We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leave your shoes at home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Leave your shoes at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The location of this resort is Great, right on the beach. The atmosphere is very relaxed, you only need your shoes again when you leave. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The staff were always very helpful and friendly.
They organised us a trip to go snorkelling which was well organised and the snorkelling was awesome. Can't believe how time flies when you having fun.
We found the food for half board very limited, would be nice to have a little more choice. Pizzas on the beach were sooooo tasty. I thought the price of their drinks were pricey.
They have a party every Friday night, so if you not into loud music avoid this venue on a Friday as everything takes place in the middle which is right outside the rooms.
We had no water for nearly a whole day which was very unpleasant, but I believe it affected the whole side of the island.

Room Tip: Very hot, pay a little extra for a room with air-conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    120
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
52
265
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nicely decorated and quality resort. Nice and quiet place except for friday nights when there's party night at Waikiki (which is either good or bad, your choice). The food is good, especially the pizzas and friday night's local food dinner was also delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikkkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

During our stay at the Waikiki Resort (from Dec 22, 2013 to Jan 04 , 2014) we were feeling like at home. The staff was really looking to meet our expectations. Food was excellent (the pizzas yummy); cocktails at the happy hour were also unforgettable.
We had a Safari villa and our kids (young adults) were split in two Ethnic villas, which are a bit smaller. If you request a/c, then you will need to book the … All villas are located close to the restaurant and at 30 seconds from the private beach. Sand is cleaned every morning and as it’s only accessible for the Waikiki guests.
Mr Mirage arranged for us two excursions: visit of a spice farm and the visit of Stone Town with a guide. We were feeling so well and relax at Waikiki that we did not arrange for additional excursions.
By walking on the beach at low tide, we saw all the ladies from the villages harvesting see weeds. At high tide, this beach becomes a kite surf paradise.
On Friday night, the Cannibal Party starts with an impressive acrobatic spectacle and is followed by a disco party. It is very famous; this party attracts a lot of people.
Early breakfasts were arranged to allow early pickup by the One Ocean Dive centre. I really appreciated this facility.
If you want to rent a scooter, than you will need to get an international drive license with you. Otherwise, a foreigner-driving permit can obtain against few dollars and 2 to 3 days.
We enjoyed very much our stay at Waikiki and warmly recommend this place to anybody wanting to spend some good time at the beach hassle free and relax.

Again, thank you Waikiki for these excellent holidays.


Philippe

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We decided to stay at Waikiki Reosrt on the North East coast of Zanzibar based on the guest reviews on Tripadvisor. It is a great for value 3* resort right on the beach. The customer service was great and every morning we were asked about if all was in order. It very nice small resort., the food was tasty and well prepared with the best tasting pizzas. The owners Fabian and Sarah was very friendly, hands on and customer orientated. Waikiki Resort is highly recommendable. Maybe not ideal for families as limited activites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller160411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The issue for us was trying to book an excursion through the hotel to go snorkeling at Mnemba. When we asked about booking a trip, the guy told us he would find us at dinner to confirm details. We showed up to dinner and he was nowhere to be found. Apparently he had gone home. The next morning we asked about the trip again and he said the weather didn't permit it...fine, so we asked about booking for the next day. He said he would let us know in a couple of hours after calling the captain. Hours later I found him and asked for follow-up...he clearly had not spoken to anyone to confirm our trip. Instead, he put us in touch with his assistant to handle things. The assistant confirmed the time we were to leave the next day (7am) and we thought we were all set. So we woke up early and were ready by 7am and he was nowhere to be found. The manager informed us that the assistant said we had never confirmed the price of the trip so he didn't book it!!! Well, it would have been helpful if he had asked us to confirm it in the first place! We had to leave to catch our flight and were not able to experience Mnemba.

At check out, a lady added our bill using a 'broken' calculator. My bf did the addition in his head while she did it on her calculator and she repeatedly overcalculated it. We had to show her it was wrong. She kept saying 'eh sorry eet is brokeen' and continued to use it anyway. WTF? They also tried to charge us 75,000 tsh for a cab to the airport - we got our own for 50,000.

The only good thing about the place was the food, especially the pizza. I would recommend if you stay here not to try to book any activities through the hotel. Just go out to the beach and arrange trips with the locals...they are much fairer and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xparadisekissx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

What can i say, I arrived a little under the weather from some bug and after day one i didnt care.
Very warm and friendly greeting from the big man himself who's enthusiasm for his and his wifes resort was obvious from the outset!

Rooms were kept spotless and the local monkey kept us amused by day. Local traders on the beach stay at a distance unless you leave the resorts comforts to barter with them which you must do!

Pizza here was awesome and friday night BBQ meal was well worth it. The party on Friday night is loud and lively so don't expect to be able to hide from it =)

My only complaint would be a lack of good coffee but then the bountiful supply of fantastic cocktails more than makes up for it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yamess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a really nice vacation with my friends, I liked that the hotel proximity to the sea and to observe some of the traditions of the locals from my window.

The rooms are nice and the service is very friendly, I would definitely go back.

my friends and I have so much fun at parties beach and relaxed in the comfortable facilities

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Celene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
31.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
3.8 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Zanzibar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Property: Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Address: Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Zanzibar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located on one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches of Zanzibar : Pwani Mchangani. The resort is surrounded by the lush green palm trees and bushes. Built right on the beach so forget your shoes and relax. A perfect place to chill-out. Taste an Authentic Italian Pizza from our wood oven and enjoy your food on our newly built beach terrace next to the Indian Ocean. Welcome to Waikiki....Feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Waikiki Zanzibar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Zanzibar Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Waikiki Hotel Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing