We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green water is not a good thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Galloway
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Most things were very good -- comfy beds, clean rooms (with fridge and microwave), good free breakfast (including eggs,sausage, waffles and not-bad coffee), strong wi-fi, and a very enjoyable whirlpool in the bath. Price was definitely fair for a weekend stay near AC. Easy shot into casinos area if one has a car; if not (or if there's no designated driver), you shouldn't stay out by the GSP.

However, there was a serious bad -- green water in the hot tub next to the pool. (It was clearly green -- the tile and floors of the pool and hot tub are identical, but the pool water was blue and clear to the bottom while the hot tub was a shade of semi-light lime.) On top of that, staff was not helpful when it was reported -- the attitude was basically first to say it wasn't, then to say, in sum and substance, "nothing I can do." Also, the computer in the business area was broken and staff (same person, same night) had no idea where else one might be able to find a place with computer & printer. (FedEx Office is about 10 minutes away.) Would have been fun if I needed to book, say, luggage on Spirit Airlines (AC's main carrier, where paying at the airport costs a lot more).

These issues take what would have been an easy 4 to what is barely a 3.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deejub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 412 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

After being unable to get a room in Atlantic City Saturday night we stayed here based on TA reviews. Hotel was a good 12+ min. drive ($32 cab ride) from the casinos. Our room was big, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean w/ a large 2 person jet tub. ( plenty of hot water..we filled it up twice with no problem) The shower had body spray jets along with the top shower head.
Hotel had a nice indoor pool and hot tube.. Room had microwave, sink and frig. Nice big 38" flat screen TV. Sofa and love seat. AC was a bit noisy .
Free breakfast in the morning did the job..Little but of everything.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor rooms on the side and back. Front rooms face the highway and are a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0d61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel and loved it! We were looking for a family friendly and safe hotel in Atlantic City (the hotels on the boardwalk are super expensive and within a few blocks of the boardwalk safety can be a concern). We found this lovely hotel about 6 miles away in Absecon. It has everything! Indoor pool and whirlpool (actual hot water), free breakfast buffet (waffles, eggs, potatoes, oatmeal, bagels, cereal, etc), smoke free, free parking and free cookies and coffee in the lobby. The lobby even had a small lending book library. Our room was clean with a kitchenette (counter, sink, microwave, coffee machine and fridge). The beds were clean and comfortable and our room had a large whirlpool tub in the bathroom - the jets felt great! And best of all was the price - great value for the money! Everyone that worked there was very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying there again soon!! Great job Country Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawndev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Another choice based on T.A. reviewers' contributions. As others have said, this facility was clean, quiet even though our room faced the Garden State Parkway if you close the window.

The bed was comfortable, breakfast fine with choice of hot, cold, healthy, and not-so offerings.

It was extremely easy to access from the G.S.P. southbound, however you cannot cross White Horse Pike there, all exits are to the right, so coming and going other ways may need some planning. Our Garmin GPS didn't know that, even with the latest maps installed.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oetbyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days while we visited relatives nearby. The entire property is smoke free; everything inside and outside was spotless. We had a room with a king bed and Jacuzzi tub. Like some others found, the diverter knob in the shower was a little hard to turn, but I'd rather the shower stay a shower than turn into a bath while I'm using it. :-) The room also had a microwave oven, refrigerator, bar sink, and kitchen cupboards. A perfect space to make snacks or convenience meals during a short stay. The breakfast room was spacious and kept filled with a large variety of breakfast foods and beverages. After breakfast the freshly baked cookies and coffee in the lobby were always tempting. Pool and exercise room hours were longer than we've ever experienced at a hotel. The staff was most accommodating and friendly, even at the end of a long day! Our first preference will be to stay here whenever we are back in the area. We Love This Country!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdwinB174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel, on the whole, is very, very nice. We had a Queen room with kitchen facilities-2 burner (glass top) cook top. large frig, microwave, sink & dishwasher. The drawback of this room is the kitchen sink is very, very small. There was nothing provided to wash dishes with, either in the sink or in the dishwasher. I asked for dishwasher soap, at the front desk & the gentleman said he had nothing available. There were no paper towels, dishes, glasses, cups, silverware, can openers, knives or pot/pans. Luckily I carry some of these items with me-glad I do or we would have had nothing to eat on. One other drawback, as one other person stated, was the shower. The diverter knob was extremely hard to turn & popped off when trying to turn it so the side showers would not work. This was reported to the front desk at check out. However, the tub was large & roomy. On the bright side-the room & bathroom were very clean. The bed was comfortable & the linens nice. The lobby, hallways & outside areas are clean as well. Check-in & check-out were fast. The hotel was quiet. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Bring pot/pan, paper plates & cups. Room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11pooka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I came here to enjoy a night out away from the kids. Picked a Jacuzzi room, Jacuzzi barely worked. Had a multiple head shower, but it took half the night to figure out how to get the diverter knob how to turn. I imagine that they have hard water causing deposits in the Jacuzzi, Pool, Spa, and other water pipes making them not function properly. Spa had a funny odor to it. Pool has brown spots on the floor and walls and they are mostly green - needs a cleaning! There is a shower in the pool area (would be nice to wash off the inordinate amounts of chlorine) but it is non-functional. Was not impressed at all. The only good thing was that the bed was REALLY comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Abrham Martinez,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 609-652-4050.


Sincerely,

Ray
Front Desk Manager
Country inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galloway
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
1.3 mi away
Garden State Inn
Garden State Inn
#4 of 26 in Absecon
441 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Atlantic City/Galloway
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlant...
#1 of 8 in Egg Harbor Township
650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlantic City/Absecon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway

Address: 100 W White Horse Pike, Galloway, NJ 08205-9435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range: $69 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Absecon Hotel Absecon
Country Inn And Suites Absecon
Country Inn Absecon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing