We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Time for an upgrade”
Reviewed September 10, 2007

I was very suprised at the quality of this property given the cost of the room. While my room (king size bed) was comfortably large the linens were very poor quality and the room was musty. No robes, cheap shampoo etc. The public areas of the hotel are OK but they really ought to polish the brass on the front doors- very tarnished and it looks run down. I've paid less at at the Ritz Carlton and had a much better experience. The staff were all very professional and pleasant.

There was a strange noise every morning at around 5:30 am- never did figure out what it was. Room service was pretty good and prompt.
I was there to completely relax and was able to use the adult only pool at the spa because I had several spa appointments during my stay. The spa pool was great- the condition of the spa however is a bit worn and the services were just OK.
if you do not play golf or want to take the hike to Atlantic City- there is nothing to do here.
As a side note I did see one of the villas they are trying to sell timeshares for. The display model looked very nice- don't know if they are all like that but the quality seemed much higher than the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    695
    420
    145
    96
See reviews for
665
713
69
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

We stayed at the Seaview Marriott Hotel for 2 nights on August 27th with our 2 children ages 7 and 3. The hotel itself and property are very nice. We ate breakfast in the restaurant both days and the buffet was very good and child friendly, as well as the staff. The pool was very nice. We were very disappointed with the room. The bathroom was not clean, the toilet and shower were disgusting. The room was musty and smelled. If I went here again, I would stay at the Villas. They are newer and nicer.

  • Liked — The pool, proximity to Ocean City, Atlantic City
  • Disliked — The Room was awful
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Desperate to find a decent place to stay last minute near the Jersey Shore, I booked this place on a Friday for a Saturday night stay. I don't regret my decision necessarily -- I liked the area and the proximity to a great beach (Brigantine) and there were great places to eat around there (Sunryser Cafe - Yum! Oyster Creek Inn - Great!).

Pulling up to the Seaview, it doesn't look quite as majestic as the website's photos make it appear and it is overrun by golfers, clubs and carts (don't mean to offend any aspiring Tiger Woods here). So, you get the feeling you're pulling into a country club, rather than a resort. Anyway, the lobby area was very nice, spacious and pleasant. The front desk and concierge service was excellent. The Grill Room and Pool Bar had excellent food for a quick lunch.

This hotel has a lot going for it in terms of ambiance and location but it is in dire need of an upgrade/renovation. My room was musty and was definitely suffering from mold issues and old carpet -- there was dust and mold coming from the air vents and the carpet just felt damp and icky. Needless to say, we left our windows open to air the place out a bit and turned down the A/C. The room was not particularly clean -- everything felt like it had a layer of grime on it; the towels were rough, old and stained; the bathroom was screaming for an update and the clover motif was just um, i don't know how to describe it.

There are two pools here -- an indoor and an outdoor. I would stay far away from the indoor pool -- it is old, not maintained and just gross. The outdoor pool, while way too small for the size of the hotel, is excellent and I had no complaints about it or the pool area. We enjoyed it a lot.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, although in terms of choices there aren't many alternatives available in this area, aside from budget hotels and questionable motels so...maybe if I was really desperate to get back down to the shore and had an extra $400/night to burn, maybe I would. I would just be sure to pack some Clorox wipes, Lysol and Windex, as well as some Febreeze or something to "refresh" the air, and then maybe I'd return.

For the prices they charge and the seemingly upper-scale clientele this resort caters to, you'd think they could do much better than this. This is not quite as nice as other Marriott properties I've been to.

  • Liked — The lobby and the outdoor pool.
  • Disliked — The outdated, stinky rooms and the uncomfortable beds.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashmawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

As noted by a previous reviewer, distinguish between the hotel vs. the time share villas. The hotel is grand but as noted by previous reviewers, it needs an overhaul. Clearly the investors who own it are not willing to outlay the capital. Exterior wood is peeling and the windows look ancient. This review is of the villas, which are adjacent to the hotel with a separate entrance. The villas are typically only available to timeshare owners and those doing tours.

Pros

As with most Marriott time shares, the premises are first class. The outdoor pool is nice, but lacks adequate umbellas to avoid excess sun. The Spa has a nice outdoor pool and an indoor pool. Hotel guests unfortunately use the timeshare facilities, often without permission, and tend to overcrowd things. Management is trying to crack down by using wrist bracelets and marked towels. But no one enforces any of the rules. Access to the hotel requires a short walk or you can call for a free golf cart ride from the staff. Convenient to Atlantic City but a hike to other shore towns.

CONS

Few. The housekeeping staff seems below par and the units are starting to show their age. More units are being built which may eventually create overcrowding.

Hotel

Access to the hotel is a plus. Its a treat to eat in the grill room or shoot pool downstairs. Dining is expensive. The food is above average. The bar in the front lobby is great place at night to grab a drink and relax.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEnglandtravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
246 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

When you first arrive its looks beautiful and the lobby and the front both represent how lovely and charming this once was. The photos all over really show how elegant it was 70 or 80 years ago. Not that it is a Marriott,I can say it is the jewel of the Courtyards, only this is NOT a Courtyard. The rooms are clean and modest. The pool area is okay with lovely flowers and grass, bot no pool services or anything other than plastic tube like lounges, no pads, no pool boys.

The restaurant is just fair, not anything special, and servce is only okay. They don't have the famous Friday night seafood buffet anymore. I think all in and all this place is better during the week. On the week ends it becomes a real family reosrt, with activities like make your own magents, and jello eating contests etc. It gets over crowded and the wait for breakfast can be 30 minutes and very noisey.

The crowd is not bad, perhaps a notch or 2 over the typical AC crowd. This is for wanna be golf resrt people. The gold course is not bad sort of a bad take off of Pebble Beach as it is on the water, but not especially breath taking. Its not a bad place just not a great place or a classic. Everyone is friendly and they do push the Marriott time share week ends down your throat where ever you turn.

I was for warned of this from newnewyoker dot com. I went anyhow. oh well I got a good tan.

Find me at elsushi921 aol

  • Liked — the staff was friendly
  • Disliked — the pool lounges were not comfortable and there was no extras
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELSUSHI921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Beautiful location, lots of potential with the property but horrible amenities and service. The shower didn't work. The carpet is left over from the 80's. The towels looks old and used. The decor is outdated. Marriott is just riding by without improving the property. Beautiful golf course but little maintenance. Tee boxes were pretty destroyed. Not the most hepful staff from the hotel.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the outdated decor and staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYSpiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Resort is great and golf fantastic. However, do not believe the staff. They are slow, disorganized and quite frankly lie. They also made very little effort to accommodate our requests as part of a special birthday weekend. If you are going for the golf I would recommend you stay elsewhere and book the golf institute separately or, at the very least, lower your expectations.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Everything else but the setting
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anglotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2009
This review was writtne while the hotel was under Marriott Management. Management at Seaview changed to Dolce hotels & Resorts as of May 9, 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galloway
5.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,733 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
16,714 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Water Club by Borgata
The Water Club by Borgata
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,084 reviews
5.4 mi away
Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget
#10 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,367 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Address: 401 S New York Rd, Galloway, NJ 08205-9753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing