We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“xs memories the worst place in Panama”
Review of XS Memories

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
XS Memories
Nice, France
2 reviews
“xs memories the worst place in Panama”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

last week we were in Panama during the carnaval, it's a crazy time and difficult to find an accomodation at the last moment. We find only this terrible and expensive place for sleep 70 usd without breakfeast.... the bed is horrible with very bad sheets. no air conditionned. 2 poor towels, dirty with the noise of the road next. In the morning we ask for a coffeee the american owner is not friendly at all. we paid 5 dollars and then we left because we were not welcome....
NEVER go there because you feel very bad.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nadine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This place is really outdated. The place is also for sale, so I guess that no further investments will be made. We do not recommend this place for the following reasons
1. The staff is moody and look as if everything is too much asked
2. The sheets are so thin, you can see right through it
3. The airco makes a terrible noise, so you cannot use it when you go to sleep
4. the 'sports bar' smells very musty
5. Cats were all over the table; where people have to eat!!!
6. The rooms are spacious but outdated
This place might be useful if you are passing through, but definitely not stay here for fun, or for the beaches.
The day of arrival, we decided to stay here just one night, instead of three. Our decision made the owners so mad, that they become very unfriendly and at the payment, they raised up the room rate from 50 to 60 dollars

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lassie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Clara hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We drove to Panama with our RV from Colorado and parked it here with full hookups for a long-term stay. I can tell you that after 6,000 miles it was great to find a safe place to unwind!! Dennis and Sheila are such great people and have a beautiful property. They were very welcoming and we felt very much at home. Being new to the area, they were helpful with pointing us in the right direction with all of our questions. XS is in a great location. The Santa Clara beach is just a short drive away. We thoroughly enjoyed their pool. I think we swam every day. If Sheila's chicken pot pie is on special, make sure you order it! They also have some amazing birds on the property. They were great enough to watch our RV and dogs while we traveled the country for over a week. When we returned everything was just as we left it and dogs maybe a few pounds heavier with the great care given by Dennis. I would recommend a stay to anyone visiting the area!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I found XS Memories by the owner of a different hotel in Santa Clara that ran out of rooms, she called Sheila (The owner of XS) and made sure they had rooms available.

The location it's very easy and even though is not next to the beach is only 5 minutes away from it (if you have a car). They have a pretty and comfy restaurant which I loved. The food was great, as well as the Drinks. The owners, Dennis and Sheila sat with us and we had a nice conversation. They also have a foundation to help kids go to school.

The room was good as well, it is not expensive, the air conditioner works fine, they have hot water and the size is good as well; they also have a pool, but I didn't like it that much, still I'm not a big fan of pools. Imma be honest, I didn't want to leave, it was an amazing experience and I really liked the decoration of the place. For me, all the rooms are good and they have everything you may need for a sweet escape. If luxury is your thing, look elsewhere, this is a more rustic and outdoorsy feeling. Excellent!


Thanks Dennis and Sheila for creating such an amazing place!

Room Tip: For me, all the rooms are good and they have everything you may need for a sweet escape. But if Luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This restaurant and motel is just off the Pan Americano highway and it was a 15 minute walk to the excellent Santa Clara beach so the location was superb. The rooms were clean and simple with working AC. It's the grounds that make the place special with plenty of beautiful plants and trees. The place has multiple exotic birds as this is apparently a sanctuary of sorts for injured and unwanted birds. Overall there was a very calm and serene atmosphere which was nice after an afternoon at the beach.

The restaurant is known for its burgers and homemade pies and soups. Breakfast was yummy too. People from all walks of life were there from those on shoe strings budgets camping in the yard to people on extended stays in the area. I met people from all over the globe in just a couple of days. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.

Room Tip: They have camping, RV space in addition to several different types of suites. Basically just tell th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BASLAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcan, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Spent several nights at XS Memories. Very friendly and helpful hosts. The place is kept immaculate and the pool and facilities were welcome. The bathrooms were very clean. Accidentally left equipment behind which hosts protected until we could return for it.

Room Tip: If camping, good shade near gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Food and service was excellent! Service with a smile,what a nice friendly place. place was very clean. A relaxing atmoshere. You can walk around the property and they have large cages for the parrots
Will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corie838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Villa Botero By Casa Mojito
Villa Botero By Casa Mojito
#1 of 2 in Santa Clara
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village at the Pool
Village at the Pool
#2 of 4 in Santa Clara
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XS Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XS Memories

Property: XS Memories
Address: Santa Clara, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your XS Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
XS Memories Panama/Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing