We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sofia Sea View(Pwani Mchangani)
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moonshine Villa(Pwani Mchangani)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Villa Kipara(Pwani Mchangani)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Silver Sands Beach Hotel(Pwani Mchangani)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Waridi Beach Resort & Spa(Pwani Mchangani)
$134
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Dhow Club, Zanzibar(Pwani Mchangani)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfescape Village - Zanzibar(Pwani Mchangani)(Great Value!)
$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$466
$438
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Reef Beach Resort(Pwani Mchangani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
360
135
30
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
135
30
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzathe friday night partybeach baracrobatic showone of a kindthe food is greatus dollarslunch and dinnernice beachlow tidepalm treesflavioislandzanzibarbarakaafricawind
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 549 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thanks guys for making our vacation so good. We had a wonderful time during our 2 weeks vacation. Rally enjoyed the Friday parties, the food(specially the African and Zanzibar nights), the nice cocktails on the bar.
Very friendly stuff, always ready to answer questions and help out.
The place is clean with nice sandy beach and kite school right on the spot.
Recommend it for all type of vacations - family, friends, couples or solo.
Thanks again for all. Will visit again for sure

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tod Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was the best decision ever to come to Waikiki for our stay! Such a nice quiet place, such nice and open minded people ! Thank you!
We came to kitesurf and had every day wind, and we were almost alone in the beautiful lagoon.

I would recommend this place with best feelings further!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaniaR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I chose this resort purely from the reviews on Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint one bit!
On arrival Flavio welcomed us with a cool drink which was much needed after our 17 hours of travelling, he completely made us feel at home and there was no question he couldn't answer. the staff here are incredibly accomodating.
The room was excellent - very large, and cleaned so well every day, they literally managed to remove every grain of sand.
The beach was perfect - at low tide you can walk right out to the reef where there are starfish, and other marine life (a local took us out and so we paid he $10 dollars- but i would go with a local as they know the best wading route out there, as it is a minefield of sea urchins)
at high tide you could swim, and in the evenings we would sit with a cool beer on the beach and watch people kite surfing.
There were a few beach boys but once you had been there for a couple of days they would recognise you weren't new and would leave you alone, you just have to be firm - and literally show no interest.
You can go to the other hotels for drinks/food, although they are much more pricey, and we loved the 'boats' at the bar you can sit and chill out in.
I was very apprehensive about the friday night party, but actually it was fun, it wasn't a 'rave', you didn't get 'hassled by locals' as someone had put in their review, it was fun and had a good atmosphere.
The food was good, not a massive selction, but we loved the pizza!
the food was a little slow coming out after ordering, but we weren't in a rush to get anywhere - so it didn't really matter.
Overall its a little snippet of paradise - i would much rather stay somewhere intimate like here rather than a large resort where you are one of a hundred guests.
i would recommend going to the south of the island to swim with dolphins.
All in all it was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room with A/C - on our last night we had to switch rooms and had one with A/C, it was hot to say the least!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Flavio and Sarah (the owners) are delightful very helpful and friendly, they have the best staff out there. The food could use a little more seasoning but overall it was good. It was very relaxing after a busy 5 day safari on the mainland. The beach is beautiful just be mindful of the tides. We would recommend the Waikiki Zanzibar Resort to anyone that will be traveling to Zanzibar!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I have been to Zanzibar a number of times and stayed at several resorts on the East, North and West of the island. While each place had its high points, Waikiki is the best overall. Why? First, I remember nothing outstanding of the management of the other resorts were we've stayed. But Sarah and Flavio went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. Sarah was very patient answering my many emails before arriving and it was her smiling face that welcomed us when we arrived.

Some below said the food was "bland" or otherwise criticized it. They must not have been at the same resort. Our food was delicious and the menu had quite a variety. There was even a huge brick oven at the beach bar with fresh oven baked pizza!

The bartenders made the best "Dawa" I have ever had. (Asanteni!) and the rest of the staff were very helpful. A few times at dinner a fork or knife fell of the table, practically as soon as it hit the floor a new one was brought to the table.

The East coast of Zanizbar is beautiful, and this resort fits in nicely. It's not a huge hotel resort, but who wants that? Waikiki is just big enough to take good care of you but small enough, so that you can still feel somewhat 'alone on the island.' The resort is very quiet except for Friday night when they have a late night party. Not our cup of tea, so we arrived on Saturday. Perfect.

The beach bar is made up of several old dhow (Zanzibari boats). Very cool. In fact the only suggestion I had was that they put more pillows in the boats for chillin' out. ;-) I saw that someone complained about not having a 'pool'!? Who goes to Zanzibar and swims in a pool? It's the Indian Ocean, no need for a pool.

We go to Zanzibar every 1-2 years, and without a doubt, we won't hesitate to go back to Waikiki!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for the Domino Deluxe room close to the beach. ;-)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freedlun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews