We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Derwen Cottage

Derwen Cottage - main view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Derwen Cottage - main view
Front view Garden view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Derwen Cottage - main view
Front view
Garden view
26 x 20 ft main living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Main living room with wood burner
Dining area
Separate snug with DVD player - perfect for children
Upstairs landing
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 - currently with three single beds
Bedroom 3
Ensuite downstairs bedroom perfect for the less mobile guest!
Dogleg stairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
riannaspr...
Haenertsburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We were so surprised with how much effort our hosts put into creating a Christmas atmosphere for us and the little ones at the house!
They went beyond the extra mile to make it warm, welcoming and comfortable. It is a lovely spacious home with everything you might need.
Truly a home away from home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2018
Thank you for your review. It is important that our guests feel at home especially over the festive holidays. Really pleased you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianR589
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Myself and my two friends booked Derwen cottages for 4 nights for the Coldplay concert and all I can say about our stay is that it can not be faulted in any way!
The owners were so kind to have a shop done for our arrival. Milk bread eggs cheese etc. The house was immaculate and loads of towels and all the appliances you will need. If you need a taxi company I would highly recommend Dragon cabs you can find them on Google, €18.00 pounds from the house to the train station in Cardiff city. The pub next door wow! Beautiful staff beautiful food and a lovely cosy spot to enjoy a few drinks in beer garden is the job too on a sunny day.

So all in all I would highly highly recommend this property.

We had a very memorable stay
Brian, Noreen & Elsie

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Thanks all - glad you enjoyed the craic!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik J
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic find, has EVERYTHING you could possibly need.”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a brilliant find for a group to stay in. This property offers enough space for everyone to relax in, we could not believe how many rooms there were. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, as were the towels, the bathrooms have more than enough toiletries for guests to use. We really appreciated the welcome pack that the owners left for us. The Cefyn Mably Arms is literally next door and the staff and regulars are very welcoming and the food is delicious. We got taxis into Cardiff, I would say the journey took about 20mins and cost £25 each way, which isn`t too bad. I would highly recommend this gorgeous house and will definitely be looking to stay here ourselves again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0bertc0l...
Bali, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and Homely simply perfect”
Reviewed January 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The location of Derwen Cottage was perfect for us we were back in Wales visiting family and this was within easy reach to everyone. After a long flight from Australia leaving warm temperature the welcome from Christine was lovely and the supplies were a god send the cottage was so warm and inviting and the fact that everything was there was a nice cup of coffee was great. The accommodation was outstanding plenty of room for us all and the sofas were so comfortable and snug. Being from Newport originally we knew the locality of everything, the shops, the motorway and distance to family this was another reason why we picked it and the fact that everything was so clean, tidy and friendly was an added bonus, Christine you make this place feel like a home away from home "Thank You". When we plan our next trip to the UK you'll be our first call to book your lovely cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsHinchl...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I've just got back from a quiet weekend break with friends. The cottage was perfect for us, had everything we needed and a great location. The pub next door is a massive must, the food was amazing and the owners and staff were so friendly. The owners of the cottage were so helpful and a pleasure to book with. This is the 2nd time I've stayed at the cottage and wouldn't hesitate to go back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, Price & service
Liked least: Location was a little hard to find by taxi's
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MartinJdb...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great house for group travel”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were a group of 7 rugby fans in Cardiff for the RWC. We got bumped from our booking downtown just before coming over from Australia and I booked this location as it had the size we wanted. Very glad we got bumped as the location and house , though a little out of town, were perfect. Having the local village pub accessible through the back gate was a bonus where the locals adopted us.

Will definitely stay again and will recommend to any friends traveling around Wales in a group.

The house itself was spotless and offered all amenities now expected in modern houses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Semi rural setting
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing