We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got what we've payed for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Got what we've payed for...”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went with kids 3 and 7 on 2013 spring break.

Long bus ride from airport... 1.5 hour

Room was just okay.

Resort was Extremely noisy. Service ranged between non-existant to extremely rude. Very Sub-par from Sheraton standards. Felt like a cheap 3 star hotel in Cuba.

A lot of noisy locals on the weekend.

Beach was dark sand, huge waves. No chance of swimming with kids in the sea. Never mind the stingrays.

Food was poor quality, not much choice. Horrible house wine when you managed to finally get a glass.

Would never go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ohhhhyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. Ohhyeahh,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our survey. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your or our own expectations in all the points that you have mentioned before.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced. We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    558
    333
    143
    111
See reviews for
514
605
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have to say the resort is pretty, plenty of chairs at the pool and the cascading pools were clean and had a great setting. Restaurants were nothing special but ok. That said,If you want to leave for any excursions most are to Panama City!((a few hours drive). The people who worked at the hotel were not very helpful except a lovely assurance manager ,Jeniffer Campusano who tried VERY hard to accommodate us without success. We wanted to do ANY XTreme adventure from the resort but everyday we had to wait for a variety of reasons( tide too high, tide too low, not enough people, too many people signed up,the instructor just had a baby,forgot to call you.... And on it went). If you just want to lay out in the sun, go to the beach and eat mediocre food it was fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mrs. Lucy,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at our Sheraton Bijao. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay with the xtreme adventures.

At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

What a great value and fun stay at this beachside resort. Considering the amount of people being served, the food was good
Our room was nothing luxurious but was clean and efficient. Try to get a view to beach or to front- the views to either side are not good.
Loved the open air lobby. Great pool and beach facilities. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Dbenners,

We are delighted to read that your expectations were met, that you enjoyed our beautiful beach, our food , our great pool, our lovely open air lobby and our friendly staff. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We hope to have you back in the near future Mr. Dbenners.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in an ocean view suite. The resort is amazing; clean and comfortable. Variety of food choices and rerstaurants were excellent. The piano bar was fantastic and very ralaxing before and after dinner. After hiking/birding our backsides off for two weeks the the 3 days at Bijao was a welcome respite. The perfect end to a perfect vacation. Thank you Pananman and all your beautiful people!

Room Tip: The ocean view suite was convenienlty located to everything...especially the beach and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidVanDyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear. Mr. DavidVanDyke,

We are more than happy with the fact that you were able to enjoy our variety of restaurants, our environment, our clean property, the great piano bar and especially our wonderful people who work every day to give our guest a unique and unforgettable stay. Your comments are very important and we deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao.

We hope to have you back soon with us Mr. David. Any other further comments, feel free to contact us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Bijao over spring break March 2013. We booked 2 rooms - an ocean view suite and an ocean view double queen. Both rooms were clean and we had the good fortune to have a new bed and new TV's installed in our suite during our stay.

The ocean view suite is literally 30 steps from the beach. That was perhaps the most fabulous part of our stay - great proximity to the beach, pools, and bars. The beach was like any West Coast Pacific beach I have ever been to - decent sand, but the ocean was unpredictable and surprisingly cold. That said - the weather was fantastic and we loved just hanging out under a palapa on the beach.

The food was moderate to good, with flashes of brilliance. The manager/chef of the Los Olivos restaurant knows his/her stuff. The Tepyinaki (sp) restaurant was fun - great show by the chefs both times we went there. I was disappointing to get the Montezuma's revenge the night we went for the 2nd time however. I think the chef that night was a bit too quick on the cooking time for my calamari. I recommend you get them to cook the seafood a bit longer. I was the only one affected, and the hotel had an on-site doctor who took good care of me when the situation did not resolve itself. Hopefully our insurance will pick up the tab when we get home, but it was nice that we did not have to leave the resort to get competent care for something.

Areas to improve - my wife has a celiac type allergy to gluten. We notified the resort in advance of our visit and despite meeting the chef to discuss it - he was thoroughly uninterested in assisting her during our visit. The contrast between a Club Med or a Sandals is marked. A virtual lack of English speaking employees, combined with a massive gap in general guest management. There was no orientation to the property. When I asked about this, it was as if I had requested a rocket ship. There is no map of the property anywhere, and no amenities book in your room to help you sort out how things work. The staff were not unpleasant, but they also have had no formal hospitality training. Why is there no options for wine? Why did we basically have the exact same red wine every night and a different one at lunch, but you could not switch the two? Why was there only 2, and no option to pay for a nicer bottle should you choose?

Having spent years in the hospitality industry, and as a consumer of the services and properties in this industry - I can tell that management is not internationally experienced and that this franchise location of the Sheraton brand is working towards excellence, but is not there yet.

I have nothing to overtly dissuade anyone from visiting the property, but please do not expect a Club Med level experience with the staff, the food, the entertainment, or the activities.

In summary - this is a great property that happens to feed you and serve you all the drinks you can take.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra cost and get the ocean view suite - totally changes the experience for the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Dwayne,

Thank you for taking the time to write these lines and for giving your comments. These comments are very important to us. On the one hand we are very happy that you enjoyed our property, our beautiful beach and the facilities and one of our restaurants. Definitely, we are actively working to improve our service level and also working in all the previous points you have highlighted. We apologized for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay.
We hope to have you back soon again so we can provide the quality and attention that you and your family deserve.

Any additional comments, please contact us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Panama beaches are not like those found in FLorida, New Jersey or California. Most are rocky but here you can walk into the water without much fear of rocks. So if you are a beach lover you would like it here. Rooms are nice and roomy with good bathrooms. Staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed in an ocean view room and it had a slider door facing the ocean but no balcony. Balcony rooms are $30 more a night.
The large pool area has it all! Water slide, swim up bar, umbrellas, chaises, chaises in the water, and availability in the seating areas. Not crowded as some of the All-inclusives here in Panama and we had a great deal of fun and relaxation. The entertainment staff offers water aerobics, twice a day, Bingo and assorted water sports if you want to join in after taking three naps. A show at night (9:30) ends the evening on a high note.
Food is ok and better than other All Inclusives I have stayed in. Don't go for the food but for the peaceful feeling you get knowing you are there just to relax, have some great drinks (The Spanish Coffe in hte Lobby bar is unbelievable) have your meals prepared for you in either of the four restaurants - one is a buffet. The steak house was closed when we were there- so you might want to ask if any are closed during the dates you will be there.
Staff is helpful and very nice. I would stay again. Thanks for the great time.......

Room Tip: Can get your nails done here at he Spa. Ask for Tara.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skubie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mrs. Skubie87,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the Sheraton Bijao we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best .We hope to have you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This really was a nice place to stay, and at ~$120/day per person (all inclusive) was an incredible value. Top shelf drinks, the beach is very relaxing, the rooms are clean, and the scenary is exquisite. We had a fantastic time and wouldnt hesitate about returning.

There are three types of people I wouldnt recommend this resort for:
1). Older people - the steps are sometimes very steep, slate or ceramic, and probably wouldnt pass code in the US
2). Foodies - If you are going on vacation, strictly because you are looking for fantastic food, then go to Cancun. This place has average food by US or Mexico resort standards
3). People who are going to complain about the lack of English - hey its Panama, and their official language is Spanish. So, either get use to it or go somewhere else.

We chose this resort because of the value, the scenary, and because of the guarantee of hot/sunny weather and werent disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Sheraton Bijao we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.
We hope to have you back soon again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.2 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
399 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
8.0 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
15.9 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Property: Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Address: Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a sprawling Panama beach along the serene Pacific Ocean, our all-inclusive resort has everything you could want for total relaxation. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, Sheraton Bijao is complimented by celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and historic Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama. Come together and share experiences in our warm Club Lounge as well as the resorts 4 restaurants and private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bijao Beach Hotel Santa Clara
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort Panama/Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing