We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Reviewed July 3, 2009

I spent two nights at the hotel. I and my wife could not have a good night sleep due to the uncomfortable mattress and pillows. I learned that all the rooms has the same types of mattresses and pillows. The rooms needs to be renovated.

Here is why I rated this hotel bad
1. Uncomfortable Beds
2. There is no microwave in the rooms
3 There is no fridge in the rooms
4. Overprice for the quality of the rooms
5. The hotel needs major renovation for the outside.
6. The hotel charge 3 $ for in room small water bottle

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe1ParsippanyNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2009

We thank this guest for the review but we are of course terribly disappointed by it.

Our mattresses and our pillows are of an excellent quality and we have truly never received a complaint about them.

We agree that $3 for a bottle of water is expensive and are in the process of revising the whole in-room water program so we may offer a better product at a lower price.

In-room refrigerators are not in every room, however, they are available for a small daily fee and are made available complimentary to those needing to store medications.

We have reached out to the reviewer to request information on the service he received. We are not used to being rated low on our service and are trying to discover what happened during this guest's stay that would prompt a 2 star rating.

The Seaview is a historic hotel and almost 100 years old. With that age come a few creaks and some flaws. We are ever dilligent to address issues and have a large engineering depratment that stays on top of the daily maintenance.

We thank the reviewer for his observations and will carefully assess his comments and make the necessary adjustments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,614 - 2,620 of 2,723 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

We went for the golf and were pleasantly surprised by this gem of a hotel. Free internet in room, great location for Atlantic City and antique shopping. The biggest surprise of all was the food. Unbelievable! The clam chowder was delicious and the wedge salad had the best blue cheese dressing I have ever had. I happened to meet the chef in the gift shop - what a nice guy. We had dinner in the main dining room and it was as good or better than anything you could get in Atlantic City. They are bringing back the Friday nite seafood buffet. I may make a special trip.
The rooms are ok, nothing special. The golf is really nice and the service is wonderful.
Go for the weekend, you will love it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbabyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

If you want to stay a shiney hotel than Atlantic City is where you should be. If you want to really enjoy the ambaince of a time now gone then the Seaview is perfect. The preservation of the hotel, lobby and rooms places you in a time and plce far away from the glitz and grime of Atlantic City. Stay, play golf, go to the Eve Arden Spa and enjoy the warm summer by the pool. But be forewarned, if you do not like older 'historical' type accomondations, then you probably should look elsewhere. The staff is awesome and if you go more than once every 2 years, chances are they will remember you. We've been there 4 times in the past 3 years and many of the golf course and restaurant staff remembered us.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevvymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This hotel was charming with a 1930s-40s ambiance. Lovely lobby with many comfy living room-like areas. Since we participate in Marriott Rewards, we were able to get the room for an Advance Purchase rate, which significantly made the price right! Our room was a large King and if I were to complain it would be that the bathroom was too far away from the bed! The bed did have a bit of a dip in the center which made my boyfriend roll towards me (not necessarily a complaint). The food in the grille, although pricey, was excellent with great service: the only place I have every eaten that there were free refills on the orange juice! The golf courses are well kept and enjoyable. This resort has many activities and amenities to enjoy. It is near Smithville shopping village and a wildlife bird sanctuary. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: self parking is far from rooms, otherwise use valet ($12/night); some rooms are a hike to get to; no free internet, although readily accessible in business center.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Stayed here for the weekend, It was a nice hotel accept we expected more for what we were paying for. The room was small and outdated. It was dark. It was somewhat clean. We wouldn't stay here again at their rates.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennisSML5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2009

This review was written while the hotel was under Marriott Management. Management at Seaview changed to Dolce hotels & Resorts as of May 9, 2009.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

A really nice place with plenty of memorabilia and interesting photos displayed. Clearly, the property was in its prime over 50 years ago. The common areas are in need of a redo. The hallways are illuminated with florescent fixtures creating an "I love the 70's" ambiance. The rooms were ok, but also need some rehab. The food was good, a nice sports is just off the main lobby. We also enjoyed a Sunday brunch. We stayed at the hotel for a wedding and that does seem to be their niche. There were two weddings each weekend day we were there. I would stay there again, but I'd have to have a reason to be in the area, its no longer a destination on its own.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sblumb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

Don't let the photos on their website fool you. This hotel is not as charming in person. This is an old hotel. It smells like an old hotel. It is old and dumpy. The floors creak. The long corridors are poorly lit and have very depressing carpeting. Room was ok. Bed was very comfy. Bathroom has been updated. You have to pay for internet in your room. What a rip. Onsite dining is overpriced and mediocre at best. Terrible signs upon arrival as to where to self park your car. Grounds are dark at night and did not feel comfortable walking from my self parked car to the hotel. The staff seemed young, perky, and eager to please. That is about the only good thing I can say. The room prices to not justify what is offered. Overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KimmieGibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2009

This review was written while the hotel was under Marriott Management. Management at Seaview changed to Dolce hotels & Resorts as of May 9, 2009.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galloway
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway, NJ
5.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,963 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
19,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Water Club by Borgata
The Water Club by Borgata
#4 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,156 reviews
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
3.1 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Atlantic City/Galloway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 401 S New York Rd, Galloway, NJ 08205-9753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range: $118 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing