We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice setting. Basic and relaxed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Sirenas de Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Sirenas de Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins
Ranked #2 of 2 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very nice setting. Basic and relaxed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Sweet appartments, extremely close to the calm nice beach. The little cabins are spacious (can sleep up to four in the beachfront ones). Equipment is basic (gas stove, pots and cuttlery, etc...) but do the job. Bathroom a bit small. Cool terrace with Hamoc and Parasol for beach.
Beach at 30m.... no one there, but it gets HOT. No real restaurants nearby, so nring food. They light BBQ for you. Nice. A bit pricey for what it is - but hey, lack of competition. I really wonder why they dont have a little pool. Space is there. Staff friendly. Things are clean. They say there is wifi, but didnt have signal in room (maybe around reception?). Aircon either cold or warm.... in bewteen i dindnt figure out. Bring mosquito spray!

Would come back.... but too pricey foir every weekend.

Room Tip: Number 1 is closes to beach. all others quite similar, and still close to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxygen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were hesitant to book a villa at las Sirenas due to some very negative critics we found on this site, but as we wanted to find a relaxing spot on the Pacific Coast of Panama, we decided to give it a try.

When we arrived at las Sirenas, we were delighted to discover the setting of these beautiful villas in the tropical garden overlooking the Pacific. Each of them has a little terrace with dining table and hammock, and a BBQ that the caretaker lights up for you whenever you want. He also advised to buy the freshest seafood possible at the nearby Mercado de Mariscos, and we enjoyed incredible seafood on our terrace for each meal.

The Villas themselves are perfectly equipped and, to our surprise after reading earlier comments, perfectly maintained and clean. For us Frenchmen, the kitchen contained everything you would need.

Another great surprise was to discover the beach at the bottom of the villas, with incredible white sand, and where you can make long walks totally on your own, without anyone in sight.

We loved this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bastille_Flat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 days, 4 of us, in one of the hilltop cabins. The cabin was very attractive, and there were flowers and blossoms on bushes and trees all around. We were on a birdwatching holiday, and were pleased to see red legged honeycreepers and orange-headed orioles in the pink flowering trees. Our hammock on our porch was super comfortable. As for accommodations, there was a bedroom for my wife and I, and our friends were on sofas in the main cabin room, that were comfortable enough for sleeping, but we needed to put up some silk fabric over the windows to give them privacy. It was just a little walk through a long flower-covered walkway to a lovely beach of soft sand. However, on the days that we were there, there were jellyfish in the water. We didn't see them, but we did get stung and others did too. Of course, that would have been up and down the beaches, all along the coast, likely. Overall, we were very pleased with the setting and the accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowgeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have stayed in similar cottages/hotels in Akumal, Mexico, Sedona, Arizona, Arenal Costa Rica, Playa Dulce, Guatemala, and this cottage was the most disgusting place we have stayed in a long time. Literally could not wait to leave. The first night there were no sheets for the kids' beds, there is no ac for the main room (or any sofa or any place to site) and when there was no key for the safety deposit box the hotel manager suggested we just place our valuables in the trunk of the car and park the car with the trunk facing our room. Overall I am just happy to be out of there and hope we didn't bring back any bed bugs or anything similar. The beach, by the way, is pretty but did appear to have some minor jellyfish. We knew that there was not pool but under the conditions it would have been nice to have any pluses at the location.

Room Tip: Stay away if you can, if you must maybe one of the cottages on the upper level at least delivers the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexico_lover111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hut are in general OK. Several things need to be improved to charge what they charge. For instance, the bed in the living room had not sheets, the kitchen needs some maintenance andmore cleaning. The staff makes you feel that they are doing a favour rather than servingor helping you. You can stay a night.
I mean the locationis very good. The facilities are OK, but the place is not maintained to a good standard.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The beach front location and the self-contained cabins make this a very comfortable, relaxing and fun place. They are older, but have been relatively well maintained and were clean. The sandy beach is great and a few steps away from the lower cabins. The undertow can be very strong and make swimming hazardous, but during our stay there were times when it was calm and delightful. The only downside was the front desk service. When we booked on line we never received any confirmation. It took us about half an hour to locate anyone when we arrived (afternoon) and when we finally found someone, he was extremely brusque. We met people the next day searching about for someone to check them in as well--and meanwhile the phone was ringing without answering.

Room Tip: 11 is the closest to the beach with the best and sunniest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

First and foremost, the location can't be beat. Situated right on the beautiful, wide beach in Santa Clara, Las Sirenas scores a perfect 10 in terms of location.

The rooms themselves are small town house style cabins, staggered to give a greater feeling of privacy. The cabins, unfortunately, are getting long in the tooth. Mold is creeping in, the mattresses are hard and the kitchen appliances are sub basic. But that only detracts slightly, as the charm of the location compensates for these shortcomings.

The personnel are mainly very helpful, with a reservations manager off site who is attentive and fluent in English. She always returned my emails promptly. The on site staff is exclusively Spanish speaking, and while the male "front desk" employee is brusque, the handyman who lights the grills and the maids are delightful.

The rooms up the hill are much larger then the ones located on the beach, but if your group is 4 or less, the smaller space shouldn't be a problem. In fact, if you are with kids, insist on getting a beach side cabin, preferably unit 10 or 11, which are closest to the water.

The surf here isn't conducive for swimming and the undertow is intense, but if you're a strong swimmer the warm ocean water is irresistible. Nearly empty during the week, the beach fills up on the weekends with locals from Panama City.

Avoid the restaurant down the beach for anything but drinks. The food is mediocre at best.

Bottom line: an affordable choice for a beach vacation that is truly on the beach.

Room Tip: Cabins 10 and 11 are closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
0.6 mi away
Villa Botero By Casa Mojito
Villa Botero By Casa Mojito
#1 of 2 in Santa Clara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
3.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Sirenas de Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Sirenas de Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins

Property: Las Sirenas de Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins
Address: 113 Km, Interamerican Highway, Rio Hato, Santa Clara, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front cabins for four people. More than a hotel it's a piece of paradise on earth. Comfort and nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Sirenas Hotel Santa Clara
Las Sirenas De Santa Clara - Beach Front Cabins Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing