We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beach getaway in Santa Clara!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Sirenas de Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins
Ranked #2 of 2 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach getaway in Santa Clara!”
Reviewed March 2, 2007

We stayed last week for 3 nights, 4 days at Las Sirenas at Playa Santa Clara for a quick beach getaway after attending a wedding in Panama City. What a wonderful place! We requested (and received) Cabana # 11, which is the cabin closest to the beach, having decided that we did not want to climb the stairs from the beach to the larger mountain-top cabins (which had breathtaking views!) Because our cabana was right on the beach, it had the advantage of cross-breezes from the sea, and we were no more than ten steps from the beach.

You arrive at this property via a bumpy dirt road for about 1/2 mile off the main road. If you are not in a 4WD vehicle, go slowly in your rental car. We opted to use a car service to take us there and back, and had WONDERFUL service -- they even stopped at the El Rey supermarket in Coronado to help us stock up on groceries before we arrived.

Our cabana was a one-bedroom with air-conditioning in the bedroom, a king bed with a good mattress, and a living/kitchen area with a daybed and futon/couch (good if you are bringing your kids). The kitchen with breakfast bar and 4 stools was fully stocked with a new full-size refrigerator, a gas stove with 4 burners and small oven, and all the pots, pans, dishes, glasses and utensils needed for 4 people, including dish detergent and paper towels. Bath towels, beach towels, extra linens, and soap was also provided. The red-tiled patio off the kitchen, facing the beach on two sides, had a large hammock, a round wood table with 4 canvas backed chairs, a canvas beach chair with ottoman, and a wooden park-style bench. Also provided were two canvas folding camp chairs to take down to the beach, and beach umbrellas were available. Several large canopies were set up on the beach for guests.

Cabana 11 had lots of window on two sides, with great lighting, and great breezes during the day (we closed and locked everything atnight). The property has BBQ areas with covered picnic tables, and lots of seating for guests. Flowered walkways and beautiful views add to the serenity -- it was very quiet during our stay the mid-week after Carnival, but lots of families were arriving for the weekend when we left on a Thursday afternoon.

There are no stores close by, so you need to bring what you will need. There are two small beach-hut restaurants very close by, but none at Las Sirenas. The closest one is to the right, about 100 yards down the beach, but closes promptly at 6 p.m. (open at 11 a.m., cheap and good food and cold beer!) Just a bit further is another restaurant with a more varied menu, including seafood, hamburgers, chicken, at very reasonable prices -- they are open until 9 p.m.

The only downside is that there is no daily housekeeping service, but a broom was provided for us to sweep sand off the patio, and we really did not need it for a 3-nights stay! The owners/employees do not speak much English, but are friendly and helpful, and we had no trouble being understood when we needed something (though our Spanish is terrible!)

The cabana we stayed in was IMMACULATELY clean, and appeared to be recently painted with new appliances and plumbing fixtures. The white sandy beach was clean too, and we could walk for miles in either direction past some beautiful private homes. Go see this place before it gets too built up like Coronado is becoming! Las Sirenas was a wonderful bargain for $100 a night, and we will definitely return!

  • Liked — Closeness to white sandy beach, beautiful views from patio, quiet and privacy
  • Disliked — No housekeeping service, no restaurant on property (neither were big problems)
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbiJKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

Las Sirenas has about 11 bungalows. The first time we stayed in bungalow number 3, which turns out to be the only two bedroom bungalow. It was great for my husband and I and our two girls. We loved the view of the ocean from up on the hill, the large patio in the front with the two hammocks, and the nearby bohio. The inside of the bungalow was new, bright and colorful. The bathrooms were okay, though our toilet seat was very flimsy and moved around while you sat down. The second time we came back to Santa Clara, we stayed in bungalow number 11. It was smaller, with just one bedroom and one bathroom, and not quite as pretty. It didn't have any artwork on the walls, for example. It was down on the beach, within about 20 feet of the sand, which was convenient. However, we preferred the view of the ocean from the bungalows up on the hill. The facility had plenty of barbeques, swings for the children, and large umbrellas to sit under while at the beach. The nearest large grocery was about 30 minutes away. There were a few nice restaurants within about 10-15 minutes away.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Details-R_Impt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

Las Sirenas is a lovely property. We stayed in the upper cottages which allows for an astounding view, but be ready for a hike to to/from the beach. Much better access to ocean breezes from up high as well. Only the bedroom is air conditioned, but we moved the living room cushion into the bedroom and our son slept with us. Great kitchen-just be ready to light your gas stove the traditional way, with a match. Lots of space in the fridge. The outdoor grills were quite effecient, just ask the hotel "guys" to help you light the kerosene fire. We loaded up on food in Coronado and fed ourselves breakfast, lunch and dinner from our own food supply the entire 3 days we were there. The beach is a working beach for fishermen, so it's not very "secluded". If you take advantage of the outdoor living- hammocks, grilling, and patio, take bug coils or citronella candles. Had a great family game of volleyball on the lower grounds. I only wish they had a pool. Will stay again.

Helpful?
4 Thank kjstoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Stayed here for three peaceful days and nights and was sooooo sorry to leave. This resort looks over the ocean, so you can hear the waves all the time and is so restful. Each little house has its own patio with a hammock and table and chairs to enjoy the balmy weather. Very tastefully newly decorated and grounds well kept up; our suite was super clean (which is the most important thing to me). All kitchen utensils and coffee supplied. Very private place; can walk down the beach to nearby restaurant. Can't wait to return here. This place is a must for beach access, cleanliness and wonderful views with wonderfully maintained grounds. Hated to leave; and we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

When I and my family travel, we prefer to get out of touristy areas and hotels - and hopefully find some way to interact with some of the local population in their own language. Las Sirenas fit the bill. We didn't get a whole lot of interaction with locals, but neither did we meet any tourists! We had the whole beach to ourselves.

As mentioned in the previous reviews, the grounds are well-kept and gorgous.

There are two sets of cabanas, one near the beach, the other on top of the hill overlooking the Pacific and Farallon Island. They were in the midst of refurbishing the beach houses while we there there; the upper cabins were to our great satisfaction. They were worn in, to be sure, but assuredly clean, cool (the bedrooms have AC), well-equipped (a kitchenette with cooking utensils, plates, glasses fridge, range, toaster oven (no microwave). They have TVs (but we never turned it on). Outside was an eating table and comfortable hammocks to read, sip wine and relax. Las Sirenas exceeded our expectations, and if we get back to Santa Clara, we will stay there again. We brought our own food - so I can't say a whole lot on local places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cctrovall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2006

definitely the best place to stay if you are looking for a beach that is relatively close to panama city. specially if you're not into the "all inclusive" resorts and mass tourism scene. the property is well taken care of, with beautiful grounds (lots of bouganvillas). the cabins are a little worn down but still charming, specially the ones on top. i didn't stay in the ones closest to beach, they seem uglier than the ones upstairs. you can sit in you hammock and enjoy great views of the ocean, with peace and quiet around. try that in decameron!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank ptyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Las Sirenas is the most upscale place to stay close to Playa Santa Clara. The cabanas are nice but the furniture a bit worn and the cleanliness...yikes! Maybe the cleaning people were just off the day we stayed but I didn't even want to walk on the floor in barefeet. The views from the hillside cabanas are gorgeous and the landscaping was nice. Brush up on your Spanish before arriving because the staff doesn't speak English.

Helpful?
5 Thank Travelcye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
0.6 mi away
Villa Botero By Casa Mojito
Villa Botero By Casa Mojito
#1 of 2 in Santa Clara
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
3.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Sirenas de Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Sirenas de Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins

Property: Las Sirenas de Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins
Address: 113 Km, Interamerican Highway, Rio Hato, Santa Clara, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front cabins for four people. More than a hotel it's a piece of paradise on earth. Comfort and nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Sirenas Hotel Santa Clara
Las Sirenas De Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing