We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relax Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relax Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
bronxville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed over one night on my way out of AC after the July 4 fireworks. I had made reservations weeks in advance. The traffic was so bad that I didn't arrive until 11 pm. I did call ahead a few times on the way and Raj at the front desk waited for me. The room was well-kept, clean, comfortable and homey at the same time. It is right near the GSP so getting home was a breeze. The room has a microwave, fridge, TV and jacuzzi. I inspect houses for a living, so trust me on this! It is on motel row well away from the boardwalk, best for arriving or leaving. The majority of my stay was at a large casino resort with jitney access to the boardwalk. Single, female, over 50, traveled alone. Left the windows open at night! Nice and quiet, too -- you won't be disturbed by traffic. I did hear my neighbors once or twice, but nothing out of the ordinary. Ask for a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    24
    10
    14
    24
See reviews for
13
59
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have been to the Relax Inn many times before. It was a great place once. Now there is a new Pakistani owner and front desk person. Both yelled at me constantly. I was given a room with a broken refrigerator which must work since I have food allergies. I was told by owner to get out if I do not like the room. But when I said I would be contacting TRIP ADVISOR, the owner showed me a different room upstairs. I had originally asked for a ground floor room, because I am a senior citizen and had a heavy bag to lug. The owner yelled at me that he is not my slave. So I had to lug it upstairs myself. When I went downstairs to tell them they would not have to service my room tomorrow (I was staying two days), but I needed a coffee package and a set of towels, the desk clerk yelled at me that I would not get them because they are only for people who pay more for the room. SO HOTLINE CUSTOMERS BEWARE. This ownership is so cheap, I would not be surprised if I get bedbugs. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!! NEW OWNERSHIP RUINED A REALLY GREAT ATLANTIC CITY MOTEL.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The first issue I had with the motel was when the desk clerk tried to get me to pay an additional $25 for no specific reason (he was Indian, and his accent was too strong for me to understand much). I told him I would not pay it as I had paid in full already. He finally agreed to let it go. When I went to the room the first thing that hit me was the overpowering stale smoke smell! I went out to buy a strong air freshener- but it didn't help much. Other issues included drains that went down extremely slowly and the toilet shut-off float was broken (so it was always running- I had to turn off the water supply). I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I didn't know what to expect & was surprised to see a whirl pool when I walked in, but after examining the room further I knew I wasn't going to be using the whirl pool. The towels were a lovely shade of grey and the other was white. One that was suppose to be the bath towel looked like the towel that you wipe your feet on the floor. The bed while it was nicely made, when I turned down the blanket there were black lint on the sheets which meant the blanket was dirty / in need of a washing. I didn't think the decor was good either but it didn't claim to be the Ritz. I think with clean towels, clean or new blankets and an upgrade on the general decor of the room it would get a 5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Consuelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomson, Ga USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had an emergency trip to NJ. Checked around and found this nice little hotel.

Nice price, and you get essentially what you get at similar hotels, a room, with a bathroom, comfortable bed (extremely so) and a nice staff.

The bed passed the UV light test, the room was clean and the TV worked well. Free Internet allows you to complete work while relaxing.

The coffee maker is full size, and since my experience has been hotel coffee is a bit light, I bring my own coffee. Bathrooms are in a separate room from the sink so one person using the bathroom does not prevent others from getting ready.

To be honest I recently paid $80 for a similar accommodations in Athens,Ga.

The continental breakfast is the typical Danish/ bagel affair, but its more than satisfied my need, I usually bring yogurt for my breakfast.

So final word, clean (very difficult to find many times) nice friendly staff, comfortable bed and room. Is it the Ritz with swimming pools bars and an expensive restaurant/bar? No. But I don't really look for anything like that, ....plus the price was fantastic (Kayak) .

Room Tip: It's a comfy clean room, nice 24 hour staff and good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went two minutes over my checkout time. The manager charged me for a full hour. He was very arrogant and inconsiderate. As for the room, it is quite old and quite dirty. So many other choices in the area. Definitely not coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank speedygonzales99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great place, the bed was comfortable, jaccuzi was my favorite :-) the only thing that I didn't like was there was no outlets in the room, one in the bathroom right over sink for the hair dryer and one by the main door, had to charge everything on the floor. Overal it was a great place at a great price, clean, friendly people, very quite. We were room 207 on top floor

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galloway
0.4 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Atlantic City/Galloway
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
7.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Atlantic City West Extended Stay & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn

Property: Relax Inn
Address: 739 S 2nd Ave, Galloway, NJ 08205-9542
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Relax Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Relax Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing