We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flamingo Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
$128
$119
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Shores Hotel(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shores Resort & Spa(Daytona Beach Shores)
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Caribe Resort & Conference Center(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
$105
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perry's Ocean Edge Resort(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$104
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahama House(Daytona Beach Shores)(Great Value!)
$146
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
80
40
14
12
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
40
14
12
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorrooms are cleanadjoining roomsfull size refrigeratorolder placeocean viewthe ritzpool area isstaff was very friendlybeachdaytonakitchenettehiltonpansbalconiesdumpgrill
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 171 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Shakopee, Minnesota.
17
Reviewed September 24, 2004

My wife and I, 2 sons and a neighbor spent 2 weeks (July 25-Aug 4) at the Flamingo Inn. It’s very hard to explain what we enjoyed the most because many things are etched in our memory and all very pleasant. The operators/owners where extremely friendly. The feel of being surrounded by the tropical trees and plantings, the beach at the steps bottom, and the secluded personal/private BBQ'S and patios made it feel like home within minutes of check-in. The pool and grounds are well maintained and the rooms are neat and clean. It is not a huge skyscraper nor is the beach 20 flights of stairs from your room. I am somewhat bias because I personally appreciate the smaller, independent, and rich in history character over the huge multi-billion dollar chains.
I would strongly recommend others to consider the Flamingo-Inn for their vacationing or lodging needs. We will make it a point to return in the future.

Matthew & Rena Lehman
Dan, Butch, and Ashley
Shakopee. Mn. 55379

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Jacksonville, Florida
13
Reviewed July 22, 2004

My mom and I take my children down to the beach once or twice a year and we stay at the Flamingo Inn. We think it is perfect! It is quiet, has a gorgeous pool and landscaping, very courteous and accomodating staff and reasonable rates for the safety and security (my husband appreciates that since it's just us women with the kids). I would recommend The Flamingo Inn highly. As for bugs, WELCOME TO FLORIDA!!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2004

We had a great spring break at the Flamingo - we had a couple of kegs - had lotsa fun - the weather was good, the girls were great.... if you need sleep in spring break - your at the wrong place, boy!!!

3  Thank Hospitalityexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Greenville, NC
14
Reviewed March 21, 2004

Eight of us trucked it down to the Flamingo Inn for spring break. We all payed 200 bucks a peice for a saturday-friday so we didn't expect it to be the lap of luxery, but what we found was complete false advertisement at it's best. First of all, the wristbands were ridiculous. You had to wear paper wristbands ALL WEEK, wristbands like you get at the club. And when oen of our girls' bands got all nasty, the owner refused to get us another one. Second of all, one of the girls we were with, Renee', had a cousin who lived in Orlando who came to see us and she was standing downstairs with renee' in the parking lot at about 8pm just chatting, not even being loud. The owner called the cops because apparently no one can be on the property at all and instead of telling us this he just called the police, who were pretty pissed off at him for this because it was so petty. I mean,t he girls car wasnt even parked int he parking lot. THEN several guests from the hotel including myself had some injuries requiring first aid kits-which the hotel did not have in the lobby. They were "out of supplies" supposedly. Also, we had to go to K-Mart and purchase our own sheets because the ones provided were stained and disgusting. If staying at FLamingo Inn, do not plan on having a Do not Dusturb sign up, because theyre gonna come in and clean ANYWAY, WHENEVER THEY FEEL LIKE IT. There is no pool bar, so if youre planning on drinking during the day don't do it unless you bring your own. Also, upon arrival you receive a paper entitled "Student Code of Conduct". On this paper you will see that it says "ANY DAMAGE TO COMMUNAL PROPERTY OF THE HOTEL (IE: STAIRWAYS, WALKWAYS, POOL AREA) WILL BE DEDUCTED FROM SECURITY DEPOSITS OF ALL HOTEL GUESTS STAYING IN THE HOTEL DURING THIS TIME". This means if someone you don't even know screws up some type of hotel communal property, EVERYONE loses money who is currently staying there, and you knwo how rowdy college kids can get. Thats a risk I am never willing to take again. On top of all of this, the staff is just plain rude. On the back of the owners Mercedes, there is a sticker that says "LIFE ISN'T CHEAP". This about sums up the accomidations provided at The Flamingo Inn.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 24, 2004

Lets get the facts straight - you paid $193-21 per person for the weeks stay - that is $27.60 per day... how cheap can you go? You mention false advertising - but do not state what was false? You received wristbands, because you refused to pay for the cousin - from Orlando - after explaining to you that not paying at a hotel is a felony in the State of florida - you paid for one night! What about the rest of the week she stayed and did not pay for? Everyone who goes on vacation has to pay his own way - unless he was promised a free vacation. Ofcourse there is a pool bar - it clearly states on our advertising: Bring your own keg to the pool bar - the guys loved it and was partying at the pool bar all night long.If you are not students, you should not have stayed at the Flamingo Inn. It clearly states on our website that we are a student friendly hotel - and therefore we issue student code of conduct - unless we want the hotel demolished. How much was deducted from YOUR deposit for damage caused by others? Not a penny.The rooms that you got were clean, and so were the linens - if someone in your party had a psychological problem, you cannot blame the hotels for that - because at no time did you request a change of linens.We are not a medical facility, and therefore refer everyone with injuries to the hospital just down the road..And thanks to our student code of conduct, and a mojirity of wonderful students who stayed with us, we are able to reburbish our rooms in a very short time so that we can accommodate normal families for the rest of the year.If we had known that you were trying to defraud the hotel by sneaking in extra persons, we certainly would not have taken your reservation.We hope that next time you will make your reservation at a 5 star facility and will refrain frrom sneaking in extra persons and thereby commit a crime in the State of Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
springfield, oh
14
Reviewed March 12, 2004

Just thought id give everyone a heads up. If your going to daytona for springbreak and are thinking about staying at the Flamingo plan on several things One you want to party more than relax Two your just looking for a place to sleep three you are aware of all the hotel rules first.

The hotel has some rules that are annoying but understandable from a business perspective. One you have to wear this annoying wrist band the whole time. You cannot have guests(legally). And they can kick you out with very little provocation.

Four the bar by the pool is just a bar they serve no liquor. Five the cleaning staff is horrible and even harrasing on occassion.

Next year im staying at the mark adams, plaza or holiday inn. The few extra bucks are more than worth it.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytonahotels, Manager at Flamingo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

You are really a very wise traveler. Like you state, it will be so much better for you to stay at the Adams Mark, the Holiday Inn or the Plaza Hotel. The Desert Inn is also highly recommended for you. We hope that you have been able to complete your studies and now have a successful career.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews