We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if your only goal is to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Here is a basic synopsis of our stay:
1. Cleanliness - second to none. Our room was always clean, the workers are constantly cleaning the pools and all other areas of the resort.

2. Room - Our room was beautiful. The only issue that we had was that some of the rooms were quite far from the rest of the resort and you had to climb a lot of stairs to get there. One suggestion. If you would like your bottled water replenished daily, make sure to leave a tip for the housekeeper. Also, the air conditioning was amazing!

3. Pools - Great pools. We always had our choice of pool side lounge chairs.

4. Staff - While eager to please, they were not very knowledgeable of basic requests. It seems that the english they learned came straight from the menus. Simple requests such as "no ice" were not understood. Also, getting your order delivered to you from the bar or restaurant took a very long time.

5. Food - Wow. By the end of the second day, all the food began to taste the same. It just wasn't good. While there was a big variety of fresh fruit, none of it tasted good. It all seemed to be just shy of being ripe. By the end of the week, my husband and I were only eating rice and soup. The pizza restaurant was good, however.

6. Drinks - The drinks were good and they were very generous with their pours.

7. Location - SUCKED. This hotel is over an hour away from the airport and there is nothing around it. You really will have to pay a lot of money in order to get into a populated area.

8. Beach - The beach is pretty much unswimmable due to the massive amounts of seaweed and sea urchins. During low tide, we were able to walk about 1 km out and see different sorts of sea life. However, at low tide, the beach is plaqued by all of the seaweed. There are also tons of people bugging you to buy things. Best to stay at the resort pools.

9. Night Life - This is not the place to go if you are interested in dancing or partying at night. The whole resort quiets down by 8:30 pm. We were asleep by 9:30 pm most of our trip as there was just nothing to do.

10. Over all - I think that this is a great place if your only goal is to relax. If you are looking for adventures, night life, good beaches or good shopping, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tldani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 904 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

One of the best locations we ever stayed at. A real "POLE POLE" location where you can enjoy the friendlyness of all the staff, the beautiful sea and garden views, the more than delicious restaurants,...

Do not miss a trip to Stone Town - you will be impressed by the mixture of ethnicity and religion - and a visit to one of the numerous Spice Farms. For a good deal on excursions ask one of the guys at the beach (Hamis, Alex, etc...) they all offer the same service and you can negotiate the price.

prepare your trip by reading : "Memoirs of an Arabian Princess from Zanzibar"

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbaBrussels_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I chose this hotel as there are many good review in Tripadvisor.

But...was really not that great.

Reception service is really bad.and we went there for honeymoon and supposed to get a sea view room.they said updated to sea side room.

From our room we can see only other building. :(

I don't think they clean very well as I dropped a dirty cotton pad on the floor(next bin) first day and it is there till last day.

but Bar and restaurant staffs are very nice.friendly.

Too many beach boys out side of hotel beach.sooo annoyed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pingsjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The resort is very well kept and all the comunal areas are lovely. Rooms are very spacious with a nice terrace overlooking the sea.
We stayed there for 2 weeks on our honeymoon and despite they forgot to put on the room on our arrival the "special homeymooners package", the entire stay was great...Food at the hotel is good quality. the management should pay more attention on keep all the fruits and dessert on display covered because when we went there they were not covered with any thing expects bees and flyes, definetely a put off and serioulsy danger for your health. We suggested the manager to do sth about it and after a couple of days we saw they covered the dessert area , one little step at the time!the beach is great but the management should clean it regularly, insted of focusing only on the resort inside.Its is s a gorgeous beach , very busy in the morning with all the locals trying to sell you everything. Despite the hotel management suggestions ( in the manul inside every room) not to get too friendly with the locals, we must say that a part of the success of our holiday was also because we got to know all these great masai guys that were there. They are very friendly but on the same time very respectful and never too stressful on trying selling things.Also, we bought all our excursions from the beach boys (look for "Eddie Murphy" on the beach) and the standard was very good that we kept booking for more..
I strongly recommend the resort ( as long as they cover the fruits and dessert area!) and I also suggest to live the beach (day and night ) to the full since it is a gorgeous place: to have million of stars shining all above you was an amazing experience that I could never expereince in London , where I live. A big kiss to all our Masai friends: Daniel, Paul "the Senator", Peter, Paolino and all the other . Love, Nashepa

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nashepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed here for a week after a safari tour and had never experienced all inclusive before - this was a great introduction. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable but without insect screens so you have to use the air con to cool down. We made the mistake of leaving our door open for a sea breeze and woke to find our room buzzing with large flying bugs of some description! We certainly didn't leave to door open again after that.

The hotel location is ideal for relaxation but we had to drive for an hour to get to the diving area's and this added to the cost of the diving trips. That said we enjoyed the diving and the team were very friendly and professional. We found the beach boys to be friendly and initially intrusive but they soon leave you alone if you don't use their services. It didn't stop us from swimming in the sea which was glorious - be sure to take flip flops or water shoes as there can be a lot of sea urchins and shells. We also did the Dolphin Swim trip and this wasn't what we expected for the cost or the advertising. The sea was very choppy and it made it very difficult to see the dolphins let alone swim with them. Getting back to the boat was a task as well. Of the many boats out there we only saw 3 people attempt to do the swim - including us! If you think it will be like swimming in the blue lagoon with flipper think again!!

The hotel buffet was great but after a week became a bit tired so try the pizza restaurant for a change - book ahead. We didn't bother with the upstairs restaurant as it seemed expensive and not exceptionally different to warrant the cost. The service from all staff was great and to have a room to shower and change if you check out late is fantastic. It allows you to spend your last day at the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thejourneysofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach.
Top rate for The hotel in general, (the hygiene is one of their strenght).
Excellent cocktails and various/diverse food every day.
The rooms are very clean and cozy.
Nice staff.
Big swimming pools and confortable seats at the beach.
Not too noisy at night, not too many kids neither,
Just Perfect !

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DjMatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We flew into Stonetown and our transfer van was waiting for us, always a good start to a holiday. The driver acted as our tour guide on the hour’s drive to the resort, very interesting. The staff at reception was very welcoming and it was a very painless check-in. We were taken to our beautiful room (no. 456) and immediately knew that we were going to enjoy our week long stay. The room was very bright, spacious and clean with a great bathroom; we loved the fact that we had a balcony and could sit there after a day around the pool or a walk along the beach and relax with a nice glass of vino while the sun went down . This resort is an ‘all inclusive food and drinks plan’ including the (1 of) pizza dinner option; expensive top shelf liquor was not included - I'm a wine drinker and found the South African wines very acceptable. The large buffet dining area was better than we expected, even though the food was inclusive, they really didn't skimp on quality, quantity or variety, and although it was Christmas and the hotel was full we were always able to find a table at the times we wanted. We can’t speak highly enough of the staff who were very friendly and accommodating. All in all, a most enjoyable week and we are looking forward to our return to the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snookie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,723 reviews
13.5 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
27.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
0.4 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: $338 - $806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing