We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in remote location”
other travelers have booked this property
Lovely woodland setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely woodland setting
Driveway view (summer) Driveway view (winter)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Lovely woodland setting
Driveway view (summer)
Driveway view (winter)
New spacious kitchen
New well-equipped dining kitchen
Living room with log burning stove
Living room seats 5
Cosy bathroom with bath and electric shower
Warm double bed room
Second bedroom with twin beds
Unlimited logs for the wood burning stove
Rear view of this detached cottage
Private woodland setting
Mountain views from most rooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Inverfarigaig, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
6anne3
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in remote location”
Reviewed September 1, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Lovely cottage in a really remote location (which might not suit everyone).
Kitchen facilities were really good with a large farmhouse table which we spend a lot of time around.
We sat outside more than in the lounge as the garden was lovely.
Easy to get about to Loch Ness and the surrounding area.
Only downside was that the only bathroom was quite chilly and downstairs, through the lounge and kitchen.
The owner was in touch on the day we arrived to make sure everything was ok which was nice.
We’d definitely return if we were in the area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
6anne3
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely remote cottage”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely cottage in remote location which suited us perfectly for a 4 day break. The views driving to and from were stunning and the garden caught lots of sun so perfect for tea outside after a day out.
Well equipped kitchen with everything we needed (and we cooked proper meals each day).
Comfortable lounge with 2 sofas, we didn't use the wood burner as it was plenty warm enough without.
Arrival instructions/directions were sent ahead so we knew exactly how to find the cottage.
Ideal for exploring the area around Loch Ness from the less touristy side.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Thanks for your visit and the great review Anne. Delighted you had such a lovely time in Woodside and that it had everything you needed for your holiday. Welcome back any time !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmanmil...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, friendly owners and fantastic experience all-round”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Title of the review says it all. The scenery was outstanding and the location that perfect balance of close enough to civilisation to make the sights accessible but far enough away so that the serenity of the Highlands could be fully appreciated. Our host Turan was clear and concise in his instructions and the house was clean, well maintained and homely. My guests and I enjoyed our time immensely, and we look forward to returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
Thanks so much for the great review Eliot. Really pleased to hear you and your friends enjoyed Woodside cottage and the Highlands so much. It'd be a pleasure to have you back. With thanks and best wishes - Turan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassado...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Good location, although need to travel to walks as only a couple out the gate that are safe for dogs. We did have a lovely week at the cottage. Spoilt with the owner claiming the £50 deposit for picking up 6 dog poos (we had cleaned the garden and picked up previous occupants too). We took a large dog bed and throws to protect sofa from any wet paws should they accidentally jump up. We have two non-shedding small dogs that are now apparently 'wolf like' and have apparently now started shedding their coat around a house, where we were out most of the time. A new duvet cover has been claimed as the apparent 'wolf like' hair has destroyed the duvet.....that they may have jumped on twice! The owner states the cottage has been a rental for 10 years yet only two reviews on TA. Bats in eaves kept us awake till 3am most mornings and the bed had a winter lumpy duvet which was old and far too hot for the summer. Nice location, just not a great holiday letting experience, especially when dogs are accepted. We have cockerpoos not wolves!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2017
Hi Colin, we're glad to read you had a lovely week in Woodside cottage. Thanks for the nice comments you wrote in the guest book at Woodside "We had a great week here with our dogs. " When we met on your last full day you both said it had been wonderful and no problems. I am so sorry that after you left we had to ask to retain the £50 safety deposit. Thank you for agreeing with Trip Advisor that we could retain it. I know it is annoying when it happens (this is only the 2nd time in ten years we have asked to keep the safety deposit : we are very easy-going) but we honestly cannot use the duvet cover your dogs slept on for future guests. So we must buy a new one. Also our cleaner had to spend an hour getting dog hair off the sofa and our gardener nearly an hour checking the gardens for dog mess after finding some, over and above their usual cottage preparations routines, so I hope you can see we are not being unreasonable. We try to be fair. We do ask all dog owners in advance not to allow dogs on furniture or beds, or an extra clean up fee is payable. Anyway - Woodside is back to our very high standard and we have taken your advice and bought new duvets. The bats do fly around outside in the summer for a few weeks. When I met you both; you said you'd enjoyed seeing them and they weren't a problem. We also have a pair of swallows nesting in the car port. We love seeing them every year when they return. Lots of nature round here ! Apart from the deposit issue, we're pleased you had a great week and many thanks for your visit and feedback. With best wishes - Turan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phylly A
1 review
“Perfect cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Half an hour's drive from Inverness yet in the most peaceful, beautiful spot you could wish for, this cottage has everything you need to come home to after days exploring the stunning surroundings. We (family of four) were here in winter (and hoping to come again next winter!) - I imagine in summer it would be even more beautiful. The cottage is clean, comfortable and cozy, lovely big gardens, wood-burning stove, excellent kitchen equipment, comfy beds and all the peace and quiet you could wish for. Glorious. Also excellent wifi, a great selection of books and games and owners who leave a little welcome present (and turn the heating on!) for your arrival as well as chopping extra wood for you when you're not there like elves... Did I mention the wood-burning stove? Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2017
Hey Phylly - thanks a million for the fabulous review. We're so delighted you all loved Woodside so much. We try to think of everything to make everyone's stay magical and are really pleased it all worked for you. Looking forward to welcoming you all back again next year, and we've added a new flat screen smart TV just as you suggested. with many thanks for your visit - Turan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhyswillj...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well sized cottage in an idyllic quiet location”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in Woodside cottage (just outside of Errogie) for 6 days in September and had a great time. The location was ideal for us in between Inverness and Fort Augustus but very isolated (so beware if not your thing). If you like the tranquility, hiking, Climbing or need a base for Loch Ness this place would be great.

The Cottage is well kitted out; it has WiFi, a log burner with unlimited wood, a great kitchen that is well stocked with utensils, games, books and is dog friendly. The outside of the property is actually ring fenced so we could let our dog just run around (which was great) but if your dog was particularly small kit may get under the front gate just to warn!
As for comms and contact with the owner i can say only very good things, the supplied information was great and the minor issues we had he sorted out quickly and politely! Excellent in general.

The only downsides of the whole stay were the bathroom was downstairs (far from the bedroom) and there was no phone signal but to be fair this is a house phone which can be used and there is WIFI.

Would definitely go back to Woodside and recommend. This would be a really good deal for a family of 4 with a dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely tranquil spot with picnic bench out the front of the house
Liked least: Bathroom was downstairs at the front. Long from the bedroom!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2016
Thanks for the great review Rhys. We're delighted you loved Woodside, found it well-equipped and had a great holiday. Yes, mobile phone signals don't reach Woodside, but glad to hear that the landline phone and broadband wifi kept you well connected. It was a pleasure having you and your family to stay. Thanks for your visit - Turan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing