We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harborside Hotel(Oxon Hill)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn(Oxon Hill)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,887)
Filter reviews
4,887 results
Traveler rating
1,659
1,649
830
429
320
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,659
1,649
830
429
320
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatrium viewlight showpotomac rivernational pastimebeautiful hotelhuge hotelold town alexandriawater taxiferris wheelold hickory steakhouseattended a conferencegaylord national resortice exhibitdc arearestaurants and shopsfountain showlobby bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,125 - 3,130 of 4,887 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent five days at the Gaylord over the Memorial Day weekend for a youth soccer conference. For conference attendees, the hotel has everything on-site, including several dining options, and car rental. The restaurant food is rather pricey, however. The conference meals were some of the best I've had. It is not a great family vacation venue as it is away from D.C. and somewhat difficult and expensive to get into the District. There are lots of restaurants in the adjacent village as well. There are activities for families to enjoy nearby. The on-site indoor poor closes too early chasing the kids into the lobby and the pool is a long walk from most rooms in the hotel. Overall it is an excellent choice for meeting planners.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandH621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed a week here for a work conference and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is HUGE and the atrium is amazing. A colleague of mine had a room facing the atrium and looking directly out into the harbor, it was a stunning view. Every time I walked through the lobby I was just amazed at the entire place. The front desk staff were all very professional and friendly; this hotel has a high standard for customer service and the front desk staff clearly get it. The only reason why I didn't give a rating of 5 is because this hotel is a bit isolated. It is surrounded by a handful of blocks of businesses (many restaurants, a CVS, a market). It is a cute area and very clean and safe. But that's all that's there, so most of the restaurants are really expensive (probably because they know these are your only options). The hotel does not have access to the DC metro system, so staying here means you have to take a $20 taxi or shuttle ride to get to the nearest metro stop. This is a beautiful hotel located right on the harbor with a charming little neighborhood of restaurants and businesses that are an easy few blocks to walk to. However, if you stay here and have plans to go into DC, expect to pay a few hefty fares.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Rooms are average and clean but the whole package was awesome. The convention center is on the Potomac and operates a water taxi to D.C. My daughter's graduation from the American Military University was held in one of their spacious convention rooms.

Room Tip: You'll pay more for a room overlooking the humongous atrium but it was worth the experience.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamStilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Gaylord hotels no matter if in Dallas, Nashville, Orlando, or Wash DC area (actually a Maryland address - Oxon Hill) are always 4 plus stars in my experience as excellent convention hotels. The Gaylord National is no less outstanding. The Gaylord National convention area is a very modern, growing resort/convention area with multiple restaurants, hotels, and tourism opportunities for the Washington DC area. Less than 15 minutes to Reagan National and easily accessible to our Nation's Capital. This resort hotel is nicely located on the scenic Potomac River with access to water taxi's that can take you to historic and lively Fredericksburg, VA (across the river) or up the river to Georgetown. Allow plenty of time for the water taxi trip. My recommendation is to take the water taxi one way to Georgetown and use a auto taxi back to save you a couple hours. Taxi to the Nation's Capital is $30-40 as well. We stayed here 7 nights during Memorial Day for our national convention. The Gaylord hotels are also now affiliated with the Marriott Hotel frequent stay program which makes it even more beneficial for frequent travelers. Auto access is easy, including a convenient $24 nightly parking garage. Like other Gaylord properties, this hotel has a marvelous atrium and large variety of room options. We upgraded to balcony on the 7th floor overlooking the atrium, lounges, and Potomac River. Safes and refrigerators in each room. Would highly recommend this. Overall the rooms can be expensive (but so is Wash DC area) if privately booked, for convention rates they're likely just over $200.00 (but worth it). I'd stay here again for convention purposes.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony room overlooking the atrium. Rooms on floors 6-12 have views under the atrium. Ask for a room with the balcony facing or overlooking the Potomac River and not the balcony rooms facing each other in the atrium. Noise was not a problem.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is located on Potomac River with easy access to the river, shops, restaurants, etc. The hotel has its own restaurants. From the inside you can view the river. It is peaceful to view. I found the safe and refrigerator the last night of my conference. LOL I paid a night deposit much earlier at the hotel request when I made the reservation. I received a receipt. Upon arriving I found out that the receipt was not recognizable (with their hotel). Luckily, there was no charge from my account but what if I hadn't brought enough money, thinking that the first night was paid? I had to request made service at 1:00 pm and did not receive services until 3:00 pm. There is an atrium that is nice. They have an Olympic size covered swimming pool. The actual grounds below the atrium are designed like coliseum seats to watch the sunrise or sunset and any river action. I was able to view the fireworks show. There is room for a charter bus to drop off or pick up. I was able to board a yacht for a dinner cruise to Mt. Vernon by walking to it. The hotel transports via a tour bus to DC for $20 round trip (to the capitol). There are a lot if things to do in the area. Have fun!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grape2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews