We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cabins”
Review of Currant Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCarthy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Currant Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cabins”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Currant Ridge in August 2012 and they are beautiful and clean. The website does it justice with their photos and descriptions. It is hard to stay all the way up at Kennecott and it was nice to spend the day up there, but come back to these cabins to rest and relax. We cooked a lot of food, both inside and out. Also, there was a great communal campfire and lots of nice music around the fire.
The cabins are plenty big for 4 people. Andy and Cynthia were great hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We found Currant Ridge through TripAdvisor. We debated staying in Kennicott vs McCarthy vs Currant Ridge. We chose Currant Ridge based on the reviews and location on the road side of the foot bridge. We were very happy with our decision. The cabins are very new and clean. We had lots of space for two people. We had a nice view of the mountains, and it is just a short 3 mile drive to the foot bridge. Nice dinners at the McCarthy Lodge. We'd suggest staying in WSE for 3-4 days.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank m343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have to say, these cabins are the largest and cleanest we've ever stayed in. My husband and I were visiting Alaska for our anniversary, and we were surprised by how lovely the cabins were, especially how far into the Wrangell-St.Elias area we were. Once we walked into McCarthy, and saw the lodging there, we were happy to have chosen Currant Ridge cabins. In addition to the lodgings, both Andy and Cynthia were extremely helpful, both before we arrived and during our stay. They answered all our questions over email, were extremely welcoming when we arrived, and even gave us a bottle of insect repellant when we mentioned that we had forgotten to bring one with us. We would definitely stay here again, and thought this was the best lodging we stayed in while in Alaska.

Just to add a little info about travel in the area: the easiest way we found to get to McCarthy was to drive to the free parking area just down the road toward McCarthy, then walk over the footbridge and into town. We also took the shuttle from the parking area into town, and that worked well also, as long as you are willing to pay about $5 per person.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We wish we could have stayed longer, but unfortunately our booking fell out of the system somehow. But at least we had one night and met the wonderful Shidner family (though Cynthia was off on a 'girls weekend' hiking adventure). It's an inspiration to see what they've created & are still developing! The cabin we stayed in had so much space that we felt we needed to share it with others - so invited acouple we met camping to come and join us for dinner (cooked on the gas BBQ on the deck outside). There's everything you need to entertain yourselves and guests! If we come back to Alaska we will come back to Currant Ridge for sure. Thank you Andy for doing your best in an unfortunate situation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockdale, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Currant Ridge Cabins is a perfect offset to the historic lodging of Kennecott. We loved the setting and the deck and mountain views are great additions to the cute and cozy cabin. We had 5 people in one cabin and the owners brought a self inflating mattress which was quite comfortable. They supplied coffee, dining wear, pots, pans, silverware - we couldn't have asked for more. The lodging was very reasonable for a party of 5 - $239/night. We will definitely stay again if we're back in this area of remote AK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DyPurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I loved this spacious and clean cabin. The deck and gas grill were great. It is very quiet and has great mountain views. My favorite part was Sable, our "cabin dog". She came to visit often, taking naps on our deck and making us feel at home. The only complaint was being the third wheel and having to sleep on the uncomfortable hide-a-bed. I quickly rendered the situation, but putting the matress on the floor. I had a great night sleep, but was wishing I had the bedroom :)! I would definitely come back. The owners are great and I could of talked to Andy all day! Wish we had more time there. The only thing on our wish list is a toaster.

Room Tip: Put the sofa sleeper matress on the floor for a more comfortable night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our second time at Currant Ridge. We came back. There it is. The cabins are modern, very comfortable and very convenient to the McCarthy-Kennicott area. There are other cabins that are closer, but none more comfortable as far as I can tell. We were there with four people and two dogs. We had a one BR cabin, but were provided with a blow-up bed that was quite comfortable and nice linens. The kitchen was well-equipped so we were able to make our dinners and breakfasts there and save the expense of eating in town. Well behaved dogs are welcome if the owners are equally well behaved and pick up after them. We have been going to McCarthy-Kennicott for years and this is our first choice for places to stay in the area. I would recommend it highly. There is no toaster. Learn to fry your bread.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Currant Ridge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We totally appreciate our guests writing reviews for our business. I felt compelled to respond to one point the reviewer made in regards to the absence of a toaster. We are off the electric grid here and we make our own power through a combination of photo-voltaic panels and a diesel fired generator. We purposely don't provide electric appliances such as toasters, irons, hair dryers or microwave ovens because of the significant electric consumption associated with them. To date in 2012, we have had to run our generator for only 9 hours to compensate for the lack of sunshine. We are very proud of our commitment to being as green as possible and hope that the minor inconvenience of using the propane broiler or stove top is worth it to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Currant Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currant Ridge

Property: Currant Ridge
Address: MIle 56.7 McCarthy Rd, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > McCarthy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in McCarthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe private Alaskan log guest houses sleep 2-4 easily. Full kitchens, private bathrooms, decks and bedrooms. Easy drive-in access and free parking. We do NOT offer WIFI at our property for customer use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Currant Ridge McCarthy, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing