We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth! One of the few truly unspoilt places on this planet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth! One of the few truly unspoilt places on this planet.”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

My husband and I first went to Zanzibar April 2007 and went back in February 2009 to get married. We're going back a third time in February 2011 and we can't wait. We were fortunate to make good friends on our last visits and are looking forward to seeing them again in three weeks time. Chumu Ame Haji from the village of Pwani Mchangani was a wonderful font of knowledge and helped us understand and appreciate the real Zanzibar. He organised boat trips, trips to Stone Town (with a very knowledgeable guide) trips to the local village and school, Jozani Forest and a wonderful spice tour. The prices were much more reasonable than the hotel we were staying at (Ocean Paradise) was able to offer and he even introduced us to some Masai warriors who agreed to dance for us at our wedding. He, and his wife, Fatima, and their family made us feel so welcome to the island that we invited them to join us and our family at our wedding and we've remained friends ever since. If you need anything, Chum is definitely the man to see.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh_and_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    124
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
53
268
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2011

If you are looking for a place to relax than this is the right place to be. Clean, hot but windy perfect for sun tan and also for kite-surfing, no invading staff people. Beach boys everyone talks about are nice and don't come to you if you stay in the resort area (and this is something you will appreciate especially compared to other places on the island).
The owner and his staff are always there to help and also this matters considering we are in Africa, black Africa.
We went for 3 tours and had no real problem (being on a boat while raining with big waves running into us was not great but at the end a nice adventure).
Use shillings to buy things from beach boys and dollars to pay the rest (keep an eye to the production date of dollars...better if after 2003, but we had no problem at all).
I was forgetting to say good food.
I would only recommend to sign every day the drink list just to make sure everything is correct.
I will go back to Waikiki... I hope!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foschiroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2011

we spend here a wonderfull week in total relax.
Good cooking, nice room, warm hospitality.
The beach is a dream with white sand and hot seawater.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muttiBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

The weather is wonderful the location and the see too (not too annoying tides), good italian food and bar service. Italian style hospitality for a week dedicated to relax and fun. We would come back as soon as possible. Fabio and large family

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I have been traveling through southern and eastern Africa with a friend for about 10 weeks this past summer. After two amazing, adventurous and strenuous months we decided to enjoy the rest of our trip in a more relaxed way in Zanzibar.

Chance would have it that we stumbled upon the Waikiki Resort on the islands immensely beautiful east coast between Matemwe and Kiwengwa. I have been to many places in this world, but I can say without exaggerating that I have never ever before been greeted with an amount of hospitality equal to what we experienced at Waikiki resort.

Especially in terms of flexibility as to the accommodation arrangements and taking care of the guests personal wellbeing. The service oriented and caring attitude of the management is absolutely reflected in the way the staff deals with guests as well. People are well-trained, funny and in a genuinely good mood almost constantly which makes for a very nice atmosphere.

The beach is amazingly beautiful every time of the day. In the morning when the tide is low one can watch the villagers gather clams and seaweed in the lagoon. During the day the crystal clear water is anything between turquoise and dark blue. Fishermen return to shore in their small sailing boats during the most amazing sunsets.

Waikiki also offers a variety of sightseeing activities on the island as well as on the sea. For instance boat trips to the best snorkeling areas or watching sea turtles. A highlight is the opportunity to learn kite-surfing and rent equipment on the beach right in front of the resort. The lagoon with its calm and shallow water is perfect for beginners.

Even though there are several other resorts around, overall the area is rather unpopulated, thus very calm and relaxing. At the same time Waikiki is located close enough to Nungwi in the north which easily allows for excursions to a livelier and more touristic area, if that is what you wish to do from time to time.

In summary, I absolutely recommend Waikiki resort. My experience has been very positive in every possible way. Seen as the resort is a *** (three stars) you really get a lot for your money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsteinhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Quiet, laid back, extremely friendly staff, beautiful beach, great cocktails, inexpensive, definitely a good place!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franzandreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Nice people, high culturale level, honest people managing this village. Spontaneous and not typically touristic

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedoraquattrocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
31.7 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
236 reviews
3.8 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
31.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Zanzibar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Property: Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Address: Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Zanzibar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located on one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches of Zanzibar : Pwani Mchangani. The resort is surrounded by the lush green palm trees and bushes. Built right on the beach so forget your shoes and relax. A perfect place to chill-out. Taste an Authentic Italian Pizza from our wood oven and enjoy your food on our newly built beach terrace next to the Indian Ocean. Welcome to Waikiki....Feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waikiki Zanzibar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Zanzibar Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Waikiki Hotel Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing