We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

What a great value and fun stay at this beachside resort. Considering the amount of people being served, the food was good
Our room was nothing luxurious but was clean and efficient. Try to get a view to beach or to front- the views to either side are not good.
Loved the open air lobby. Great pool and beach facilities. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Dbenners,

We are delighted to read that your expectations were met, that you enjoyed our beautiful beach, our food , our great pool, our lovely open air lobby and our friendly staff. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We hope to have you back in the near future Mr. Dbenners.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in an ocean view suite. The resort is amazing; clean and comfortable. Variety of food choices and rerstaurants were excellent. The piano bar was fantastic and very ralaxing before and after dinner. After hiking/birding our backsides off for two weeks the the 3 days at Bijao was a welcome respite. The perfect end to a perfect vacation. Thank you Pananman and all your beautiful people!

Room Tip: The ocean view suite was convenienlty located to everything...especially the beach and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidVanDyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear. Mr. DavidVanDyke,

We are more than happy with the fact that you were able to enjoy our variety of restaurants, our environment, our clean property, the great piano bar and especially our wonderful people who work every day to give our guest a unique and unforgettable stay. Your comments are very important and we deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao.

We hope to have you back soon with us Mr. David. Any other further comments, feel free to contact us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Bijao over spring break March 2013. We booked 2 rooms - an ocean view suite and an ocean view double queen. Both rooms were clean and we had the good fortune to have a new bed and new TV's installed in our suite during our stay.

The ocean view suite is literally 30 steps from the beach. That was perhaps the most fabulous part of our stay - great proximity to the beach, pools, and bars. The beach was like any West Coast Pacific beach I have ever been to - decent sand, but the ocean was unpredictable and surprisingly cold. That said - the weather was fantastic and we loved just hanging out under a palapa on the beach.

The food was moderate to good, with flashes of brilliance. The manager/chef of the Los Olivos restaurant knows his/her stuff. The Tepyinaki (sp) restaurant was fun - great show by the chefs both times we went there. I was disappointing to get the Montezuma's revenge the night we went for the 2nd time however. I think the chef that night was a bit too quick on the cooking time for my calamari. I recommend you get them to cook the seafood a bit longer. I was the only one affected, and the hotel had an on-site doctor who took good care of me when the situation did not resolve itself. Hopefully our insurance will pick up the tab when we get home, but it was nice that we did not have to leave the resort to get competent care for something.

Areas to improve - my wife has a celiac type allergy to gluten. We notified the resort in advance of our visit and despite meeting the chef to discuss it - he was thoroughly uninterested in assisting her during our visit. The contrast between a Club Med or a Sandals is marked. A virtual lack of English speaking employees, combined with a massive gap in general guest management. There was no orientation to the property. When I asked about this, it was as if I had requested a rocket ship. There is no map of the property anywhere, and no amenities book in your room to help you sort out how things work. The staff were not unpleasant, but they also have had no formal hospitality training. Why is there no options for wine? Why did we basically have the exact same red wine every night and a different one at lunch, but you could not switch the two? Why was there only 2, and no option to pay for a nicer bottle should you choose?

Having spent years in the hospitality industry, and as a consumer of the services and properties in this industry - I can tell that management is not internationally experienced and that this franchise location of the Sheraton brand is working towards excellence, but is not there yet.

I have nothing to overtly dissuade anyone from visiting the property, but please do not expect a Club Med level experience with the staff, the food, the entertainment, or the activities.

In summary - this is a great property that happens to feed you and serve you all the drinks you can take.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra cost and get the ocean view suite - totally changes the experience for the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwayner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Mr. Dwayne,

Thank you for taking the time to write these lines and for giving your comments. These comments are very important to us. On the one hand we are very happy that you enjoyed our property, our beautiful beach and the facilities and one of our restaurants. Definitely, we are actively working to improve our service level and also working in all the previous points you have highlighted. We apologized for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay.
We hope to have you back soon again so we can provide the quality and attention that you and your family deserve.

Any additional comments, please contact us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Panama beaches are not like those found in FLorida, New Jersey or California. Most are rocky but here you can walk into the water without much fear of rocks. So if you are a beach lover you would like it here. Rooms are nice and roomy with good bathrooms. Staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed in an ocean view room and it had a slider door facing the ocean but no balcony. Balcony rooms are $30 more a night.
The large pool area has it all! Water slide, swim up bar, umbrellas, chaises, chaises in the water, and availability in the seating areas. Not crowded as some of the All-inclusives here in Panama and we had a great deal of fun and relaxation. The entertainment staff offers water aerobics, twice a day, Bingo and assorted water sports if you want to join in after taking three naps. A show at night (9:30) ends the evening on a high note.
Food is ok and better than other All Inclusives I have stayed in. Don't go for the food but for the peaceful feeling you get knowing you are there just to relax, have some great drinks (The Spanish Coffe in hte Lobby bar is unbelievable) have your meals prepared for you in either of the four restaurants - one is a buffet. The steak house was closed when we were there- so you might want to ask if any are closed during the dates you will be there.
Staff is helpful and very nice. I would stay again. Thanks for the great time.......

Room Tip: Can get your nails done here at he Spa. Ask for Tara.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skubie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Mrs. Skubie87,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the Sheraton Bijao we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best .We hope to have you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This really was a nice place to stay, and at ~$120/day per person (all inclusive) was an incredible value. Top shelf drinks, the beach is very relaxing, the rooms are clean, and the scenary is exquisite. We had a fantastic time and wouldnt hesitate about returning.

There are three types of people I wouldnt recommend this resort for:
1). Older people - the steps are sometimes very steep, slate or ceramic, and probably wouldnt pass code in the US
2). Foodies - If you are going on vacation, strictly because you are looking for fantastic food, then go to Cancun. This place has average food by US or Mexico resort standards
3). People who are going to complain about the lack of English - hey its Panama, and their official language is Spanish. So, either get use to it or go somewhere else.

We chose this resort because of the value, the scenary, and because of the guarantee of hot/sunny weather and werent disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Sheraton Bijao we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.
We hope to have you back soon again!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through a travel agent knowing very little about it and spent 6 nights there. We were traveling with another couple and both enjoyed the hotel. We have stayed at quite a few all-inclusives and this was perhaps not as great as some, but we thought, a good value for the price. We spoke to another American couple like us, who agreed with us that it was a great place to stay. Contrary to some of the other reviews I read, we thought it was really quiet. There was not a lot of loud music and place seemed to shut down almost completely by 10 PM. Perhaps it was the time year, but the hotel did not appear to be full. The food and drinks were good. We tried all three of the specialty restaurants and liked all of them. The beach is beautiful but somewhat dangerous with a strong undertow. Again, perhaps due to the time of year, beginning of March. I am a good swimmer but was almost carried away by the undertow, and was saved by 2 lifeguards and my husband. We were impressed with the fact that they even had lifeguards. There was free wifi available in the restaurant and lobby. If you wanted it in your room it was $15/day. Common area wifi was good enough for me. We took one excursion to El Valle, otherwise, as others have stated, the hotel is quite isolated but we were completely satisfied, as we were going to Panama City for 3 days following our stay here. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emjayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Emjayp,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our survey and for giving us your comments and suggestions. We are actively working to improve service levels in our food quality and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service to our guest.
Hope you can visit us again, in that way you will experience all the changes we are implementing thanks to the feedback we receive from our guests.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is definitely not a 5 Star hotel and I know a lot of 4 Star hotels which are better than this. But Sheraton Bijao is not bad for the money we spent.

As we arrived on the first day (we stayed 5 nights) we got our keys and some information. No welcome drink - no smile - nothing.

This is a hotel with "All-In". You will get a lot of drinks and food for your money. We have tested all speciality restaurants, but the food is not better than avarage. At 10 am you will get your first drink if you want. And the bar in the main building will close after midnight. Margaritas, Mojitos and international Whiskeys for free and so many as you can afford.

This hotel has only one swimming-pool which is deeper than 1ft. And it is real crowded. But there is also a swim-up bar, a white beach and we had calm water. Nice to swim in the Pacific Ocean.

This hotel seems to be aged. Our room cried for renovation. It was clean (but we have not checked hidden corners).

This is also a "fun" hotel, where you can have a lot of "fun" for your money. Sports on the beach and swimming pool. Every evening a show of 45 minutes at the beach. Nice to lay in a beach chair, to watch it, to have a drink and after that to watch the stars.

Summary: If you want to have fun, a lot of food and endless cocktails, this hotel is yours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterjocsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Peter,

Thank you for taking the time for giving us your comments and suggestions. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are actively working to improve service levels and your comment has proved to be invaluable. We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.
Thank you for your preference.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.2 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
433 reviews
9.4 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas
8 mi away
The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort

Address: Carretera Interamericana km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range: $173 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a sprawling Panama beach along the serene Pacific Ocean, Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All-Inclusive Resort has everything you could want for total relaxation. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, our all-inclusive resort in Guias de Anton, Santa Clara, Panama is complimented by celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and historic Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama. Come together and share experiences in our warm Club Lounge as well as the resorts 4 restaurants and private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bijao Beach Hotel Santa Clara
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort Panama/Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing