We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next Paradise ~ A gem in Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Next Paradise ~ A gem in Zanzibar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent spent a week at Next Paradise in November 2011 and from the day we arrived , we loved every minute of it. The hotel is fantastic, the food is really amazing and we were truly looked after by Stuart and Marina. I would definitely reccommend Next Paradise for anyone looking for a small, beautiful resort where you can enjoy great views; great hospitality and great food. The room which we stayed in was the Panorama suite. It was impeccably furnished and was secluded enough to offer just the right amount of privacy. Next paradise is close to One Ocean dive centre where we booked day trips to Mnemba Island. It is also close enough to Waikiki a vibey open air club which hosts awesome parties on a Friday night.

All in all, we loved our trip to Zanzibar and more especially our stay with Stuart and Marina at Next Paradise. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality and the way we were treated like family.

Room Tip: Panorama suite is perfect for any couple especially couples on honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    52
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
349
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I chose to spend our mini-honeymoon at Next Paradise, mainly based on the reviews here on Tripadvisor. We wanted to relax, remove ourselves from everyday life and experience something different. Neither of us wanted to stay in a generic "all-inclusive" but sought out Next Paradise as a more individual hotel.

Next Paradise is a beautiful resort. Stuart, the owner, has built it himself (being an architect by trade) and clearly takes a lot of pride in ensuring the hotel is well maintained and looked after. There are some issues outside of Stuart's control, such as the frequent power cuts, but there's a back-up generator and apart from the A/C switching of during the night and water occasionally not being available in the bathroom, visitors are not likely to suffer much from it.

The resort has amazing views of the Indian Ocean, and the local population of Pwani Machangani seem to accept their beautiful beach being shared with tourists. There are a few other resorts along the beach, which invites "beach boys" to sell their goods. This might bother some people but didn't at all bother us. Nobody bothers you whilst inside the hotel area, and if you walk down on the beach they are likely to approach you, but they are so friendly and easy-going that they're not a nuisance at all. Once you've spoken with them they will probably not bother you again, unless you wish to engage their services of course.

Although the resort itself is beautiful and its location equally stunning, visitors shouldn't expect 5-star service. Stuart and his partner Marina clearly care about their guests and would help you with any issue you might have. Their staff seem equally keen to provide good service. But visitors should remember this is a boutique hotel, not an international chain. Do not expect lots of fancy toiletries or any extra frills. Do not expect a bottle of wine or basket of fruit in your room, even if you're staying in the honeymoon suite. Bring your own creature-comforts such as body lotion and schampoo, and be prepared to pay extra for water and coffees/teas you may wish to enjoy during the day.

As Next Paradise is on the north-east coast, you will need to pay about 60 Euro if you want to go in to Stone Town (return trip). There are lots of excursions organised by the hotel, again for a fee. We didn't go for any excursions as we only stayed for 5 nights, but we did go in to Stone Town on two occasions and that worked well, with the driver picking us up as agreed each time.

The evening meals were very good, with a 4-course set menu (changed daily) which can be changed with advance notice in case of allergies or dislikes to something in particular. We never asked for menu changes and happily tried all that was served. We liked every single meal. On several occasions we saw our dinner being carried up from the ocean by local fishermen, which was a nice touch.

Breakfast is fine, considering it must be quite difficult to store fresh ingredients in a place where electricity might be cut at any time. We were served pancakes, pastries, bread, fruit, cereal and eggs which was fine. The only slight disappointment was the instant coffee, considering the hotel is owned by an Italian and that Tanzania is one of the world's largest producer of the Arabica coffee bean.

All in all, Next Paradise is the perfect place if you fancy getting away from it all and spend your days soaking up the sun in a genuine, friendly and beautiful environment. You can expect a personal welcome from the hotel owner and staff and you will eat amazingly fresh seafood every night.

We thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon and would love to come back to Zanzibar and Next Paradise soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaEngstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I spent several days at Next Paradise following a 7-day jam-packed safari in Northern Tanzania. Going from a super scheduled, tight itinerary to arrive at the beach for several days of no schedule was a fantastic idea.

Our group of 9 selected Next Paradise based solely on Trip Advisor reviews and we loved it in every way. I only recall compliments for Stuart, Sebastien and their team -- it was like we were being welcomed into their home as special guests.

The property itself is a collection of small rooms, large rooms and suites situated around a pool facing the Indian Ocean. Bungalows were under construction when we were there. That meant that there were choices for most everyone's budget.

I selected a room by the pool with a large veranda and it was perfect in every way. Upon arrival, the bed was decorated with rose petals, the ceiling fan was whirring and the lights were dimmed and music was playing. WiFi was plentiful throughout the property and the bartenders were happy to bring drink orders and lunch to your veranda or poolside table if you preferred to eat or drink there.

The food was fantastic -- I would go back just for the food. Breakfast meant fresh fruit and juices, omelets, pastries, crepes and fresh Tanzanian coffee. Lunch was not included in the half board plan, but was reasonably priced. And dinner was a special occasion every night. One evening, Sebastien served a giant grouper that he personally had caught that morning on a deep sea fishing expedition. Another night, he prepared a more traditional Tanzanian meal.

Stuart and Sebastien took special care to arrange excursion trips for our group -- everyone got to do exactly what they wanted. Among the trips they arranged, I'd recommend the snorkeling off the northern coast of the island and the walking tour in Stonetown. And please don't miss the trip to Jozani Chwaka Bay National Park -- you will get to see the red Colobus monkey which is only found in the park. It's no where else in the world. The monkeys are very comfortable with people and you can't take a bad photo of them. Sebastien will arrange all of your excursion tours. In our case, he joined us for some of the trips and that made it even more fun.

Next Paradise is not very close to Stonetown -- that's the beauty of it in my view. The secluded location means it's very quiet. If you're looking to go out every night in Stonetown to party, don't stay here. You'll spend a fortune in cabs and the travel back and forth to town will frustrate you. This would be a great location for honeymooners or a destination wedding, or perhaps a young family with small children wanting a quiet beach vacation. Our group, worn out from early morning game drives on safari, found it perfect, too.

I'm not the type of person to make return visits to countries I've been to -- I typically like to check a place off my list and spend my vacation time exploring someplace new. However, Next Paradise is on my list of places I must return to. I would fly to Tanzania from the U.S., solely to spend a holiday there -- it's that wonderful.

Room Tip: There are plenty of photos on the Next Paradise website. Our group didn't have any noise issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trav3lm0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here one week for our honeymoon and would really recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a beautiful small resort with excellent service and a more personal, homey touch. We stayed in the Panorama suite which was absolutely stunning with great views of the sea and a sense of privacy. Staying here you can definitely expect to get that special extra attention – staff and management will go out of their way to meet your wishes and needs! The tours and excursions they offer are well-organized and the dinners are absolutely delicious! We couldn’t have been happier with our choice of accommodation for our honeymoon. Special thanks to Stuart and Daniella for making this such a remarkable and memorable stay!

Think about:

There isn’t much to do around the area of the hotel, so bear this in mind when booking this hotel. Also there are strong tides at this part of Zanzibar, so swimming in the sea is not always possible; however we found that to be part of the charm of this location!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljutomer, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Next Paradise Hotel is a hotel where you feel really like in paradise! The complex of the hotel is very nice, I like specially the rooms were given to me a great sense of calm and rest in the hotel people are very friendly and they serve you in every little thing! With great pleasure, I will again return to this paradise on earth!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maribor,slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

..the best holidays ever in my life...
i was there 10 days and vas really awsome...
hope i will be back soon..again with the friends which know what is the best...
hotel and position of the hotel is on the right place...
the food/dinners was good taste / a lot of fish, fruits also a pasta...my best food...
everyday i was swimming in the swiming-pool..also by night...lol
zanzibar..next paradise i would like 2 come again....

Room Tip: ..beach front is exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ana z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Next paradise is a resort where you would always want to come back. gorgeous rooms,nature,excellent fresh sea food and alot of tropical fruits :).when you're overloaded with your life, you always wish to be in the Next paradise again. it's worth staying there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OMFimacupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
13.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Next Paradise Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Property: Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Address: Plot 88, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Next Paradise Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Next Paradise Boutique Resort sits on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of Zanzibar, facing directly the Indian Ocean and protected by the coral reef which is about one kilometer away.located only 45 minutes drive from Stone Town and 30 minutes from Nungwi and Kendwua, (the beaches of north) it is perfect place to organize excursions, spice tours, swim with dolphins, big game fishing, kite surfing , diving and snorkeling to Mnemba atoll. The charming small hotel is well known because of its sober elegance, the excellent food and especially for its intimate and quiet atmosphere. At Next Paradise you will find 16 fully furnished rooms all provided with air conditioning and sea view private verandahs. Our staff is always happy to offer individual attention to every single guest of the hotel. Whether you're looking to book your honeymoon or need inspiration for a romantic getaway, we have special offers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Next Paradise Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next Paradise Boutique Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Next Paradise Boutique Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing