general comment since we do not advertise WiFi access for our customers. We are located in a remote part of Alaska. The phone service has only recently been upgraded to allow internet access at a reasonable speed. We do have a house/office router that can be utilized by customers either inside our office or outside on our deck. Some customers choose to sit in their vehicles and use the wireless in our driveway thereby avoiding the bugs (which I would love to be able to control). We are researching ways to provide the wireless service to the guest houses in the future.

Thank you for taking time to write a review for our business. We appreciate it and hope that you will return in the future.

Andy and Cynthia Shidner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

McCarthy, AK is located about 60 miles down an unpaved road in Wrangell Saint Elias National Park that has quite a reputation for damaging tires ( undeserved during the 2013 season after recent repairs). Who would think you could find a roomy log cabin with privacy, a comfy bed, plenty of cooking supplies including a porch with a grill, and a roomy bathroom here? Be sure to stop for groceries in Glenallen, if coming in from the north, because there aren't many shopping options for groceries any closer and only rare and distant restaurant options. Although I was traveling with family, I can definitely see returning as a romantic, private getaway for an outdoors loving couple who like to retire to a soft bed and good meal at the end of an active day. A great place to leave the distractions of the world behind and just enjoy nature with the person of your choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCHARAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June and loved it! We plan to return next year!! The cabin was very roomy-nicely furnished and included a very nice bath room with plenty of hot water. We really loved it here!! Karen O

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klynbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Currant Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currant Ridge

Address: MIle 56.7 McCarthy Rd, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > McCarthy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in McCarthy
Price Range: $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe private and roomy Alaskan log guest houses sleep 2-4 easily. These are the easiest, largest and most contemporary of the lodging options in the McCarthy area to get to. You can drive right to your guest house so there is no waiting for a shuttle to get to your lodging. We offer full kitchens, private bathrooms with showers and tub, decks with gas grills and large bedrooms with queen beds. There is easy drive-in access and free parking. We do offer free, high speed WIFI at our property for customer use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Currant Ridge McCarthy, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing