We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Given it's in PANAMA!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Clara
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Given it's in PANAMA!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

So I'll start by saying, it's no Sheraton--by American standards--I was well aware of this when we booked, which is why I still give it 4 stars. Here's the thing--it's an all inclusive 2 hours from the capital on the coast, in Panama. Overall the resort and grounds are in pretty good shape. The restaurants are meh, the buffet food, was okay to meh, but the little pizza bar was always a good snack. The room was average, but we had a great view of the beach and pools form our 4th floor suite. The bed was very comfortable, but the room was really just for sleeping. Our safe was broken upon arrival--but was fixed after we called the front desk. There was free wi-fi in the lobby which was super useful. The pools were great. There were plenty of pools and enough room that people were spread out. Everything was surprisingly clean and the beach was fantastic! Great white sand--warm water, and a great view.

In terms of all inclusive--it was one of the best I've stayed at--it needs some work on the details--like fixing small broken things in the rooms, and work on the wait staff, and some small landscaping details. Many of the woman who worked there didn't seem to give a crap about you as a guest--the men however, did a very good job and seemed to work hard. It was night and day service between the men and woman which I found odd--typically its the opposite.

If you're looking for a getaway resort that isn't super crowded and doesn't have a hefty price tag--this is a good place to go. It's not 5 stars by any means, and with a little work could be a top notch resort in Panama.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Utah_Birdtographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    565
    345
    148
    113
See reviews for
530
612
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

From the check in process to the check out the staff was amazing. The room is great; large, exceptionally clean and comfortable. I have no understanding as to why the beach resorts have a huge and serious problem with the water pressure in the shower. This resort was no exception. The shower is barely past a trickle. The problem was reported but was not fixed. The food was barely acceptable. What makes no sense is that breakfast buffet on Sunday ends at 10:30am. There is nothing but bread to eat if you decide to sleep in on Sunday after indulging in the night before activities. I do feel the need to highlight three particular people that were exceptional: Sr. Santiago that received us upon check in, Piano Bar Bartender Srta. Cynthia that always had a smile on her face and was very caring and courteous, and the ever pleasant Srta. Irene Avalos that seemed to appear everywhere to make sure we had what was needed and that was in her control. I only wish the shower had a respectable amount of water pressure and that the food choices were more in line with the quality of the resort.

Room Tip: Ask to make sure the shower has enough water pressure in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldfalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

All inclusive!!! I was amazed how trained the workers are. Service impeccable, rooms and suite clean and ..no mildew ....the buffet and everything they cook is great...with the exception of the beach bar...where....it is normal...go..and fry...wings, french fries..and all the rest...but service is impeccable!!! Compliment to the trainer!

Room Tip: Any room or suite...but it is important to speak the language to get the service you want!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Where do I begin? We traveled for a wedding and nothing went right other than the nice view of the ocean once entered the lobby of the hotel. The hotel staff will tell you that they will take care of something and never will make sure it happens. For example, we arrived to only one washcloth and three towels. The next day I informed the person at the front desk of this and she assured me she would get us more towels, it took 90 minutes for fresh towels. Keep in mind it was 6pm when I told her about the issue....The food service is horrible. Especially at Coco solo by the pool. It took 50 minutes to get four chicken wings and French fries. If you don't speak the language you will be in the worst position ever. You have to make reservations at the two anchor restaurants. So inconvenient if you've traveled all day and looking for a good meal. You will be forced to eat at the buffet. The drinks are not great. You have to pay for grey goose or top shelf cognac. There was one bartender who was very pleasant at the bar in the lobby. I was happy to tip her. The remainder of the staff wasn't worth a penny. The beach is ok. They offer water activities and a kids club which is a plus.

Back to the wedding.....The hotel staff does not make it special day for the bride and groom. The hotel didn't communicate key information regarding the ceremony which caused confusion up to the last second. The hotel manager showed empathy but unfortunately no one else did.......

Lessons learned:
1. Great for kids
2. Not good for couples
3. Not good for those who want good food. It is edible at best.
4. Horrible service
5. Stay elsewhere when traveling to Panama
6. Lower expectations if you stay at Sheraton Bijao
7. Rooms are below average

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leroy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Clara hotels

Essen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for 3 days at Sheraton Bijao and can only praise the lovely architecture of the resort, its wonderful scenery on the beach and coastline, very pleasing food with a lovely terrace, and with a wide variety of restaurants for dinner. Especially, we appreciated the friendly helpful personnel who could also assist with further questions regarding places worth visiting in the near and further away regions of Panama. We are sure to come again any time soon.

Holger with wife and baby boy (July 2014, from Germany)

Room Tip: most rooms appear to look either directly to the beach, or have a view both onto garden/pool landsca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 243Holger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was invited to the resort for a friend's wedding. I enjoyed my stay there for relaxing and beautiful beach. There are different types of restaurants, one bar and one lounge. The food and drinks are included. I spent three days there and had so much delicious food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emahsieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

It was my 5th time at Sheraton Bijao, unfortunately it was quite disappointing. I found the the hotel lack of maintenance and the service and food were poor. The staff looked bored and dressed cheap. The food was also terrible in flavor and presentation. No comments about the cocktails. Bad. The breakfast was the best. There wasn't even proper napkins. My room wasn't well cleaned, black between tiles confirm it. The furniture looked deteriorated including the mattress and the poster, which is only "fancy" detail. The furniture and the floor at the swimming pool looked dirty. Entertainment terrible. I'm still wondering what happened. I hope things change. I will not go back until it happens.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Trinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.2 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
410 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
8.0 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
15.9 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Property: Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Address: Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a sprawling Panama beach along the serene Pacific Ocean, our all-inclusive resort has everything you could want for total relaxation. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, Sheraton Bijao is complimented by celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and historic Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama. Come together and share experiences in our warm Club Lounge as well as the resorts 4 restaurants and private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bijao Beach Hotel Santa Clara
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort Panama/Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing