We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have stayed for a week in mid February with 2 friends. Our arrival was complicated due to delays with our flights, but we have had the best welcome ever. The refreshing coconuts and freshly made dinner immediately helped us forget about our hassles.

Our room was very clean and well equiped. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The daily a la carte menu has a good variety and it is very good value for your money. We have tried everything from the menu and we were very happy with all the dishes. The prices are the same as in Europe though.

Room Tip: We did select a room with ocean view. However we did not stay in a beach front bungalow. We were dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsuzanna03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 583 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The place is soooo perfect!
Congrats to the guys there!
Thats what is called taking care about customers!
And these guys can manage!
Full with guests: everyone feels special
Few guests during rainyseason; less guests but service stays at the the same level!!
A real paradise where you feel at home from the first minute
Thanks again

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Markusberndorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel Next Paradise what a find - thanks again TA! We stayed here in January 2014.

The hotel is on the east coast of Zanzibar about 50 minutes drive from the airport. On our arrival the hotel transport was waiting with no problems (this service is free if you book for seven nights).

The hotel is set in a little village - be warned, despite the flash hotels Zanzibar is not a developed country and the Next Paradise is next to a village with very basic living standards. However, we felt utterly safe and although we did feel a big guilty to living it up on the door step of those that had so little money, we knew that by visiting Zanzibar we were actually helping the economy in the long run.

The staff of the Next Paradise require a special note as they were simply brilliant and you can't hope to meet a more attentive friendly and well trained group of people. We wished we had enough dollars left to leave them a bigger tip.

The hotel has managed to find the perfect balance between privacy for its guests without the feeling that you are completely isolated. Our room (6) was very spacious with a large bed. The mattress was firm but very comfortable. There was a good mosquito net, mini bar fridge and lovely shower. It was really nicely decorated and had its own character unlike those faceless rooms you get at certain other larger hotels we have all been in. The hotel site is nicely spread out with two pools, with only twenty rooms... having two pools to chose from was an unexpected bonus, we had them to ourselves most days.

The beach was at most a few seconds walk from any room and you then have access to the golden sands and blue Indian Ocean.

Food was of a high standard with breakfast serving fresh fruit and normal Continental fair with some hot options if you like. The lunch menu is good choice including a yummy club sandwich with great chips, and and can be delivered with a smile to your sun bed!

The evening meal is a set four course meal. At 3pm daily you can see the menu on the board which is unsurprisingly heavily weighted with fresh sea food, if this is not your bag the staff were more than happy for you to change your choice (just let them know by 6pm).

A few tips regarding this lovely hotel:
*There are no british plug sockets - only two pin european ones.
*Do you get hassled outside of the hotel? in all honesty we certainly didn't, When you walk along the beach in either direction and there are a few people selling you pictures etc, they will great you with a smile and a friendly Jambo (hello) and if you say no thank you they will smile and wish you a happy day.
*The beach is very shallow, so when it's low tide the sea retreats a fair old distance leaving the locals to harvest algea in the many pools left behind. If you are going to walk out bring some water shoes as although not a problem near the beach the further you go the more sea urchins you will find - you do not want to tread on those spikes.
* As we were not on malaria tablets we were paranoid about mozzys - wore long trousers, shirts and socks every night - we didn't see one mozzy!
* You will not see a sunset on this side of the island - so we went up the coast for dinner to Nungwi where there are beautiful beaches and had a lovely dinner and watched the sun go down.
* Turn left to walk along the beach and you will see very few hotels and the real Zanzibar ie poverty and beautiful beaches littered with Indian ocean rubbish. (such a shame)
* Turn right to walk along the beach to see less rubbish - lots of shops (Ikea Zanzibar included) and many big hotels

The hotel will organise trips for you with no problems and all prices within the hotel are set in Euros, though we took Dollars without any problems whatsoever. We went snorkeling with the local guys organised by the hotel - it was great and lovely to be a bit more "rustic" rather than organised tour american styley!

Bring everything you need with you, there is not a huge selection of shops nearby (ie just one) , so if you run out of sun cream or after sun you wont be able to nip outside and put your hands on it straight away.

Finally we used the Kite surfing place just to the right of the hotel - they were great. Also the pizzas there were GREAT and affordable - we defo. recommend a pizza for lunch one day!

I feel I have to put one negative in to add some balance to this review and have struggled to be honest, so here goes, the tiles in the pools need repairing as quite a few have fallen off (this really is the most minor of grips).

So in summery without doubt this hotel is a real find in a perfect location with amazing facilities and we have no reservations on giving this hotel five stars. The staff deserve as many stars as possible and are the best bit of this place without doubt.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows that everyone raves about are beautiful - but if you can't afford them don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonLucyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed here last October after having 4 days on safari in Kenya. Our trip was arranged my Mike Sweeney from http://www.zanzibarholidays.co.uk/ who was very helpful with every aspect of our holiday and we'd recommend him if your planning a tailor made holiday to Zanzibar / and or Safari..

We chose next paradise based upon the reviews we'd already read and wanted good food. In this respect Next Paradise didn't disappoint. the food was of a very high standard, and I personally never strayed from the set menu each day (although you could if you wanted to change any item of it). All the food was fresh and expertly prepared and presented. We ate fresh fish everyday.. which was just superb.

All the staff are very friendly giving the resort a homely kind of feel.. although that said we did notice that most guests kept themselves to themselves. If this isn't your cup of tea I'd suggest booking with friends!

The beach area is lovely, and the sea (when the tide is in) was refreshing.. the tide does go VERY far out.. but there are plenty of rock pools or the resort pools to dip in when this is the case.

The area is very isolated (we knew this prior to visiting) so for those of you who enjoy night life and lots of things to see out and about be prepared to travel for it! But for a romantic get away.. in an idyllic location we couldn't have chosen better.

Everything is as it should be, clean and tidy.. and pretty much as previously reviewed.

Our only comment/negative point would be the price of the water. It is simply over priced. Our tip would be to walk onto the beach, turn to the left about 100 yards to a small "village" shop/store. There you will find two stores both selling bottled water (the same type as the hotel) in both small and large bottles where 6 large bottles can be purchased for the price of one in the hotel! Soft drinks are also available here as are a few snacks etc.

With this one negative aside we'd definitely have no issues recommending Next Paradise to anyone who enjoys a relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle of life.. with good food in a stunning location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazuk1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here during my visit to Zanzibar and couldn't have been happier. My room was facing the ocean (beach front bungalow) so every morning I could enjoy the sun rise from my veranda. Staff was great and the owners very friendly and helpful. There was nothing that couldn't have been arranged. From arranging my diving lessons with diving centre to having dinner on my veranda. The place is absolutely charming and I am already planing my return :). Big thanks to everybody for making my stay so great!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mato776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Most hotels advertise with the promise to be there for full customer satisfaction - this is one of the very few hotels which deliver! We spent absolutely fantastic Easter holidays with our two year old at the Next Paradise. The staff was very friendly, coffee even delivered down to the beach, there are no set times for meals or anything, the food is delicious, the rooms are impeccable and lovely decorated, the property is cosy and peaceful, etc..... thankyou for a truely great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

excelent food, very nice people, clean,good price.you don t need to go anywhere else, because it is beautiful...also 2 swimming pools at hotel. also private beach area is great!. it is real paradise, not only "next".

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
2.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,762 reviews
13.7 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 174 in Zanzibar Island
541 reviews
20.3 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,837 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
959 reviews
27.5 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Next Paradise Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Address: Plot 88, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: $204 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Next Paradise Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Next Paradise Boutique Resort sits on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of Zanzibar, facing directly the Indian Ocean and protected by the coral reef which is about one kilometer away.located only 45 minutes drive from Stone Town and 30 minutes from Nungwi and Kendwua, (the beaches of north) it is perfect place to organize excursions, spice tours, swim with dolphins, big game fishing, kite surfing , diving and snorkeling to Mnemba atoll. The charming small hotel is well known because of its sober elegance, the excellent food and especially for its intimate and quiet atmosphere. At Next Paradise you will find 16 fully furnished rooms all provided with air conditioning and sea view private verandahs. Our staff is always happy to offer individual attention to every single guest of the hotel. Whether you're looking to book your honeymoon or need inspiration for a romantic getaway, we have special offers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Next Paradise Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next Paradise Boutique Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Next Paradise Boutique Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing