We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute dream vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
russia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolute dream vacation”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A great place to relax and unwind. Food and drinks very varied and absolute eye and the palate. There were daily, both at lunch and dinner table, among many other dishes of fresh fish - just awesome. Super Clean conditioning of room on the well-kept outdoor area, restaurants, pools, beach and freely accessible toilets. Very friendly and dedicated staff - a small smile opens hearts! Desk (Safari Blue boat trip with snorkelling, spice gardens and Stone Town, etc.), we have booked through the Edi-Murphy Group on the beach, good value for money and all recommended. An absolute pampering experience is the one-hour massage with Catherine on the beach next to the kitesurf shack. All in all a great place for relaxation - we will be back!

Room Tip: Better upper rooms have a view from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexi7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    243
    47
    22
    9
See reviews for
160
530
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Neptune Pwani for 3 nights in August 2013 and absolutely loved it.

The food was great and they had a variety of choices also suited for vegetarians. We had an all inclusive booking which was great as it also included soft drinks at any time and they weren't just cheap drinks.

The staff were polite and very helpful. They were willing to go the extra mile to make our stay more comfortable.

The location of the resort is perfect as its on the beautiful white sand beach.

All in all, we had a great time and would definitely return to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jawandh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Eventhough the hotel was clean and nice, the staff was pleasant and the food delicious. The constant begging and harassment by the locals on the public beach made this holiday unpleasant. We could not walk from the resort property to the beach without being hazzled.
We were always approach by locals on the beach, sometimes followed as they were constantly looking for money. We did not feel safe.
The beach was covered with seaweeds that made it uninviting.
We will go back to Cuba, Jamaica and Dominican before coming back here. The beaches are clean and better supervized.
Also after reading about Zanzibar Acid Attact on 2 young female tourists, we cross out Zanzibar as a future destination!!!

Room Tip: The resort was great but the harassment on the beach ruins the trip!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came to Neptune Pwani following a 4 night safari for a weeks relaxation on our honeymoon.

This is not the boutique hotel that we were originally looking for and it did take a while to adjust when we arrived at large scale resort that provides for the masses. I really wanted to love this place however it just wasn't quite there
The clientele consisted mainly of families with a few couples, if you are a family then this is a good hotel however, I wouldn't recommend it as part of a honeymoon package.
The activities in the day (water polo / volleyball etc) are all geared toward kids rather than adults. There were board games etc however you had to pay to hire.
The entertainment at night varied hugely from very poor to very entertaining, just pot luck on what was on when.

The rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean (we had a sea view room)

The food was to a good standard with a lot of choice at lunch / dinner. However the snack offer outside of key meal times was very limited (only sandwiches and pastries - nothing refreshing like ice cream / fruit)
We did not eat at the a la carte restaurant, it was $100 per couple which I think out most people off as it was always empty despite the nice setting / decor. I wouldn't been nice if one meal here was included as part of the honeymoon package.

The resort is very clean and the pools and the setting on the beach is nice however the public beach directly in front of the hotel is a little intimidating with all the beach boys. I didn't feel comfortable walking along it on my own, however the hotel does have security guards to they are doing what they can to control it and make guests feel more at ease.

I would've expected more from the staff - we found the reception staff and the zan travel rep rude and extremely unhelpful, however most of the other staff in the restaurant, bars and water sports office were professional and pleasant.

Wifi is not included and costs $20 for the week - something that would've expected to be inclusive confiding how much the hotel charges to stay all inclusive.

Overall it was... Ok. It depends what you are after... A family resort where the kids are entertained = perfect! A honeymoon destination where the personal touches make your holiday extra special = no so much. I think the term 'average' sums it up

We booked through Imagine Africa who we would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah5032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, good service and good value for money!many water sports to choose from and a lot of activities for kids!and if u want to rejuvinate then theres a spa too!!!breakfast is also good and a variety to choose from ! Overall a good experience so far! Still one more day, lets hope it will be as good as yesterday or even better!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My partner and myself and our parents have just returned form a 7 day stay at the resort. We stayed in the higher Villas - which some people had expressed concern at the steep walk - but we found no issues with these. The food and staff were fantastic and the stay was good. he nightly entertainment was possibly the one weakness and the spa we never even tried to attend due to the very high prices. Would certainly recommend this highly !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We travelled to Zanzibar in early July and chose this resort as it was well recommended by Trip Advisor. What a disappointment it turned out to be. The position of the hotel, its gardens and the beach are beautiful but that's about all. We stayed in seaside rooms, and honestly they were the most uncomfortable rooms we have ever stayed in. The beds, pillows, chairs were all rock hard, there was no where comfortable to relax on. We had no plugs for the basins and when asked where they were, the management informed us they had to be requested!!! We had no hot water for 4 nights eventually it was only when we became rude that they attended to the problem, not what you expect from a 4 Star resort. The food is less than mediocre. The buffet looks attractive but the taste is bland and unexciting. The snack bar consists of soggy white bread sandwiches or pastries, that's it, no fruit or anything healthy. The a la carte restaurant serves well but since it is at an additional charge people don't eat there, we only ate there as the resort offered it to us to compensate for the hot water situation. The resort is in a malaria area, our previous experiences throughout Africa, is that the resort always supplies at least insect repellent, none was provided for in the rooms but was available to purchase at the store for an inflated price. Generally the resort is run down and needs attention, the wooden floors and furnishings are tired and old looking, in fact the beach loungers where so wobbly its a miracle they hold you. All in all a disappointing resort, would not recommend it to anyone, there are so many better choices in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMSKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,557 reviews
15.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
478 reviews
27.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
13.7 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing