We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing, we will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing, we will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful week (mid July 2011) at Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel - really one of the best island holidays ever! The staff is amazing, very friendly and helpful. We opted for an all-inclusive deal and was very impressed : the food, prepared by international chefs, was set out buffet style every day and was incredibly tatsteful, catering for all tastes. The hotel fascilities are great, the grounds beautifully kept and safe. We had all our trips organised through the hotel - two `must do` : (1) spice tour (we visited Mr K`s spice farm) and (2) the Safari Blue day trip that entails sailing out on a dhow (and we saw dolphins), snorkeling and having a lunch of lobster, prawns, fish and fruit on an island. On our way home we swam among mangroves - what an experience. We are definitely going back next year, same time as the weather was just perfect, taking the family and kids along. Asanti sana to all the wonderful people of Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel!

Room Tip: We requested sea view deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tulip13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    236
    45
    19
    7
See reviews for
150
508
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

After our 12 day safari in Kenya we travelled to Zanibar for a relaxing beach holiday (12 days also). I spent some considerable time deciding between Mombasa or Zanibar, I finally decided on Zanibar due to the spice/stone town/slave trading aspect. Was very disappointed with Stone Town. Did not live up to the travel books. Dirty with very pushy retailers. My teenage girls were very uncomfortable and did not return to stone town again. (Please note it costs 120.00$ in a taxi to get there !!)
With regard to the resort itself. Our rooms upon arrival were downright dirty - Very soiled pillows with blood stains. Blood stains & holes in Mosquito nets. 50/80 small insects crawling up and down the shower. Coffee stains and lumps out of the wall.
As we arrived very late, I did not complain until the next morning. Reception staff very dismissive - saying they would send up housekeeping.
Would have expected at least an acknowledgement of my complaint.
Housekeeping were however helpful and advised that they would clean our existing rooms. However, was concerned about the insect infestation in the shower. Another room was offered which was at least clean.

Resort itself is spotless. It is a pity that a resort of this standard cannot get the basics right. We were not the only ones with complaints about the accommodation.
Food very good.
Service efficient but not friendly compared to the excellent service we received on safari (see reviews for Ashnil Samburu & Ashnil Mara).
This resort needs to come off its high horse and get back to basics - good clean accommodation and friendly service.
Would be reluctant to return.

Room Tip: Dont go there has to be better resorts for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank francesdublinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were on honeymoon and had a deluxe sea-view room which was a bit of a walk from the resort amenities but the extra walk was worth it in order to digest all the delicious food that was served at the main restaurant. I was quite disappointed with the pizzeria though (we had 1 free dinner at the pizzeria). The place was beautiful and the rooms were clean. Only problem was the mosquitoes which troubled me quite a lot-carry lots of insect repellent! Overall it was a beautiful place, people were friendly. I would recommend using the beach boys (Eddy Murphy Group) for snorkelling and other tours, even though it is a bit of a rough ride with their small boat, but service was excellent! Really enjoyed the refreshments in the middle of the ocean!

Room Tip: Sea-side rooms are much closer to all amenities. Sea-view rooms are quite a walk away-up lots of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lockhaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Well, where do i start ? What an amazing place.
From start to finish this place really did exceed our excpectations.The resort, the food, the people, the service.Everything was 100% perfect for us.
The only thing i would advise is that you take alot of books/games or music , we did none of this and found we were twiddeling our thumbs half way through the day.
The pool was amazing ( if a bit cold), the beach was beautiful ( tell the beach boys thanks but no thanks and they will leave you alone ). The rooms were cleaned every day, the bar staff were always happy to chat and learn about where you are from and get to know you .
My husband has the most fussiest pallet you can get and even he had a plate full (maybe two ) at every meal time .
The evenings are very subdued ,even though they have markets and masai and discos, it's very quiet and relaxed.You may find your in bed by 10pm most nights because there isnt much to keep you entetained in the evenings. But that's personal taste and how you take the entertainment given.
We had a "sea view room" as does every room ( you can see the sea,but your not as close as you think you would be, it's set on a hill so every room can see the sea ), we were no where near the beach and up a flight of 51 steps...but this took nothing away from the location of our room and the experience of the view .
We will definately be going back when we have the money......thanks to all that made it so special for us .

Room Tip: If you dont like noise then ask for a room away from the restaraunt and poolbar. During the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilsis090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Just returned and all in all it was a nice resort. It was VERY slow, I would say only about 50 people in the entire place so, staff was a little lacking. I work for a hotel though so, I know how it is when it is slow (hard to motivate people sometimes). The rooms were very nice and spacious and clean. Food was good and the staff was very nice in the restaurant and at the bars. I generally don't like all inclusive but, there is no where to go around here so, it is a must and they do a good job. Front Desk staff forgot to give us our all inclusive bracelets at check in (not sure how they forgot that) so, had to walk all the way back there once we got to the restaurant to get them before we could have lunch on arrival day. Beach Boys were somewhat annoying, as they can only go so far up on the beach and then they just stare at you ALL day. Probably would not notice it that much, if it were busier there, as they would be occupied with more tourists. They really didn't bother you though when you went to get in the ocean so that was good. This hotel was not close to any excursions and unfortunately, being on a bus was the last thing we wanted to do after doing a week long safari.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff is fantastically friendly, with the exception of one guy in the dining room. The language barrier proved to be a bit of a problem occasionally, but they are always extremely happy to help and everyone always greets you with a "Jambo!" on sight. As a people the Zanzibaris seem to have the most beautiful smiles. Our room was big and nicely furnished, with very necessary aircon. A shower, no bath, but we shower anyway so no poblem. the shower was rather erratice with the water mixing, but it didn't cause a problem for us.
Unfortunately the lovely sliding doors had to be kept shut because of mosquitoes but one had a choice. Every day someone would come in in the afternoon and close the mosquito nets and spray with insect killer. I have to confess that being hermetically sealed with all that poison in the air is a bit disconcerting, but there again one can open the doors and air it out if you want, you just let the mozzies in. Our room was definitely 'sea facing' but a bit of a misnomer because we couldn't see the sea with the plants and other rooms in front of us. it was lovely though, and looked out over the pool and lovely gadens.
Food was very good. My son in law has a severe egg allergy and he did have problems with the chefs with getting info about ingedients. The french guy in particular couldn't get it and kept saying he didn't 'think' there was egg in a dish, when pressed he'd usually say 'well maybe just one' - not good enough - egg can mean an anaphalactic shock for my SIL. Service in the dining room excellent, and a smoking and non smoking section. We eventually moved to the smoking section as the non smoking was more enclosed (although still very open) and got much hotter. I am dead anti smoking but we sate towards the edge of the room and had no problems, it was, after all, our choice.
Beaches were wonderful, with constant , attentive service from the bar all day, and the beach assistante with getting chairs, tables and mattresses. The tide goes really far out, and although I've hear people complain of this, we loved it as we could walk out a long way each day and wallow in the water. NB - water shoes a must!!! The sea is full of sea urchins and broken coral,but we were fne with the shoes.
The only hiccups we had were a) mischarging for phone calls. we put 4 calls through to Stone Town and every time a different charge was made. Fortunately for the first one I was shown the charge list - $1 per minute, and so when I was asked to sign the charge form I was able to query the charges levied. I'm sure this was purely a misunderstanding with the staff and was always easily rectified.
b) on our return from Stone Town late one evening we were asked, very politely, to move our rooms, as there was 'a problem with the pipes' in our rooms (a group of 6). as it was so late we refused (equally poltely) to do so and decided to speak to the manager the next day. We only had two nights left and were loathe to pack everything up. The next day we asked to speak to the manager, who was not available, and was promised that she would find us on the beach and clarify the situation. Well, she never did, and we never moved. Later that day my husband came across the housekeeper supervisor, who said "oh, I believe you reported a mouse in your room!' Well, we hadn't and we have no idea who had. Whether this was to try and get us to move I have no idea. It's all very odd. The day we were asked to move, our rooms had not been cleaned, we think it was perhaps because they thought we were moving. It was not a good enough excuse and it was the only major blot on the week, as our towels were damp and smelly etc. We had to wait 45 minutes for hosuekeeping to come and sort it out for us.
c) the bar and restaurant kept running out of mixes for the cocktails and Kilimanjaro beer - in fact the latter had run out within three hours of our arrival. We did think that a hotel of this quality shouldn't have run out of regular things like that so constantly, and it was defintely annoying to look forward to your drinks and get told 'sorry, no pineapple juice', 'no Kili', etc. Happened daily and with a wide range of drinks. Very often we only got our third or even fourth choices.
The only other thng we weren't too keen on was the shuttle service. We were approached at the airport on arrival by a guy who, after great misunderstanding, appeared to be an airport porter sent by the shuttle driver and guide to collect our luggage. Ths chap loaded our luggage on to a trolley and then demanded a tip. I immediately took my luggage off and he got very upset with me. We found our shuttle driver and guide ourselves, wth him following us and it appears to be the norm. Tips tips tips everywhere and everyone is on the bandwagon. It is an incredibly poor country and I have no objection tipping when I get a service, but when there are already two guys to tip from the shuttle, and they send a third into collect our luggage when they could easily have done so, I'm afraid I battle with that.
Overall the hotel was brilliant. we took the all inclusive option (I'm not sure if they offer and alternative) and it was a very good way to go.
The litle hassles in no way affected our holiday, and we would happily return to the hotel. Zanzbar is such an amazing place that the little hiccups we had in no way damaged out wonderful stay.
My one suggestion to them, which we made on the reportback form - was that they give top sheets and light blankets on the beds. The options were either a very heavy duvet, which was too hot for us even with the aircon cranked right down, or a top sheet only, (which we had to request) which was too cool and we spent 5 nights trying to get the temp right.

Room Tip: battle with stairs? Request a room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamakudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is far from the happenings of the island but as all inclusive beach resorts go in is very pleasant. It is a long drive to anything but the sunrise makes it all worthwhile. The staff are well intended and very friendly if not always as responsive as one might like.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
13.8 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#5 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing