We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Peace of mind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace of mind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Waikiki. I was looking for a place that provides comfort while focusing on simplicity and that's what I found. The place's is built on an ecological and social minded concept which you find in the simple but cosy structure of the rooms. The service was excellent, the people warm and welcoming.
The location is beautiful as it is not that packed with big All Inclusive resorts that disturb the natural atmosphere by noisy music and party people.
For snorkling go on a trip to Mnemba Island where you have a high abundance in fish and corals.
Definitely a place to relax and refresh!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat07985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    113
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
49
250
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Before visiting Waikiki my boyfriend and I stayed in a resort about 20 minutes away that was much more expensive but not nearly as good of quality as Waikiki. We were pleasantly surprised by the authenticity of everything here. The owner Fabio and his wife Sarah were genuinely nice people and upon arrival we were warmly welcomed. We were given a thorough tour of the property which was very helpful. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was a very nice touch. The property was very charming, nice rustic boats as tables around the bar. The accommodations were perfect. We had our own little bungalow right on the beach with a beautiful view of the ocean. Our room was turned down twice a day and the staff were very friendly. The bartenders were great and they really know how to make a good cocktail. The pizza was amazing but I must admit we were slightly disappointed with a few items on the menu. For an italain run establishment the pasta dishes were pretty bland and unsatisfying. But twice a week they had a Swahili buffet which made up for all the shortcomings on the menu. The buffet food was authentic African cuisine and very tasty! We would've been happy with that every night! On Friday night there was a big party where people from all over the island come to partake in the fun. It was great! There was good entertainment and delicious cocktails. At low tide it's nice to walk out to the coral reef where you can see a lot of marine life like starfish, crabs, squid etc... but be careful as there are a lot of sea urchins around so its best to get one of the locals to guide you on walk. We also booked an excursion through Waikiki to go snorkeling on Mnemba Island. This could've been a bit more organized as we had requested to have our own private boat so we could snorkel as long as we wanted without worrying about other guests and although we were promised this we ended up getting placed on the boat with three other couples. It wasn't so bad but a few of the people only wanted to snorkel for like 20 minutes and they were done, we paid a good amount of money so we would've like to stay longer and get our money's worth. Also the snorkel gear could've been better, it was in pretty poor shape and unsanitary. And be aware that the drive to Mnemba Island is very rough as the road is pretty undeveloped. We went in a big van and the ride was very bumpy, I think it would've been better if they had a four wheel drive vehicle. So if you are prone to getting carsick you might want to take some medication to subdue it. Overall I would definitely recommend Waikiki to couples looking for a more intimate and personal experience in Zanzibar. Not really for families or people with children as there isn't a pool and the party would not be ideal. To be honest my boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic atmosphere and that is exactly what we found, we liked the fact that there weren't any noisy children running around the property. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Waikiki and if we ever go back to Zanzibar this is where we would want to stay!!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach obviously will have a much nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessief26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have spent 2 weeks and with hand on my heart I can suggest this place to all my friends. Nice quiet clean beach, warm water, perfect kite surfing/SUP conditions windy every day... Friendly staff, nice owners. Everyone always very helpfull. The place was buzzing with people for Friday night party, which was a load of fun. Usually quiet during the day giving you opportunity to enjoy the sunshine, perfect weather and swimming in warm water. Good food- especially Zanzibar night. Delicious pizza and cocktails. Went solo, but never felt alone. Great spot all together.

Room Tip: All roomas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojocherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great place to relax, go diving, do watersports. Very friendly staff who make you feel at home instantly. Lots of creativity and passion in the air! Great value for money. Good learning system for local students. Beautiful beach and lovely cabins. Good vibe!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D7064OQLisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thanks guys for making our vacation so good. We had a wonderful time during our 2 weeks vacation. Rally enjoyed the Friday parties, the food(specially the African and Zanzibar nights), the nice cocktails on the bar.
Very friendly stuff, always ready to answer questions and help out.
The place is clean with nice sandy beach and kite school right on the spot.
Recommend it for all type of vacations - family, friends, couples or solo.
Thanks again for all. Will visit again for sure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tod Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarifa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was the best decision ever to come to Waikiki for our stay! Such a nice quiet place, such nice and open minded people ! Thank you!
We came to kitesurf and had every day wind, and we were almost alone in the beautiful lagoon.

I would recommend this place with best feelings further!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeyaMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I chose this resort purely from the reviews on Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint one bit!
On arrival Flavio welcomed us with a cool drink which was much needed after our 17 hours of travelling, he completely made us feel at home and there was no question he couldn't answer. the staff here are incredibly accomodating.
The room was excellent - very large, and cleaned so well every day, they literally managed to remove every grain of sand.
The beach was perfect - at low tide you can walk right out to the reef where there are starfish, and other marine life (a local took us out and so we paid he $10 dollars- but i would go with a local as they know the best wading route out there, as it is a minefield of sea urchins)
at high tide you could swim, and in the evenings we would sit with a cool beer on the beach and watch people kite surfing.
There were a few beach boys but once you had been there for a couple of days they would recognise you weren't new and would leave you alone, you just have to be firm - and literally show no interest.
You can go to the other hotels for drinks/food, although they are much more pricey, and we loved the 'boats' at the bar you can sit and chill out in.
I was very apprehensive about the friday night party, but actually it was fun, it wasn't a 'rave', you didn't get 'hassled by locals' as someone had put in their review, it was fun and had a good atmosphere.
The food was good, not a massive selction, but we loved the pizza!
the food was a little slow coming out after ordering, but we weren't in a rush to get anywhere - so it didn't really matter.
Overall its a little snippet of paradise - i would much rather stay somewhere intimate like here rather than a large resort where you are one of a hundred guests.
i would recommend going to the south of the island to swim with dolphins.
All in all it was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room with A/C - on our last night we had to switch rooms and had one with A/C, it was hot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
31.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Reef Beach Resort
Coral Reef Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Zanzibar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Property: Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Address: Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Zanzibar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located on one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches of Zanzibar : Pwani Mchangani. The resort is surrounded by the lush green palm trees and bushes. Built right on the beach so forget your shoes and relax. A perfect place to chill-out. Taste an Authentic Italian Pizza from our wood oven and enjoy your food on our newly built beach terrace next to the Indian Ocean. Welcome to Waikiki....Feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jovago.com so you can book your Waikiki Zanzibar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Zanzibar Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Waikiki Hotel Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing