We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“relaxing, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“relaxing, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Me and my boyfriend spent two weeks in this hotel. The owners and all staff are very friendly and helpful in case of any problems, not even related to the hotel. We didn't even feel like in hotel, but like in friends' holiday house. The whole resort reminded me Hawaii. There is sand everywhere around. You go out of your room, which was like little house and you step directly to sand. Restaurant is just few steps from room, as well as beach. Restaurant is nice, situated outside under the roof. Breakfast was very good, we had pastries, fruits, and then selection of cooking breakfast, like omelet, pancakes, waffles, french toast, etc. I would recommend to add some vegetable and cheese. However what we had was perfectly fine. We also ate dinners there as there is nothing around. The dinners are very nice too, but little bit expensive. At the beach you have sunbeds and you can relax there whole day and no one will bother you. People selling souvenirs are not allowed to come to you. They just walk on the beach and offering their products. In case you are interested, you come to them. The beach is very long, so you can make nice walks during the day as well. Beach and the whole resort is cleaned every morning. Also the rooms are cleaned every morning. We had the smallest room, but it was enough. The fan was working great, so no air con needed. I was just upset there was no Cannibal party at that time as season just started. Was really looking forward to that. Anyway, we had very nice time at this resort and really enjoyed it. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is very relaxing, friendly and for good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    107
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
236
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Highly recommend! Reasonably priced, excellent customer service, owners are very flexible with check-in/out times, and attentive to details. Only 16 rooms total so a very nice, private, and relaxing place to stay. They even made us early breakfast when we had to leave early in the morning for excursions. Sarah and Flavio do an outstanding job and we will definitely return when if we get the chance!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kristy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The owners/managers were unbelievably detailed. From check in to check out we never had an issue. At any given time someone can have a problem in the room etc. but they would nip it in the bud. Every morning at breakfast you were asked to give a short answer for five simple questions in reference to your stay. This would give you a chance to say in advance that perhaps something was not working properly. It then was immediately taken care of. We did organized trips through the tour guide in the hotel and everything was perfect. We walked the beautiful beach every day we had free and it was really fun. The bar made great happy hour drinks and that was always fun. We stayed in the city and had planned on returning. After we started staying at Waikiki we knew we would prefer to stay our entire time there. I would fully recommend this property

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Waikiki is a chilled, family run hotel that is extremely charming. The simplicity of the place is what makes it so charming compared to the 4/5 star hotels which share the same beach. We went in off season (yes slightly rainy) so it was fairly quiet compared to what it must be in high season, but the benefit of this was that the beach felt like our own and what a stunning beach it is.
Sarah and Flavio are lovely people and are keen to make sure that guests are comfortable and if anything is 'wrong" they do their utmost best to fix the problem straight away.
The staff are wonderful and most helpful and the food very good, although a snack menu at lunch would be welcome. Unfortunately the pizza oven was closed for the season, but I am sure and heard that they are outstanding. Another good reason to return to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carocrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Waikiki so much we extended our four nights to six! The resort is located along one of the best beaches we experienced in Zanzibar (white sands, turquoise sea and very friendly locals). There is a conveniently located jet ski centre a few mins down from the resort front and an abundance of snorkelling trips to the, closely located and very popular, Mnemba Island which is about 45mins out by boat. The staff at Waikiki are friendly, helpful and connect with their guests in a sociable and pleasant manner. Above all it's great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riebeek Kasteel, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Friends and I spent four delightful days at Wakiki. The beach is pristine and clean; the ocean blue and clear. The resort is managed by an Italian couple, which brings about freshly baked bread, cake, doughnuts and croissants for breakfast. Fresh seafood was initially in short supply, but management made up by offering us lobster at prawns prices. Rooms are spacious and adequate. We especially loved the “lobster boat” on the beach, but a pity about the high booze prices. Overall, a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived in the off season (long rains), expecting there to be very little available, but was pleasantly surprised. Resort staff are very friendly and helpful. Beautiful white beach. Very lovely managed by a friendly european couple. Very nice resort with loads of specialties (pizza oven, boat bar, open restaurant, etc.). A fun place to stay. Rooms were spacious and clean. Shower is nice and big. Massage was very nice. Will recommend this resort to young people (also those young at heart) for a fabulous fun time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roecha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
31.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
13.6 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
12.1 mi away
Moonshine Uroa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Zanzibar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Property: Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Address: Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Zanzibar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located on one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches of Zanzibar : Pwani Mchangani. The resort is surrounded by the lush green palm trees and bushes. Built right on the beach so forget your shoes and relax. A perfect place to chill-out. Taste an Authentic Italian Pizza from our wood oven and enjoy your food on our newly built beach terrace next to the Indian Ocean. Welcome to Waikiki....Feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Waikiki Zanzibar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Zanzibar Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Waikiki Hotel Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing