We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Waridi Beach Resort & Spa(Pwani Mchangani)
$134
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Dhow Club, Zanzibar(Pwani Mchangani)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$466
$438
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Reef Beach Resort(Pwani Mchangani)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moonshine Villa(Pwani Mchangani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Sofia Sea View(Pwani Mchangani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Sands Beach Hotel(Pwani Mchangani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Pwani Vanilla House(Pwani Mchangani)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
360
135
30
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
135
30
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzathe friday night partybeach baracrobatic showone of a kindthe food is greatus dollarslunch and dinnernice beachlow tidepalm treesflavioislandzanzibarbarakaafricawind
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 549 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hospitality, cordiality and more other characterize the owner Flavio and his trusted staff. I spent in Waikiki Resort a fantastic holiday with my girl-friend. Our room "safari" was very pleasant, comfortable and every day buzzed against mosquito from a friendly woman. Good food and always appetizing choices in the intimate restaurant at 50 meters from the white sandy beach. I really recommend it to everybody!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ele_Dado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about Waikiki resort. In my opinion we found the gem of Zanzibar, which is largely contributed to the resort owner/manager, Flavio. Here are our thoughts on the hotel/resort:

Location:
Located in Pwani Mchangani area of Zanzibar, Waikiki has the best stretch of beach we experienced in all of Zanzibar, surpassing the highly regarded, Matemwe area. There is a massive stretch of beach that is pure white coral sand (seaweed/coral/sea urchin free). Furthermore, there is a natural, chest deep lagoon that you easily walkout to at low tide. This is a bonus when most of the island is knee-deep water (aka – you can actually swim here)

Environment:
The Waikiki Resort is a laid back, beach environment, as it should be. It’s very relaxing and easy to get settled quickly. The resort has a great layout with rooms around the perimeter, the main dinner/reception area up front and a nice open garden area in the middle with a beach bar and second restaurant located by the water.

For those interested in kiteboarding, there is a school located onsite that has great staff and their equipment is all current and in great condition.

Rooms:
We ended up staying in a few different rooms during our stay, as we kept extending it. All the rooms we stayed in were quite nice. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious (particularly for the price) and they have the best mosquito nets I’ve ever seen in a hotel. Each room has a nice porch area as well, which is great to sit at in the evenings.

There is wireless in the restaurant, but its range usually extends to all the rooms and sometimes even down to the beach cabanas.

Restaurant:
The restaurant is quite good. There is a mixture of classic Italian dishes, African offerings and casual, comfort food. They have specials everyday to mix things up and there is a special seafood menu you can splurge on if you’re in the mood for fresh lobster and other delicacies from the sea. We had no problems with any of the food. In fact, it’s one of the only places we stayed during our entire trip that gave us ZERO stomach issues.

Staff:
The staff at Waikiki make the resort that much better. Everyone is extremely friendly and accommodating. It’s very clear that the staff are treated well and it’s a good working environment.

The key to Waikiki, however, is the owner/manager, Flavio. He is hands down the best host I have ever encountered at a hotel. It’s clear that he loves what he does and he really goes above and beyond to ensure you have a great stay (but NOT in that over the top “try hard” sort of way).

If you haven’t gathered by now, we really enjoyed our stay at Waikiki. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Me and my boy-friend are just back from an amazing week spent at Waikiki. We stayed in an "ethnic" room whith all the necessary comfort. The beach with white sand and the beautiful sea are probably the main actractive of Waikiki, but the staff and the food are perfect as well. The resort is not the usual one since it is small and intimate. We really had good times and we hope to be back as soon as possible.
Elisa e Giuseppe

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elisamasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A wonderful holiday that I suggest to every one. A wonderful beach with lovely people, Excellent food (I Put On 2 Kg in ten days), Room was very comfortable.....everythings it was Beautiful!

Thank's Guys - see you soon

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 26Federico85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

a little village inside the wild nature of Zanzibar. a magical beach with lovely people and a really good food. it seems to be at home, maybe better than in Italy.....
a wonderful holiday that I suggest you to every one...thanks to Flavio, Alberto, Stefania, Serengeti, Daudi, Body and all the staff....also to Mirajy....
go on on this way.....I hope to see you soon to spend another beautiful and unforgettable holiday....kisses....

Room Tip: the spirit od Africa, very warmly
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Federica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews