We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What once was is no more :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Oakland, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What once was is no more :(”
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Years ago the Seaview was one of my favorite spots when staying in the Atlantic city area but what once was is no more. At the begining of the summer we stayed at the Seaview and were very disappointed. The hotel was in a disarray, the outside was a mess, and the golf practice area was like a war zone. We thought okay they have just changed managment from Marriot to Dolce lets give it a chance. So we returned a few months later. The reservations were not handled well but eventually that was cleared up. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff okay so far so good. Once in the room we found no soap and only 1 robe, we asked the house keeper for more she said she did not have any. The biggest problem is as I understand it the facility is run by 3 very different companies. The hotel by Dolce , golf courses by Troon and spa by Red Door. Example there is a nice patio area in front of the golf shop, next to the HARD TRUE tennis courts ( thay were out of service and looked like they have been that way all summer) that over looks the putting green and Bay course. There was no food service in the area. That area used to be a place to relax after golf have a sandwich, a drink and talk with friends. Now nothing zip going on a waste land on Labor day weekend. The Seaview was a grand old place with lots of charm but no more. If you are looking for a 3 star hotel then you will be fine. If you remember this place with the charm , service and grace it once had you will be disappointed. I will miss the Seaview.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxie07c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Anytime a guest is dissatisfied with the services we provide, we want to know about it. We have reached out to this guest to discuss the disappointments they experienced.

Obviously there needs to be soap in the room and it is inexcusable if there is none. We are in the process of installing dispensers in all of our showers with Gilchrest & Soames bath products. Gilchrist & Soames is known as one of the premier products on the market and is of a very high quality. We realized that we threw out over 120,000 small plastic bottles every year and we felt this is irresponsible in today’s business environment. We chose to upgrade the quality of our product and provide it in bulk dispensers in each shower.

It is very important that our guests find the service between Troon and the hotel very seamless. All of us realize that we need to make the overall resort campus successful and work every day to accomplish that.

We are not certain about this guest’s observation about the hard true tennis courts. These courts were completely redone in May of this year. Currently they are played every day by our members or hotel guests and are maintained every day. We also completely refurnished the golf patio with new furniture and offer service at our Golf Shop and guests enjoy food and beverages on the patio every day.

The Seaview team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    760
    477
    177
    111
See reviews for
758
788
74
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, MA
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We have recently returned from a stay at Dolce's Seaview...a resort which is beautiful to view from the outside and elegant/upscale from within. The lobby and "public" areas are impeccably maintained and interesting to walk through, with many reminders of the resorts early 1900's days. Rooms, many of which we're familiar with from previous visits, are unique as befitting "old world charm" with current updates. The indoor pool is particularly beautiful with serene murals on the walls; the outdoor pool is a pleasure to be at as well. Restaurant food was delicious, and all staff we encountered, from housekeeping to management, were warm, friendly, and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I was excited about my upcoming stay at Seaview. My husband and I like history and were looking forward to abundance this hotel offered. Our rooms were nice and large over looking the pool and smelled fresh when we arrived (you could tell something was used to give the room a scent). By the second morning, the rooms had a strong moldly smell to them. I reported this to the front desk - by the time I came back to the hotel the rooms had been cleaned and a freshner sprayed in the rooms again. I did not complain about this as I was checking out the next day. Food service was very slow, throughout the hotel. I was somewhat surprised by what I paid at the pool service station for 2 premade sandwiches and two drinks! All the staff were very friendly and at times very apologetic for our wait times at the restaurant. Other than the starter on Monday morning, I have absolutely no complaints about the staff. My overall experience was very pleasant. I know Dolce recently took over this property and I am looking forward to the positive changes I believe they are trying to implement and will report back following my next stay there this December.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2009

This is NOT a "seaside" resort and does NOT have a beach which the website pictures may lead you to believe. The service and facilities fell far short of the exhuberant prices they charged. They add an automatic 20% service fee for "self" services (buffet line, snacks and drinks at the pool shop-that you must walk to, stand in line and order from) "Service" was non-existent. The rooms were plain and unimpressive. You would not be able to distinguish them from a 2 star motel-except the price. For $279 a night, I would at least expect a booklet describing the services offered at the facility. Even the golf course, which is a main attraction, was commonplace and did not warrant the outrageous prices being charged. We were very disappointed and will not return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for completing your review on Tripadvisor. Anytime a guest is dissatisfied with the services we provide, we want to know about it. We have reached out to this guest to discuss the disappointments they experienced, but sadly have not received a reply. We have scoured our website to find pictures that would imply we are on the “beach” or “seaside” and did not find any, with the exception of one of the golf shots where several of the holes overlook Reed’s Bay. In no way would we intentionally deceptively advertise the resort or its services.

We agree with the reviewer that the service at our pool was rather minimal and we are working on a program for next summer to greatly enhance that and an in-room directory is in print and should be in the rooms shortly. We are disappointed that this guest did not experience the value we are known for providing and we want the readers to know that we take our service levels very seriously.

We hope this guest will reach out to us so we can make it right and ad another satisfied customer to our long list of satisfied customers.

The Seaview team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This is what we sent to Jessica (the wedding coordinator at the SeaView) from our honeymoon. She was FANTASTIC! and she totally went way beyond our expectations and so did the weekend! We couldn't be happier with our choice.
We are writing from our honeymoon, still glowing from how beautiful the weekend was...people are saying, 'fairy-tale weekend'--from the bell hop to the front desk to all your staff everyone really understood what an important weekend it was for us and our guests--we will without a doubt tell people the Seaview is the ONLY place to get married--thanks again for dealing with our stress and anxiety--you are (Jessica) AWESOME at what you do--please send this along to Jennifer as well and whomever your manager is...and Russell was great as well!

All the best from Belize-

J and B

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, gENERAL mANAGER at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
Thank you so very much for posting your review on tripadvisor during your honeymoon.

We are thrilled to be able to add you to the very large number of happy couples who have celebrated the creation of their special union at the Seaview.

Thank you
The Seaview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I didn't really know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel and grounds were lovely with lots of amenities. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast in the main dining room was delicious and quite reasonable considering you are at a resort. This is a great spot for families, young and old, since there is so much for everyone to do. And for those who gamble, Atlantic City is just a short drive down the road. I would absolutely return here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover5717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We have stayed at the Seaview many times over the past couple of years with and without our two the kids. Every stay, including this one, has been very nice. THis is the first time that we got to use the outdoor pool and I agree with the other reviewer... BEWARE OF THE BITING FLIES. Even in the pool they bothered us.

The original room we booked and received, two doubles, had a problem with the toilet. The front desk immediately sent a repairman, but I did ask if any executive kings were available for us to move to if we had to. I was told there was none available. The other woman at the front desk, Emily, said she just recieved a list of available rooms and would see what she could do. The repairman was unable to fix the problem and told us that we had to change rooms. I went back to the front desk as Emily was calling me on my cell phone. She said she found a new room for us. This was even before she knew that we had to switch rooms. She gave us a very large suite with a living room/dining room and a separate room with a king bed. The living room had a pull out queen sofa bed and the dining room had a table for 6.

What a great room. Thanks again Emily.

We noticed a few changes since out last visit. INTERNET IS FREE. My son was in his glory. The breakfast buffet was somewhat downsized compared to past visits. There was no omlet station/have it your way egg station or freshly made waffles. The price did not change. We were happy to see Linda was still a server in the main dining room. She welcomed us back as if we were old friends. She has always been very pleasant and asked how we were doing. You can tell that she truly cared.

Room service breakfast and evening pizza arrived promptly and hot.

I hope Dolce recognizes those employees that make this a great place to stay. They include the guys in valet parking who greet you by name each time they see you, Emily at the front desk, Linda in the dining room, and Gloria in housekeeping.

We will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galloway
5.1 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,767 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,826 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Water Club by Borgata
The Water Club by Borgata
#4 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,120 reviews
5.4 mi away
Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget
#8 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,382 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Address: 401 S New York Rd, Galloway, NJ 08205-9753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing