We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Holiday Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed a week at Sandies as a group of 12 people (ages bet 7 and 60) and everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed our holiday! The resort is huge and restful. The pools are great, beach is good (although there is a lot of sea grass) but the water is warm and clear. Very relaxing and lots of shady areas to keep out of the heat and the pools were divine. Rooms were great and very clean. Very friendly staff who are always willing to assist. The food was great. Being muslim it helped that there were mostly Halaal foods. The salad's and veg selection was amazing. The only negative i have on the food is that they never serve prawns at any of the meal times. Lots of fish, but never prawns or shellfish which is a pity. Being on all inclusive was great as its very hot and you then have no costly drink bill at the end of your trip. I def would recommend this resort. We did the safari blue excursion which was amazing. and the spice tour is a must. All in all, it was an amazing holiday

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachbabyNaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
There are newer reviews for Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 887 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the beach only for one night. Its a fantastic place for couples..they have great recreational facilities, a great spa, a nice bar, excellent food!! we had a lovely time! Again, i wish we could have stayed in Zanzibar for a longer duration..anyway...two thumbs up for this beach resort!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Neptune Pwani as part of our honeymoon. We arrived late after a flight delay but the moment we saw our room, jumped in the pool and had our first Kilimanjaro beer it was all forgotten.
We were there the 2nd week of December, the weather was lovely, one day is rained most of the day but we still relaxed under the umbrellas. The rest of the week was sunny and warm but not ridiculously hot.

The first 4 days were pretty quiet, after that it became a little busier.
We asked for a room away from the pool and the restaurant. We got exactly that, very quiet. The room was large, big balcony, big bed, very comfy mattresses, everything was super clean, the girls came in every afternoon to spray mosquito spray (not really necessary) and to do a turn down of the bed, turn night lights on etc. Lovely.
The bathroom was large, always warm water, plenty of toiletries.
AC worked well, good safe in the room.

The food was very good. Especially the daily grilled fish or calamari. The salads were always fresh and plenty of delicious fresh fruit to choose from. Different deserts, soups etc. I cannot imagine someone not finding what they like. The cater for all.
I can imagine if you'd stay longer then an week it would get a bit 'same same but different' but hey - what buffet restaurant doesn't have that? We both work as crew on large private yachts and have a top chef who cooks for us every day, we are used to good and fresh food, we thought Neptune Pwani's food was really nice.

The beach is lovely. The hotel has a private beach, plenty of lounge chairs, plenty of shade and no one of the sellers are allowed on so they won't bother you. Do take the chance to chat to them and maybe buy a nice sarong or other souvenir.

You can book lots of trips or easily do them by yourself. There are always one or 2 taxi drivers outside on the hotels parking lot. Haggle with the price. We wanted a taxi to Stone Town, no tour, just transport, tourguide said it would cost $120, reception said it would cost $80 and when asking the driver himself we bargained a little bit and went to Stone Town for $60. Just saying.

Take US dollars, it's the most common currency. We ran out and couldn't exchange Euro's or Rand at the hotel. Only local currancy, dollars or pounds.

Nice clean pools, different bars to choose from, good espresso's in the bar/resto over the pool. Their booze is all cheap brands, not too great but they made some nice cocktails of the day.
It's one of the bigger resorts but we never felt that is was busy.

We used the spa one day and had a nice massage, they let us use the pool, steam room etc for the rest of the day.

I would recommend going to Neptune Pwani! We had a lovely experience.

Room Tip: All thatched roof houses, each 'house' has 4 rooms. All have a little bit of seaview. The on...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmhermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at this fantastic establishment for a romantic retreat.

The place completely exceeded my expectations, simply put - an incredible experience.

The seaside rooms are very nice. We had one on the top floor (two floor buildings), about two rows back from the beach. This is nice quiet and private. Spacious, tastefully decorated & good aircon & fans with a private balcony as well. The design of the rooms & bathroom is exceptional.

The restaurant has good variety & the food is great. The staff all very friendly & always happy to assist where possible. Nice variety of cocktails & beers for the all-inclusive package, and the a-la-carte restaurant provides a nice change of scenery from the main buffet if you're there for a while! The lounging area by the beach is perfect for lazy summer days, equal distance to take a plunge in the beautiful pool or the sea. We took a kayak out one of the days which was also a highlight. Tours to Stone Town & other trips are easily arranged & were very worthwhile.

Apart from the fact that the whole package is amazing value in a very upmarket & stunning location, they also went out their way to assist me with very unusual arrival & departure hours. I actually ended up arriving early, and was quickly & easily given an early check-in with no fuss.

Highly recommended, don't have a single non-positive thing to say!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philvoget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Sandies Neptune for 7 nights in December following a safari.

Positives:
- The hotel itself is beautiful - all the grounds are impeccably kept, the rooms a nice size, the 2 pools very clean, and the restaurants serve a great selection of very high quality food.
- As it was our honeymoon we were given a fruit basket and bottle of bubbly, as well as a complimentary meal in the a la carte restaurant.
- When we arrrived at the hotel it was quite late at night so we had missed the dinner service. They had however kept back some food for us so we were able to eat when we arrived, which was much appreciated.
- Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful

Negatives:
- Our room had quite a terrible smell of drains which seemed to get worse over the course of the week we were staying there
- Most of the people staying there seemed to be families and groups of people. Although this was not necessarily an issue, it made it feel as though we were in a lower end resort, rather than a luxury honeymoon hotel
- Some of the evening entertainment was quite cheesy and not really suited to an upmarket hotel – the DJ insisted on playing really loud and inappropriate tunes from about 9pm!
- We had a hot stone massage while staying there - the spa area is lovely, and the massage bit was really nice, but the stones that the therapists used were so hot that my husband and i were actually left with burn marks on our back and legs (pretty sure this isn’t meant to happen?!)
- We had seen other peoples comments about the beach boys and so were fully prepared to be a little hassled on the beach. Instead of just having them wandering up and down the beach as we had experienced in other places, there are groups who are constantly stationed outside the hotel area waiting to pounce on anyone leaving the hotels private beach! They would eventually leave you alone if you told them enough, but it did mean that you couldn’t just relax and have a romantic stroll on the beach (which is what we wanted on our honeymoon!) Unfortunately they did therefore spoil the experience a bit for us.
- We booked a tour of stonetown and prison island with the hotels excursion desk. The guy certainly didn’t fill us with confidence, and the whole booking process was a bit of a shambles. Luckily it all did work out, but it was a very unprofessional experience!

For a honeymoon, we wouldnt recommend the hotel. To couples or families looking for a good value holiday, we would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are up a lot of stairs - choose a sea side room for a shorter, easier walk!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katiederham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went for 7 days in Dec 2012 and it was absolutely awesome. The weather was great. The rooms and food excellent. The only negative was Precision Air. We ghad to fly Precision Air form Nairobi to Zanzibar and they left the whole flights lugguage behind. Neetless to say we had to go though almost a whole day without any lugguage. We only received it 21:00 at night.

Room Tip: See Facing rooms the best.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were at Sandies Neptune in Zanzibar last november. The hotel is located at a beautiful very large white sandy beach. The hotel itself has a tropical, clean and large garden where the rooms are located. The rooms are large and very clean. The 2 swimming pools are great. One has a poolbar. The 3 restaurants are fantastic for a place that is very poor. The all inclusive service is good. Some of the rooms are at see level and other are located on a hill. You have to take a lot of steps to get there but the view over the hotel ground and the see is beautiful. The spa is also located at this level. The staff is very friendly.
Go to youtube "sandies neptune zanzibar" to see some nice views images

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 148traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,635 reviews
15.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
15.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
27.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: $343 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing