We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had just come from the city to the beach. Check in was slow, but they offered us cool drinks while in Panamanian attire. At first, had a room with 2 beds overlooking the pool, but asked if we could get a king bed. Had to wait for it so just went down to the beach and had drinks. Kind of "over" the whole wristband thing at all-inclusives, but went with it. We got our room, which now had a view of the partially constructed condo development next door, but it did have a balcony. Noticed that the first room had a large shower and this room had a tub/shower. If you have a preference, be sure to ask. The air conditioning was nice and cool. The food that night and the next morning at breakfast was pretty average. The drinks were good. They had karaoke on the patio until 10 pm. Lots of beachfront for walking and birdwatching. Manuel Noriega's old place is just down the beach. Nice looking golf course and residential area on the drive in from the highway.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, be sure to ask for one. Also, there is a pool view (which might be loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you sharing with us your experience. We areactively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. . We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and arecommitted to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    558
    333
    143
    111
See reviews for
514
605
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Since previously Breezes chain the quality has gone from 10 to 4 , good service, great location , bad maintenance, but the food is as low and basic as you can get, don't expect a 4 star hotel !!
We have come 3 times in four year and if there is not an enormous change I will not come back .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fcovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced. Our food and beverage department is aware of your comments and have taken steps to ensure an appropriate solutions.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Clara hotels

Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Checkin went smoothly. Our room was large with a partial ocean view. The room was lacking in outlets and there were bedside tables with lamps but no outlets to plug the lamps into. The bathroom was large and well appointed but the only shower was in the tub. Short people or those with disabilities would have trouble getting in and out of the tub.
The resort itself was lovely. The multilevel, meandering pool was great with plenty of room. The swim up bar was great and the beach was awesome. The beach was nice; uncrowded, nice sand, lots of shells.
We ate at the Japanese restaurant and the buffet and were satisfied with both. Overall, my hubby loved the free drinks and food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with good food and service.
Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level ofservice simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We hope to have you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Panama
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Of the all-inclusive resorts in Panama, five are within 12 kilometers of each other in The Pacific Beaches. There is a reason for that. This area has the best beaches and the best weather in Panama. They are all in what is called "The Dry Arch", which gets more days of sunshine than any other area of Panama.
Of all the Pacific Beach resorts - The Royal Decameron, Playa Blanca, Buenaventura, The Royalton and The Sheraton Bijou - Bijou is my favorite. First of all, it is the only resort on Santa Clara beach, easily the best beach on the Pacific coast. Secondly it is the second prettiest (next to Buenaventura) but half the price. It has 5 or 6 great restaurants, including a fantastic Japanese sushi restaurant. I have friends who live there, otherwise I would take advantage of the all-day pass available to visitors - treat yourself - try a weekend.

Room Tip: I have not stayed there, but I put my CEO up there with her family and they loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chocolate666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao we will forward your comments to our staffmembers as we normally do, to keep them motivated and continue providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. . We look forward to having you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our stay was in June of this year, and I understand that this property had just recently been taken over by Sheraton. Having said that, and having just come from a wonderful hotel in Bocas del Toro, we still enjoyed our stay here. The check in process was perhaps not the smoothest, as it was not done at a typical front desk registration, but more of a convention area, where we received our wristbands at long banquet type tables. After check in however, we very much enjoyed the all inclusive food, drink, and amenities that this property offered.
The pools are lovely with plenty of lounge chairs, we particularly enjoyed the small thatched cabanas looking out over the ocean.The bartenders made wonderful drinks, the mojitos particularly were amazing, made with fresh mint and limes every single time. The food was tasty and nicely prepared in a buffet style, except for the specialty restaurants that were by reservation only, but we had no problems getting in on our four night stay. The room was spacious and clean with a wonderful balcony looking across the pools to the ocean.The hotel does show a little bit of its age in the room decor, but has very comfortable beds with plenty of pillows and clean white linen.
The bottom line is this is a great place to relax and enjoy the amenities and not have to look at the right side of the menu for the price. All inclusive is totally all inclusive here, no hidden fees, just enjoy.

Room Tip: Enjoy at least one room service breakfast served on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tybeeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at check in. We appreciate your feedback this will help us to improve our service.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Not the typical Starwood hotel. It is an all inclusive hotel and it may have started off as a Breezes type before they rebranded to Starwood. First start with the good - nice location on the beach some of the staff was friendly.

Now the bad - service was non existent and some of the mangers were rude. There is no clock in the hotel anywhere (lobby, restaurants, meeting rooms) and equally no awareness of time for the staff. We were with a large group and gave the hotel our schedule when we arrived. The meeting room was locked every time we needed it. We had to track down the person with the key and this typically took 30 minutes while everyone waited patiently outside. The hotel had water for us about 1/2 the time and the a/c only 1/2 the time in the meeting room.Our group had to wait 30 minutes and pay for the bus an extra 30 minutes because the hotel was running late and could not provide towels for our day trip.

We had paid for a deluxe ocean suit and was given a downgrade to a jr. suite. When we asked the check in desk they said the room was what was booked even after we showed them paperwork to the contrary. Even when I provided a platinum number, they offered no upgrade and the free wifi in the room didn't work. The bathroom tub did not drain properly so anytime a shower was taken, the drain on the bathroom floor would back up and spread dirty shower water all over the floor. We complained to the quality manager who said sorry but offered nothing to correct the situation for any of the issues - the shower still backed up dirty water on the floor, we were still in the jr suite and they did not offer us a refund, the hotel did not offer us a refund for the extra 30 minutes we had to rent the bus nor the times we could not use the room, and the list went on and on. I literally spent 1-2 hours every day trying to fix things the staff could not get right like open the meeting room, where are the towels, turn on the a/c, etc.

Even getting the front desk to call a manager was an issue - at first they refused and literally turned their back to me. I had to ask the next day for a manager with a different staff. The lack of training and accountability to fix simple problems was what I expect in a cheap motel, not a Starwood beach property. Every time I brought up an issue with the staff I was told how this was not their problem - it was the booking system, the manger is out, we must have made a mistake, they didn't know when we needed the meeting room (even though we gave them a print out of our schedule), etc. I had to tell them how to fix all their problems since nobody seemed to think it was their responsibility, and even then they wouldn't do some simple things such as have someone fix our shower drain or refund us for the room we booked. Unbelievable the lack of training or empathy in the staff. One manager was exceptionally rude to us when there were not enough seats in the restaurant buffet area and some of the group wanted to take food up to the room. We were told nobody could take plates to their room and everyone had to pay for room service instead. The food was free (part of the all inclusive) but you have to pay to take a plate to your room (room service) even when there are not enough seats - I don't get it. When I told the quality manger I would complain to Starwood corporate if she didn't try to correct the issues we had, her response was go ahead, I don't care. That sums up the customer service.

Room Tip: Beach view is nice. Explain to them if you are a platinum starwood member, they have to give you an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skim500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Skim500

Many thanks for your comments.

Your account of the events related to your last visit to our hotel is inaccurate. We tried to accommodate all your requests and those of your group, even though most of them were not agreed upon when making the reservation for your activities and some of them against hotel’s policy.

Some of your complaints referred to our refusal to allow you and members of your group to carry out activities that were against health and safety regulations. For all these instances, we offered you alternative actions at no cost to you or members of your group. It is regrettable that you perceived them as ill behavior in our part.

Thank you sharing with us your experience. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My adult daughter, husband, and I had a relaxation 4 days at the Sheraton Bijao in September, 2012. Luis, at the front desk, was always ready to help us with any problems we had, such as wet floors in one room, that just would not dry in the 94% humidity. He was able to move us to an ocean view room with better air conditioning that was the needed improvement. He made dinner reservations and even got coffee made for us to take on our early morning road trip back to our flight from Panama City. Luis was always smiling and eager to make us comfortable.
Contrary to several reviews we had read, we enjoy a varied and tasty buffet for breakfast and lunch each day. We ate dinners at the two reserved restaurants, Japanese and Mediterranean, and found the food and service excellent. Our stay was Sunday through Thursday, which was perfect as the hotel was not crowded, and we were able to find ample lounges both at the beach and at the pool. The pool bar and hotel bar service were also good. The gym was convenient and clean, and we would highly recommend the reasonably- priced massages and pedicures at the spa. The ladies there were wonderful, and having the sauna available was a plus. Overall, we were pleased with the resort and the service.
True, the resort is isolated, but if you enjoy long beach walks and time to relax and unwind, thi is good spot.
M

Room Tip: The ocean view building number 3 is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. Luis is an exceptional staff member; we will forward your comments to him as we normally do with all our staff members.

We look forward to having you back.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.2 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
399 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
8.0 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
15.9 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Property: Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Address: Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a sprawling Panama beach along the serene Pacific Ocean, our all-inclusive resort has everything you could want for total relaxation. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, Sheraton Bijao is complimented by celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and historic Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama. Come together and share experiences in our warm Club Lounge as well as the resorts 4 restaurants and private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bijao Beach Hotel Santa Clara
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort Panama/Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing