We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect relaxing holiday stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pump cottage

pump cottage lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pump cottage lounge
kitchen fridge,freezer,
dishwasher, microwave. 
electric cooker. dining room, woodburner for those cold nights.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
pump cottage lounge
kitchen fridge,freezer,
dishwasher, microwave. 
electric cooker.
dining room, woodburner for those cold nights.
pump cottage lounge
private patio area.
wood burner for those cold nights.
double room with four poster. large wardrobe, dressing table.
twin room
winter time, walk along the river
local market town of Diss with its beautiful  mere
Swan family return every year, ducks and swans turn up everyday at feeding time.
plenty to do in the old seaside town of Southwold, with its beach,peir, quay, shops & walks.
down by the river in springtime.
summer time
off road parking
down by the river 
our garden in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brockdish, Diss, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sue m
Skegness
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect relaxing holiday stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Thanks to John & Jackie who made us extremely welcome, we had a really good relaxing holiday. The cottage was so pretty & well equipped, the bed was so comfy & the fishing was really good too. We loved the garden & the walk to the woods. Our dog Tetley was worn out most days as we went out every day visiting places & fished every afternoon. Perfect. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, the welcome, the fishing - you name it!!
Liked least: We are used to leaving our dog inside when we go out for a meal etc. That was tricky to do as lots of places in the area would not accept dogs. I do understand their point of view though.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolFW
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, ideally situated”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Many thanks to John and Jackie for welcoming us all to Pump Cottage for a lovely, peaceful week. We were very lucky to have such good weather - although the carpet of daffodils and narcissi throughout the beautiful garden and everywhere in tubs and pots would have been like sunshine anyway. It was a delight to spend time in the garden, and by the tranquil river - contemplating how long it must have taken you to plant all those bulbs! The fritillaries and bluebells are no doubt making a lovely show now. The cottage itself was also extremely comfortable and well-equipped - there was nothing more we needed - even down to the welcome provisions - it was fantastic to arrive to scones, cream and homemade plum jam! Thank you also for putting up with our mad spaniel...We are very much looking forward to coming back sometime soon and going to all those lovely places that we couldn't fit in in just one week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATRICIA...
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Christmas and New Year holiday”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted by Jackie and John as we drove into the area by our cottage, a very kind gesture and very friendly people. They showed us into our cottage and all the bits and pieces we needed to know about the cottage. The accommodation is idyllic and quintessentially the English country cottage - coal fire, beams throughout, warm, cosy and all that is needed for an ideal holiday for peace and quiet but close to amenities, only 3 miles away. Our needs and any queries were willingly answered by Jackie/John. Weather permitting, there are beautiful grounds to walk in. Easy to park, with plenty of space available. We would highly recommend this listing for couples or families. The cottage was fully decorated for Christmas, beautifully. The 'Welcome Pack' was most welcome, especially the fresh scones with homemade jam andcclotted cream. We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and security
Liked least: Thin lounge wall, could hear adjoining occupiers
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojoba4
twickenham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Pump cottage is the perfect retreat. Just pulling into the driveway we said we would be coming again and then meeting Jackie and John made it a certainty. They made us so welcome and were on hand for any recommendations for trips etc. The cream tea on arrival was yummy!
Accommodation was 5*....everything we needed was to hand. Fishing down by the river was my husbands dream afternoon/evening relaxation. We didn't want to leave next time will be tempted to stay 2 weeks rather than 1.
Thank you Jackie and John for a wonderful week!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best there is”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed several times before. We thought it could get no better but it has! The kitchen area has been refurbished (now includes a dish washer) along with the bathroom that now has a power shower over the bath. The warm welcome included a cream tea plus wine and milk in the fridge. The usual high standards of decor and furnishing plus every bit of equipment you could wish for, makes Pump Cottage the best there is and you won't find better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and extensive riverside grounds, the warm and friendly welcome.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and the character of the cottage.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 4, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden and river
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing