We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed for 14 nights!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed for 14 nights!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from 11 days staying at the Neptune Pwani Beach and wish we'd done longer! As always we Trip Advisored everything to death before choosing this hotel and with the great help of Pure Zanzibar.com we thought this looked the best value for money in our budget range, and we certainly weren't disappointed.
Our room was spotless and well kept for the week, very comfortable beds with the bed turned down and the mosquito nets all done for you every night.
We used the laundry service, a few US dollars for shirts/trousers to be washed and ironed and they were back the next day.
All the staff from the sunbed attendants, cleaners, groundsmen to the bar and restaurant staff are very smiley and friendly. Majeba runs a very good bar by the main restaurant at night, it's very clean and offers lots of cocktails (shame no Mojitos though!!) and as a Pinot Grigio only girl, the wine was very good indeed!!
During the day drinks are brought out to you on the beach and the swim up bar is always nicely in some shade and some sun during the day (very welcoming indeed!!)
Along with the people and the service, what is also outstanding is the quality of the food. It is really excellent, lovely to see different potato dishes every day, dauphinoise, baked, roasted and not chips! the vegetables were also varied and beautifully cooked which is unusual for most hotels we find, so that was a really pleasant surprise. The freshly grilled fish every day was just gorgeous as was the pork (also nice to see). Beautiful curry option every day too and varying types of breads and dips for starters!! Nothing repeated in the 11 days we were there which was great.
There's only about 4 choices of desserts,a suggestion that ice cream may have been a lovely addition???? but really that's not a complaint at all.
The snacks each day consisted of a selection of sandwiches and occasionally warm samosas which was lovely to have something savoury and there were always croissants, pain au chocolat and cakes available almost all day it seemed!!
The beach is lovely soft white sand and the bay sweeps a long way round, great for a nice walk in the morning or late afternoon. The sea is lovely, a few sea urchins so sea shoes are a good idea!
Thre is a tide so expect the water to go out right to the reef but it is so shallow you can walk very far out during the day.
We read other comments before we went which said the beach vendors are sometimes annoying but if you don't engage with them they will take no for an answer, which they did, and after all they are only doing their jobs!!
One thing we would say to be aware of is take enough US dollars or some English notes to pay for trips etc as you cannot use your credit card to get cash at the hotel strangely!! You can pay for your extras but not get cash. But there are ATM's in Stone Town, which we visited along with the Josani forest (both about an hour away)and were fabulous and you felt very safe everywhere you went. Amazing to see the tame Colobus monkeys jumping around to be so close to them is great.
Overall this is a super place, very clean, efficient and good value for money on All Inclusive. We relaxed immensely and wished we had stayed for 14 nights!!
Thank you all very much indeed.

Room Tip: Our room (431) overlooked the pool and you could just see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maddieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    247
    49
    23
    10
See reviews for
162
540
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great hotel to stay at with a wide bar selection on its all inclusive offering, its also by far the best hotel on the beach. Its a little commercial and they get a few things wrong, such as scream at you with awful entertainment on bleating speakers at dinner and miss basics like ice-cream or cream on their waffles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisonderstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Sandies Neptune, was a beautiful, clean and friendly resort. The rooms are large clean and stylish! The food was fantastic! every night they changed the menu and the variety was awesome. The food was a highlight to my party of guests (15). The drink and cocktail menu for a all inclusive menu was great! The staff are really friendly. the pools are beautiful. I do recommend this resort as a perfect choice! Swimming can be enjoyed on beach even at low tide!

Room Tip: Take the Sea side, as it is close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HennieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I went to Neptune with a group of friends. The idea was to have a relaxing holiday and we had exactly that.
Room facilities were excellent - definitely in keeping with the property's 4-Star rating. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and well serviced every day.
If you are like me and enjoy taking long barefoot walks on white sand beaches, you're in for a treat here but be careful if you go into the water as there is a hefty growth of spiky sea urchins and you will have to wear a shoe.
Leisure facilities at the hotel were good and varied enough to keep us all busy for the 7 days we were there. Snorkelling was good and there was opportunity to do it off the beach as well as from a boat.
Stone Town was about 45 minutes away but it wasn't a tedious or unpleasant drive to get there and the town was well worth exploring.
Evening entertainment was lively and differed from night to night.
The All-inclusive package ensured that we all had more than enough to eat and drink and my only moan was that there was not too much variety in the dishes set out on the buffet for lunch and dinner but, hey!, when you're in that kind of paradise, that really doesn't matter all that much.
If you're wanting a good, relaxing holiday, this is definitely the lpace.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing rather than sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BryanAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had a great time on the coast after 3 days in Stone Town. The rooms are spacious, airy and nicely airconditioned. The food in the main restaurant was very nice with a good selection to choose from. If you want something a bit more fancy you can go to the al a carte side and then you pay extra. The Spa was very good and we can recommend the specials and the massage treatments they give are absolutely fantastic, especially the Zanzibar Warm Oils. The swimming pools are very well kept and a pleasure to get into. The swimming pool bar keeps you going throughout the day and then the bar by the main restaurant is very nice in the evenings, before dinner. Cocktails at both bars are out of this world and both have different menus. The coffee in the swimming pool bar after dinner is fantastic. We founfd the service in the restaurants and the bars to be very good and speedy. The swimming pool bar service caters for all the guests under the trees by the beach so they are always busy, but fast and 'Service with a smile'. There is nice fishing out past the reef and this is organised by the water activities staff. Well worth it, so long as you do not get sea sick. The walks out to the reef from the beach are easy to do at low tides from right in front of the facility. My wife and I had a really fantastic stay and were sad to have to leave for home. A truly memorable visit and one we will do again!!!!!

Room Tip: The SEASIDE rooms are very nice and close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Botsbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at Neptune Sandies Zanzibar. Vacationed with 2 children, ages 12 and 10. The rooms were nice and spacious. Very clean and great views of the beach and ocean. The landscaping on the grounds was beautiful. The restaurant food was actually very good for an all-inclusive resort. The seafood dinner at the a la carte restaurant was tasty also. Great lobster. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant and bar staff. Maureen at front desk was very gracious and helpful. Mosquitos in Zanzibar are pesky at night, so the insect repellent and mosquito nets are a must. Enjoyed the evening entertainment each night, from acrobatic troupes, to local dancers. We enjoyed the tour of Stone Town and the spice tour. Enjoyed Neptune very much, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sc0ttW_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just spent 3 days at Neptune Pwani Beach. The resort is truly beautiful, well maintained and with very nice spacious rooms, 2 great pools and a fantastic beach. Nice snack bar.

However, we did have an issue with the food at the main restaurant: the choice is, to say the least, extremely limited and the quality only average. ONE type of juice at breakfast?! 3 desserts (all looking sad and dry) besides a selection of fruit?! Half the warm buffet is Indian food although there were very few indian guests at the resort. We actually like indian food but it would have been more appropriate to vary the vegetarian choice and do "indian" as a theme night.

Another "pet peeve" was the MC for the evening shows. The dancers and acrobats were execellent and we enjoyed their shows. However, the MC's multilingual gibberish was grating and totally unintelligible.

The spa treatment was very nice and soothing (and reasonably priced as wel).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay a lot but felt the quality of the food let the entire resort down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swissmiss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,579 reviews
15.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
487 reviews
27.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
13.7 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing