We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RECIPE FOR A BAD STAY.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“RECIPE FOR A BAD STAY.”
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Very pretentious at first sweetend with an aroma of fish in the lobby capped off with an out of date room and slice of fat television on the side. All rounded up with a bossy young bus boy moved up to parking cars leaves me to tell you....stay away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callahanbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2009
We are terribly disappointed by this reviewer's comments. Unfortunately there is not much detail we can use to improve our services.

We agree with the reviewer's perception that the TV's have to go. The good news is that they will be going and brand new High Definition 37" TV's will be deliverd in mid August for installation at that time.

We are truly a one-of-a-kind resort with all the amenities to match that expectation and we look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    695
    420
    145
    96
See reviews for
665
713
69
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I've learned to keep my expectations low whenattending older proertiesfor the first time but this time I was absolutely delighted. The place is clean and fresh and unlike most traditionsal resorts, not the least bit tired. Except for the wide halls and various framed past remnants, menus etc, you'd never know the place was built almost 90 years ago.

The service is also excellent.. From the check in staff to the night bar tender in the grill room who provided us with cups and spoons for the pimt of ice cream we snuck into our room, every one was committed to making our brief stay a pleasant one and it was. I am a golfer but did not get to play the courses but did practice at their world class practice facility. One night was all we had. One night was not enough

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Thank you for your feedback. Everything we focus on has to do with the daya to day satisfaction of all of our guests. It is truly special to see that our efforts are paying off and that we are seeing reviews such as this one. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west caldwell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Just wanted to let you know my wife and Family Love the Hotel its a joy to stay there
i have been there many times and i will keep coming back its has a own home feeling and we love it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobdice9088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2009
Dear hotel guest:

Thank you so much for posting your comments online. We very much appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Next time when you stay, please try our amazing Friday Night Seafood Buffet or our Award Winning Sunday Brunch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

this is a historic hotel, and as such it has areas that could use overhaul (guest hallways,etc- areas that are often overlooked but help add to the luxury feel)The lobby and outside areas are beautiful, and the rooms are clean and fine, but not anything amazing- standard Marriott like rooms. The bathrooms have been updated with marble floors and paint, but not enough to hide the old fashioned sink and mirror and lights. However, it was very adequate and suited our needs perfectly. The indoor and outdoor pools were great, although the flies around the outdoor pool were a little annoying( but this is not the Hotel's fault!). The service was wonderful, friendly and helpful. while this hotel has flaws, we would not hesitate to go back, especially for the price we paid!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
Thank you so much for posting this review. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service in a comfortable setting. We are a historic hotel that is almost 100 years old with two absolutely stunning golf courses and are one of the only true resorts near Atlantic City. This provides for a truly wonderfully charming experience and we are glad this guest experienced that. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsippany nj
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

I spent two nights at the hotel. I and my wife could not have a good night sleep due to the uncomfortable mattress and pillows. I learned that all the rooms has the same types of mattresses and pillows. The rooms needs to be renovated.

Here is why I rated this hotel bad
1. Uncomfortable Beds
2. There is no microwave in the rooms
3 There is no fridge in the rooms
4. Overprice for the quality of the rooms
5. The hotel needs major renovation for the outside.
6. The hotel charge 3 $ for in room small water bottle

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe1ParsippanyNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2009
We thank this guest for the review but we are of course terribly disappointed by it.

Our mattresses and our pillows are of an excellent quality and we have truly never received a complaint about them.

We agree that $3 for a bottle of water is expensive and are in the process of revising the whole in-room water program so we may offer a better product at a lower price.

In-room refrigerators are not in every room, however, they are available for a small daily fee and are made available complimentary to those needing to store medications.

We have reached out to the reviewer to request information on the service he received. We are not used to being rated low on our service and are trying to discover what happened during this guest's stay that would prompt a 2 star rating.

The Seaview is a historic hotel and almost 100 years old. With that age come a few creaks and some flaws. We are ever dilligent to address issues and have a large engineering depratment that stays on top of the daily maintenance.

We thank the reviewer for his observations and will carefully assess his comments and make the necessary adjustments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We went for the golf and were pleasantly surprised by this gem of a hotel. Free internet in room, great location for Atlantic City and antique shopping. The biggest surprise of all was the food. Unbelievable! The clam chowder was delicious and the wedge salad had the best blue cheese dressing I have ever had. I happened to meet the chef in the gift shop - what a nice guy. We had dinner in the main dining room and it was as good or better than anything you could get in Atlantic City. They are bringing back the Friday nite seafood buffet. I may make a special trip.
The rooms are ok, nothing special. The golf is really nice and the service is wonderful.
Go for the weekend, you will love it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbabyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2009

If you want to stay a shiney hotel than Atlantic City is where you should be. If you want to really enjoy the ambaince of a time now gone then the Seaview is perfect. The preservation of the hotel, lobby and rooms places you in a time and plce far away from the glitz and grime of Atlantic City. Stay, play golf, go to the Eve Arden Spa and enjoy the warm summer by the pool. But be forewarned, if you do not like older 'historical' type accomondations, then you probably should look elsewhere. The staff is awesome and if you go more than once every 2 years, chances are they will remember you. We've been there 4 times in the past 3 years and many of the golf course and restaurant staff remembered us.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevvymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galloway
5.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,733 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
16,713 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Water Club by Borgata
The Water Club by Borgata
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,084 reviews
5.4 mi away
Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget
#10 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,367 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Address: 401 S New York Rd, Galloway, NJ 08205-9753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing