We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down hotel - Avoid Ora Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Reef Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were sent to this hotel when we were turned away from the Ora Makuna Majiwe one we booked and paid for and after visiting Myblue in Nungwi. Again, in the brochure it looks ok, even on sites it looks okay. But, it's very run down, the swimming pool was green and the food was terrible and almost non-existant! The 'breakfast' was the poorest I've seen in a hotel. They didn't even have butter! Tea or coffee was a shared flask... In the evening the salt and pepper pots had to be shared and returned to a communal table. It was a very depressing experience. The local staff though were very friendly with us as were the Director and his wife (although they only spoke Italian) they were very sympathetic and completely understood that we couldn't stay in such a squalid place, especially when they found out how much we had paid for the bungalows at Hakuna Majiwe. The bungalows that we had been promised to replace the ones we had booked down in Paje turned out to be two abandoned rooms, filthy and in my view un-fit for human habitation - certainly not a family on holiday. They tried to 'spruce' them up with paintbrushes while we there waiting and were going to 'replace' the screens/windows. I was not allowed to take photos...They did have other bungalows that looked nice but the hotel infrastructure is very much in need of investment. It looks like they're closing down. I don't know how much an Italian package costs - very cheap I imagine...I would strongly advise people to avoid this hotel and all the other Ora Hotels as the three we visited were of very poor standard and to go all the way to beautiful Zanzibar and stay in one would ruin anybody's holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
4  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Giu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralReefZanzibar, Direttore at Coral Reef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Massimiliano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralReefZanzibar, Direttore at Coral Reef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VolhaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralReefZanzibar, Direttore at Coral Reef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Di fronte al mare .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank s_max33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralReefZanzibar, Direttore at Coral Reef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralReefZanzibar, Direttore at Coral Reef Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
0.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,661 reviews
30.7 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
15.5 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
#3 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
520 reviews
10.9 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Beach Resort

Address: Pwani Mchangani, Zanzibar East Coast, Pwani Mchangani, Tanzania (Formerly Ora Resort Coral Reef)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: $46 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Reef Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Coral Reef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Coral Reef Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Zanzibar
Coral Reef Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing