We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, but max 3 stars, not very oriented towards american visitors.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Clara
lincoln, ri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, but max 3 stars, not very oriented towards american visitors.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Food was ok. They serve traditional panamian options for breakfast and lunch and then you can choose either ine of the restaurants on premises or a dinner buffet. our favorite, and the most liked based on food was medeteranian. Rooms were clean but need some cosmetic updates, paint is falling off, etc. walls are extremely thin, every morning we were woken uo by either neighbors or people movibg stuff outside. its best if you get a room closer to the ocean vs overloiking the resort. trust me, it gets really loud on the weekends when they experience the peak times and you ll feel like your room does not have windows. staff was friendly but verry little english. on the first day we almost missed lunch because of that. This hotel is definitely a lower class that it is being advertised...three stars max.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Ms. Katrina50

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sheraton experience at our Trip Advisor Portal and for giving us your comments. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We are glad you enjoyed at our Mediterranean Restaurant “Los Olivos”, we will forward your feedback to our Food and Beverage team for they can be proud of it and keep giving their best. In the other hand, thank you for your suggestions for our rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the noise.

We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

If you have any further comments please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    565
    345
    149
    113
See reviews for
531
612
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The room is very spartan. They have 1-king or 2-doubles—we were able to get a cot tucked in to comfortably sleep the 4 of us. Very basic rooms , no extras, or warmth/character? Maybe I am over-cautious, but I thought the balconies appeared dangerous for kids. That being said, the girls loved the waterslide, there was mostly always a lifeguard watching, the swim-up bar was right in the middle, so you could watch the kids, the food was fine—such a large variety! We ate at the hibachi restaurant one night and had an enjoyable dinner. The kids joined the kids’ show one night—it really helped that they had spent a couple of hours in kids’ club that day eating pizza and playing—they were familiar with the other kids and the girl that ran it. Piano bar upstairs was very nice—good player, nice bartenders, good crowd. While we didn’t swim at the beach, the waves were quite high, you can walk for a long ways in either direction. What really made the resort a nice finish to our driving trip was the crowd. We were there on a weekend and it had a really nice Panamanian and international crowd. Outside of the rooms, we had a nice time. Good pedicure. Nice gym.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevators! Noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Ms. Brian

We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay with your family. Our Housekeeping Department is aware of your comments and has taken steps to ensure appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned, thank you for your suggestions. We deeply value your relationship with out hotel and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us. Hope to have you back on the near future.


Best Regards,

Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

good service,good location,need to improve the buffet because is poor bad deserts not to much choices on food.
good activities.
i would recommend it for short vacations.
a little bit overpriced since they have no good food no show at night.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tabatha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Ms. Tabatha36

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion in our Trip Advisor portal. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

Our Food and Beverage Department is aware of your comments and has taken steps to ensure appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced.

We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

- Recommended for a duration of 3 nights and 4 days, beyond which it gets a bit boring
- Ocean View facing rooms are obviously a good choice, but at the end it does not matter much as you spend most of the time outside
- Since this is all inclusive, is a win-win for both the hotel and guests. However the quality sometimes suffers on mass production. For eg if you order an omelette, it is thrown on a massive hot plate, maybe at a given time 4 such would be firing up. In other places, dedicated pans and proper time give a better quality. Many restaurants to choose from, and for some advance reservation is required. Sakura, the Japanese one is recommended with the chef preparing the food in front of a group.
- The beach is bit black because of the volcanic silt. But recommended to walk about 1-2 kms on each side. Nice views and walks are very refreshing, very picturesque.
- There are daily activities from the hotel, such as Salsa dancing - gives a chance to shake a leg if you never done before, Aerobics in the swimming pool - this was really enjoyable and bigger the group more the fun...teen room with X-box, pool table, kids room, gym if all the food makes you feel heavy....
- It rained while we were in the pool, so that was extra fun...
- The bar offers different cocktails, to try.
- Only downside was that inspite of the 3 nights stay and repeated requests, my room locker was not fixed. On arrival there was no soap, shampoo or towels which was though fixed shortly.
- One extra tip : Couple of kilometers there is Santa Clara beach....there is a nice natural creation worth checking out...

Room Tip: - Ocean View facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yezdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Yezdee

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Bijao, we appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedbacks are very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our service. We apologize for the inconveniences in your room, our Housekeeping Department is aware of your comments and has taken steps to ensure appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned.

If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us.
Hope to have you back on the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed during 3 nights at the Sheraton Bijao as part of longer trip throughout Panama. Overall we had a great time. Hotel is great for both couples of families and offers the facilities and service level you would expect from an average Sheraton (3½***). You can really see that staff try their best, but sometimes lack a bit of training.

Rooms are basic but very funccional. We enjoyed the great ocean view. The bed is also up to the Sheraton standards. Anyways, in this type of resort, you do not spend your day in your room. Internet is free and works well.

Pools are great and not crowded. The beach is also very nice and quiet. There are warnings on the beach to be carefull with sting rays, but the beach and swim area are marked out with a net in the ocean, which, according to life guard protects swimers from the sting rays. Be carefull with your beach towels because they make a strict accounting of their beach towels ! To have to care about it was a small irritant to our vacations to tell the truth.

Food ranges from average to good depending on which option you choose. Tried 2 of their à la carte restaurants: they are the among the better options, but do not expect anything outstanding. Each restaurant is opened on a rotation basis every 3 nights. If you want to reserve in one of the 3 à la carte restaurants, you need to do it from 9am to 11am, and you cannot reserve in advance for the next day.

***Beware of the following***
The main irritant by far were a group of sales persons from a Colombian company working in the public areas of the hotel trying to sell you an "investment" in a "club" giving you discounts on hotel rooms for life. They are very insistent and I got traped to listen to their sale pitch. I don't know if it is, but at least looks like a scam : they pressure you to make a decision on the spot, you cannot take out any documentation, and they don't have a website. I don't understand how Sheraton can partner with this. This is how they operate (or at least with us): A young person approached us telling my wife and I that she's stuying tourism and that she's doing an internship and that as part of her course she needs to make a 20 to 30 minute presentation. She said people attenting would receive a gift since the programme is sponsored by Visa and MasterCard. She stayed very vague. She insisted that we had to show up, otherwise she'll be into troubles. When we showed up the next morning for the presentation, the "student" wasn't there anymore and two professional salesmen made the presentation. We lost 1 hour of sun time ! Stay away from them. They are hard to avoid because at first you can easily mistake them for hotel staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pigeonvoyageur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Mr/Miss Pigeonvoyageur2

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for your comments shared in our Trip Advisor Portal.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with good food and service. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the club vacation. We appreciate your feedback this will help us to take actions and improve our service.

We hope to have you back soon again

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our first trip to Panama was wonderful. The Resort, although not brand new was very clean and we saw employees constantly working at keeping it clean and tidy. The pools were clean and many to choose from. The little huts by the beach seemed to be perfect. Close to refreshment and far enough away from others if you choose to be.
There were many items to choose from on the buffet. You could find ask for omelets, or grilled meats. The breads were wonderful. many kinds of fresh juices. My best meal there was at the Mediterranean . The fillet was excellent.
Each and every employee I came in contact with did the best to ensure what I was asking for was complete. This is a very nice hotel . Our room faced the pool and was quite noisy on the weekends. We went to fun. The younger people had fun! It is a good environment for children also. Our morning walks by the sea were perfect. The current is very strong and swimming was not really a good option when we were there. The pools more than make up for it.
We went on day trips to El Valle and Panama Canal. The train ride was enjoyable but fast moving. (You are not going to see many birds or animals unless the train stops). The Water served was good and no one got sick on food or anything else.
It rained almost daily and then the days were comfortable.
All in all we would go back if it were not so far from Panama. We spent over 12 hours travel in our day coming to & going home. But it unspoiled and beautiful.

Room Tip: 2216 Ocean View is above the pool area. Beautiful view and is loud when the DJ is out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. Donna C

We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at our Sheraton Bijao on TripAdvisor. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

We feel very good with the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you were able to enjoy our food, rooms and facilities,

We adeeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

If you have any other comments or suggestion feel free to contact us and we definitely hope to have you back in the near future.



Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is your average 3-star property......except.....
except the food is delicious, especially for a buffet... except the service is acrually pretty good ..... except it has a waterslide... except the kid's club kept my kuds entertained with games, arts and crafts and they didn't want to leave.....and it's included.

My tips: weekends sre way too croweded. The buffet is a better deal than the restaurants, however, k eould makes early restaurant reservayions and if you are not satisfied, the buffet is still open. Upgrade the rooms are nicer. Intetnet is free in the lobby and restaurant. No enough outlets in the room....

Room Tip: As you face the ocean, stay out of the corner rooms as the echos will keep you up late. Views are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntoineFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs. AntoineFam

We really appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sheraton Bijao on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our facilities, our Kids Club and food.

We hope to have you back soon again so we can provide the quality and attention that you and your family deserve.

Any additional comments, please contact us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.2 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
410 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
8.0 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
15.9 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Property: Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Address: Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a sprawling Panama beach along the serene Pacific Ocean, our all-inclusive resort has everything you could want for total relaxation. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, Sheraton Bijao is complimented by celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and historic Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama. Come together and share experiences in our warm Club Lounge as well as the resorts 4 restaurants and private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bijao Beach Hotel Santa Clara
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort Panama/Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing